BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fixer Upper

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Her life may require more fixing up than the house her father has sent her to renovate.

My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex...
My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex as a junior associate lobbyist, she finds herself embattled with this FBI investigation when her boss turns her in to the FBI and claims himself innocent of all charges. He subsequently fires her as a way of making the story stick.

Since Dempsey can't really work in Washington right now, her father, Mitch, wants her to head down to Georgia to fix up and flip an old house he has inherited from his grandfather. What Dempsey finds there is truly an overgrown money pit, complete with a live in, old lady who insists the house belongs to her.

The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews takes you on quite adventure in not only the art of restoring a home where every penny counts and just when you think there isn't anything more than can go wrong, it does! The characters are so believable that you wonder if Birdsong really doesn't exist. This is a fabulous summer read that takes you away and you can completely lose yourself in another life.

I received The Fixer Upper, compliments of TLC Book Tours and would rate this book a 9 out of 10. There are some sexual scenes between Dempsey and her attorney's son, but they are brief and don't distract from the story.

For more information on this wonderful book, the author and where to obtain your copy, click on the link below:

http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/mary-kay-andrews-author-of-the-fixer-upper-on-tour-june-2010/

posted by Heart2Heart on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs some fixing up...

Good for escapism, clever book cover, a bit touching & romantic but needs some fixing up...

posted by Robertreviews on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Her life may require more fixing up than the house her father has sent her to renovate.

    My Review:

    What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex as a junior associate lobbyist, she finds herself embattled with this FBI investigation when her boss turns her in to the FBI and claims himself innocent of all charges. He subsequently fires her as a way of making the story stick.

    Since Dempsey can't really work in Washington right now, her father, Mitch, wants her to head down to Georgia to fix up and flip an old house he has inherited from his grandfather. What Dempsey finds there is truly an overgrown money pit, complete with a live in, old lady who insists the house belongs to her.

    The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews takes you on quite adventure in not only the art of restoring a home where every penny counts and just when you think there isn't anything more than can go wrong, it does! The characters are so believable that you wonder if Birdsong really doesn't exist. This is a fabulous summer read that takes you away and you can completely lose yourself in another life.

    I received The Fixer Upper, compliments of TLC Book Tours and would rate this book a 9 out of 10. There are some sexual scenes between Dempsey and her attorney's son, but they are brief and don't distract from the story.

    For more information on this wonderful book, the author and where to obtain your copy, click on the link below:

    http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/mary-kay-andrews-author-of-the-fixer-upper-on-tour-june-2010/

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this wonderful novel!

    THE FIXER UPPER is about family and all that entails, heart, humor, love, problems.Needing to redefine herself after her adventure in Washington, DC and getting tangled up in a political scandal, Dempsey is given the opportunity, thanks to Dad, to have her fix up their old family home to sell back in Guthrie, Georgia. There's a lot of exciting drama thereafter concerning a smooth-talking real estate agent, a contractor, a widowed attorney, an FBI agent and so on and so forth. I really enjoyed this wonderful novel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    A Summer Read and nothing more

    I have been a fan of Ms Andrews from her first book to this recent publication.While this one wasn't bad I missed the atmosphere background I have come to enjoy. Being a displaced southerner her books were bits of home that were memory provoking and amusingly spot on in detail. I look forward to the next book. Her heroines while very twenty-first century still leave a hint of honeysuckle behind.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Needs some fixing up...

    Good for escapism, clever book cover, a bit touching & romantic but needs some fixing up...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    "Empty Literary Calories"

    This is how one of the characters describes a book she is reading and it can be applied here. It is not a condemnation of the book, just an explanation. It was an easy-breezy, fairly predictable read, which I thoroughly enjoyed. If you are looking to expand your horizons or stretch your imagination, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a relaxing read, this book fills the bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    Loved the Story...Sad when it ended!

    I really got into this book! I could not put it down! the characters were very likeable but i do wish there was more about Dempsey and Tee. I loved them as acouple and was very disappointed with the way the story ended. I wish she would of written more about dempsey and Tee and what happens for them in the futre! Overall i liked the story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good!

    Mary Kay Andrews does not disappoint! Another charming story - I was sad to see it end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews

    Dempsey Killibrew has worked as a lobbyist for a very short time when a political scandal breaks and she finds herself without a job, broke and homeless. Her father comes up with the perfect solution, he has just inherited a house in Gurthrie, Georgia, that the lawyer assures him that with a TLC the house will sell for much more than it's current appraisal. He convinces Dempsey to get out of Washington and head to Georgia to give the house a good cleaning and a little paint and he'd split the profits with her.

    Well when Dempsey get to the small town and sees the house she knows it a much bigger job than she ever imagined, plus she has inherited a 79 year old "mean old lady" and her dog as part of the deal. She also realizes that small town life is much different from anything she has ever experienced. Everyone knows everything about everybody.

    She rolls up her sleeves and gets to work trying to return the house to the beautiful home it once was only to have the FBI come calling trying to pin the whole Washington scandal on her. We see a totally new Dempsey emerge as the story continues.

    The was a very enjoyable story as are all of Mary Kay Andrews sagas. It's the kind of story that even after the last page is read you want to know more, after the crisis is over what happens to all the characters. You become so involved in the story, the family feels so real.

    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as I have almost all of this author's! Funny and engaging and thoughtful too. She just doesn't write fast enough--- I am ready for the next book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Mary Kay Andrews rocks!

