Customer Reviews for

The Fixer Upper

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Her life may require more fixing up than the house her father has sent her to renovate.

My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex...
My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex as a junior associate lobbyist, she finds herself embattled with this FBI investigation when her boss turns her in to the FBI and claims himself innocent of all charges. He subsequently fires her as a way of making the story stick.

Since Dempsey can't really work in Washington right now, her father, Mitch, wants her to head down to Georgia to fix up and flip an old house he has inherited from his grandfather. What Dempsey finds there is truly an overgrown money pit, complete with a live in, old lady who insists the house belongs to her.

The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews takes you on quite adventure in not only the art of restoring a home where every penny counts and just when you think there isn't anything more than can go wrong, it does! The characters are so believable that you wonder if Birdsong really doesn't exist. This is a fabulous summer read that takes you away and you can completely lose yourself in another life.

I received The Fixer Upper, compliments of TLC Book Tours and would rate this book a 9 out of 10. There are some sexual scenes between Dempsey and her attorney's son, but they are brief and don't distract from the story.

For more information on this wonderful book, the author and where to obtain your copy, click on the link below:

http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/mary-kay-andrews-author-of-the-fixer-upper-on-tour-june-2010/

posted by Heart2Heart on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs some fixing up...

Good for escapism, clever book cover, a bit touching & romantic but needs some fixing up...

posted by Robertreviews on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Hmmm, where's the ending?

    I normally like her books but this one I didn't really care for.i can't stand the cliff hanger endings in her books. Leaves you with a lot of questions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dempsey Jo Killebrew, is a young naive junior associate to a lo


    Dempsey Jo Killebrew, is a young naive junior associate to a lobbyist in Washington, After her boss throws her under the bus for his actions in trying to bribe a US Congress member, Dempsey winds up broke, unemployed, and homeless. That is until her father suggests that she go down to Guthrie, Georgia and fix up his family’s home, he had just inherited, Birdsong. As she fixes the house she comes to terms with her own situation and we join her in an adventure of self-discovery.

    I fell in love with the mean old lady who was squatting in Birdsong, Ella Kate, the cantankerous old woman reminded me of my own grandmother minus the dog! Mary Kay Andrew does a wonderful job of describing details in this book, so that even those who have never renovated a home have a clear picture of what is happening. It wasn’t a bad book but it felt lacking, to me the romance in the novel was very abrupt, but on the other hand when Dempsey finally snapped out of her self-pitying and idiotic behavior and grew a backbone I almost whooped for joy, I have never had much patience for women who always talk badly about themselves. The ending was not that great either especially for a stand-alone novel, but it is a fun and light hearted read and I think Ella Kate makes it worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Fast read

    Once again Mary Kay Andrews writes a fun, easy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very cute book!!!

    This book was a very easy read. Cute story and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Fixer Upper

    Well, this book was ok! Kept me reading till the last page - BUT not up to Mary Kay Andrews' other books - such as Hissy Fit, Little Bitty Lies, Savannah Breeze & Savannah Blues. I think the characters were great in this book but it definitely wasn't a page turner like all Mary Kay Andrews' other books. A bit disappointing - but they can't all be excellent - right? It was good enough to read the whole book - but to me, just disappointing for one of her books. Still look forward to her next one though!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun book; not too heavy.

    This is a fun book, not too heavy or burdensome, when you don't want to think too hard and want to kick back and relax. Southern living is always entertaining ...Funny, engaging, a light read.

    I recommend EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Pirrung, and Shades of Gray, by J. James

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    Not Great...Not Bad...Just OK

    This book has a main character that I fell in love with. She is funny and smart and has gotten herself into a mess and she is working to get herself out. I like the main male character as well, however he is not as prominent in the book as I would like. The plot line is a good one and the subplots are mixed in nicely. The writing is beautiful and flows well from beginning to end. My biggest complaint with this book, and the reason I took off 2 stars, was the ending. It seemed too quick and without substance. It just wrapped up the plot lines and that was it. It felt like the author got to a certain point and said "time for the book to end" so she just wrapped everything up in 20 pages. This is the second of her books that has done this and I don't think I will be back for a third.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Pretty good little book

    It's a cute story but don't expect great writing, story development, or characters that will stay with you. It's a fun read if you don't get caught up in the mediocrity of it all. I was disappointed in the lackluster romance between the leading characters; I didn't feel it at all. Obvious inconsistencies also bother me as a reader. For instance, the leading character is thrilled at one point because it's the first time she gets to put makeup on in her new house. In fact, she just had it on a day or two beforehand in her new house. The editors should have caught that. Other than that, good tips for deep cleaning your house and upgrading your kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    The Fixer Upper

    I have enjoyed all of Mary Kay Andrews books. In saying that, this is my least favorite. The book just didn't have the feel her others have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Cute, but Predictable

    Having read all Mary Kay Andrews' other books, her novels are running the risk of becoming formulaic. Our heroine, through no fault of her own, is cast into dire circumstances. While she works out her revenge against the man who caused this she meets wonderful (for the most part) other characters who assist her and believe in her goodness while renovating/redecorating an old home. The heroine also often comes from a dysfunctional, though loving and somewhat charming family. Entertaining, but now there's not much new to the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Good fluff!

    This is one of those books that is light but with interesting characters. It is a book to read and get one's mind off heavy stuff. I liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable, light hearted, beach book!

    This is a light hearted fun read with some interesting characters. If you are looking for the meaning of life - this ain't it, but it's entertaining and a quick read that is fun to pass around to your girlfriends!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2