    Living in the South, I love Mary Kay Andrews' style and her characters are people I can identify with. Her books are always more entertaining than the latest movie and are always my first choice for a trip read. Her Savannah books are my favorite so far. I love these characters and hate for each story to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read..

    I love the character, Dempsey Jo Killebrew and her family. I was looking for a good read with a "southern flare" and this book was the ticket.

    The main character, Dempsey loses her job and winds up in a political scandal. Her Dad gives her a chance to escape to a home he inherits called "Birdsong". She arrives to find out that an old lady is living there and does not want Dempsey to be there. They form a bond in the end and Dempsey also finds love... it's a great read.

    I love Mary Kay Andrews. She is a great author....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    What a great beach read!!! This book captured my attention and was full of romance, humor and characters that seemed to be so real, I had to remind myself that they were not!

    I loved this book. Hats off to Mary Kay Andrews and her phenomenal writing style. This book kept my attention and allowed me to escape into a great read.

    Andrews captured the dialogue of her characters precisely and each and every character came alive as you read. The main character was so believable as were the supporting characters.

    Her plot was so believable with real life and I identified with the main character's trials and tribulations.

    Please read this book and be prepared not to be able to put it down for long. It is that spellbinding.

    I am anxiously awaiting her next book.

    Enjoy and be sure to have some southern iced tea, some chicken salad and chocolate in any form and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SATISFYING SUMMER LISTENING

    Dish, and now An experienced stage actress and Tony nominee Isabel Keating has given voice to several stories by Mary Kay Andrews - Hissy Fit, Deep The Fixer Upper. For this reader/listener Keating is the Andrews voice, perfectly capturing the sounds of the South. Of her Hissy Fit narration I wrote that it was a fun, thoroughly enjoyable listening experience. I said ditto for Deep Dish, and repeat my approbation here - The Fixer Upper is another winner.

    Heroine Dempsey Jo Killebrew is more than out on a limb in this story - she's out of a job after her boss, a lobbyist, lets her take the blame for what has turned into a political scandal. What's a girl to do? When her father asks her to come to the old family home in Guthrie, Georgia in order to fix it up she accepts. After all, it will be a roof over her head which she is without at the present time.

    "Fix it up" is certainly a misnomer as there's more wrong with the house than she imagined, and she continues to find more things amiss than were initially apparent. As if repairs weren't enough there's also an elderly distant relative in residence who refuses to move. She'd be busy enough without government agents who keep dropping by to ask about her former boss, and the distraction presented by a really good looking newspaper owner.

    As is her wont Andrews laces her tale with plentiful doses of humor, and while we know that all will be better than well in the end that does not detract from the journey. Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Needs a Sequel

    I loved everything about this book except the ending. I was involved in Dempsey's new life, and I wanted to know what happens next for her and the other characters. At least give us an epilogue. Please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Adorable characters

    I loved this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary Kay Andrews comes through with another winner! If you are

    Mary Kay Andrews comes through with another winner! If you are looking for the perfect after Christmas read! Check out The Fixer Upper!
    Synopsis:
    Dempsey and her friends are watching the television at the bar. The news does not look good. She watches her boss Alex Hodder on the screen with Congressman Licata. The headline Law firm brides congressman for vote. After seeing this Dempsey suddenly finds herself without a job and under investigation. Her father comes up with the perfect solution. He would like her to renovate an old house that he inherited Songbird in Guthrie Georgia. There is one little catch it comes with something else. Will Dempsey be able to renovate Songbird? Will the little surprise that comes with the house keep her from moving forward? Will she help the FBI?
    My Thoughts:
    Another great read novel by Mary Kay Andrews! I first saw this novel when Mary Kay Andrews was on tour and met Mary Kay for the first time. I listened to this novel and it was narrated very well. The story has great humor and plot.
    One aspect of Mary Kay Andrew’s writing is the setting. The setting for this story is Georgetown and Guthrie Georgia. The only thing I can tell you about where Guthrie is that it is close to Griffin Georgia. For those of you who don’t know Georgia area well it is near Macon. She is very descriptive about what you can expect if you happen to visit the area.
    Let me introduce you to Birdsong the house mentioned in the novel. I am not very handy myself but I found myself wanting to know more about the house’s renovation. I also was interested in the other stories within the plot such as Ella Kate, and what would eventually happen to her.
    The reader will not be disappointed! By Jencey Gortney/Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    I would expect more

    I would expect more from an established author. The characters were completely undeveloped, the plot line anorexic, and the writing abysmal. I would have gotten more enjoyment lighting my $8 on fire and watching it burn. I would have given zero stars if that was an option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Hmmm, where's the ending?

    I normally like her books but this one I didn't really care for.i can't stand the cliff hanger endings in her books. Leaves you with a lot of questions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun summer read!

    Dempsey shows us when we get a hiccup in life that you can always bounce back. It may not be what are where we end up but it's an adventure that makes you take a ride into a new chapter of your life. She shows us that she's charming, tough, snarky, smart, and quit whited.
    I couldn't choose my favorite character between Ella Kate, the unpleasant squatter or Dempsey's zany mom. They both were very entertaining.
    Andrew's again makes the character's come alive in her writing.
    I've enjoyed reading Summer Breeze, Savannah Blues, and Summer Rental.

    Thank you for sharing "Southern Charm" in your novels. I long to live in the South and reading novels set in the south brings me home every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    So good

    Loved the whole thing, so fun and enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11