Customer Reviews for

The Fixer Upper

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Her life may require more fixing up than the house her father has sent her to renovate.

My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex...
My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex as a junior associate lobbyist, she finds herself embattled with this FBI investigation when her boss turns her in to the FBI and claims himself innocent of all charges. He subsequently fires her as a way of making the story stick.

Since Dempsey can't really work in Washington right now, her father, Mitch, wants her to head down to Georgia to fix up and flip an old house he has inherited from his grandfather. What Dempsey finds there is truly an overgrown money pit, complete with a live in, old lady who insists the house belongs to her.

The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews takes you on quite adventure in not only the art of restoring a home where every penny counts and just when you think there isn't anything more than can go wrong, it does! The characters are so believable that you wonder if Birdsong really doesn't exist. This is a fabulous summer read that takes you away and you can completely lose yourself in another life.

I received The Fixer Upper, compliments of TLC Book Tours and would rate this book a 9 out of 10. There are some sexual scenes between Dempsey and her attorney's son, but they are brief and don't distract from the story.

For more information on this wonderful book, the author and where to obtain your copy, click on the link below:

http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/mary-kay-andrews-author-of-the-fixer-upper-on-tour-june-2010/

posted by Heart2Heart on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs some fixing up...

Good for escapism, clever book cover, a bit touching & romantic but needs some fixing up...

posted by Robertreviews on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Great authentic Southern book!

    As a Georgia girl, I want authors to know what they're talking about when writing a book set in the South, especially Georgia. Mary Kay Andrews gets it, because this is her turf too. Other than being genuine in her coverage of my home state, Andrews is also just really good at telling a when-girl-meets-boy story. This is a fun romance story, and also a story of how a girl finds herself and gets back to her roots. I really enjoyed it. If you've read other Mary Kay Andrews books, you'll enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An easy read.

    I loved the story. The characters were funny and kept my intrest. I can only say that I read this book too fast. I always want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Mary Kay Andrews writes another fun book

    The Fixer Upper gives the reader an entertaining story that kept me involved from the first page to the last. I couldn't put the book down, but at the same time I didn't want it to end. I fell in love with the characters and wanted to know what happens next the whole way through. The ending tied up the story, but still I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good reading, doesn't take too much concentration.

    I always enjoy M.K. Andrews' writing. This was not her best, but still very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great book to lose yourself in

    I loved this book from start to finish.It kept you interested and i did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great story, sad to see it end.

    A great story. I read in a couple of days. I love all her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Read

    I loved this book! I was disappointed in her last book "Deep Dish", but with this one Mary Kay Andrews she lives up to her reputation as a great writer of fun books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Never reached its full potential

    The novel had a lot of interesting premises, plots, twists, and held interest, but in the end, it left the reader feeling like there were inferences of lots of things but never really any complete answers - almost like it was setting up for a sequel as opposed to finishing the story. For instance, it's never explained why the factory closed or where the family money went or why the whistle on the factory still goes off each day. Also, the "romance scenes" seemed to be added in almost like insert scene here and really didn't flow well in the book. A good effort but not one that inspired me to read others by the same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great relaxing read

    We all go thru some tramatic times in our lives, whether ourselves or friends. This book tells a story that lets you know that even though life may look dim, that when you just keep on going, whether a project or what, lessons are learned all around and there is light at the end of the tunnel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this read!

    Mary Kay Andrews always takes me away. This was the first book I read - all the other ones I've listened to on audiobooks. My time with her is always enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Mary Kaye Andrews strikes again.

    Mary Kaye Andrews writes the way people talk. Her characters are real and human. She creates humor and suspense at the same time. I am always thrilled when she is on the "coming soon" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read!

    This is another of Mary Kay Andrews' Southern charmers. The quirky characters add dimension to this story of a young woman no longer able to work in D.C. and her quest to restore an old home in Georgia and maybe find love in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    A fun read

    I read my first Mary Kay Andrews book, Blue Christmas, that I purchased in the book section at a Marshalls store. I found it to be such a fun read, that I researched what other books the author had published and got hooked and have read all her books to date. Her books are fun and you feel as though you know the characters, as if in real life. She has a great sense of humor and can bring you to feeling as though you are right there in the story. If you want to go on an adventure, feel as though you are on vacation or just make an escape from the real world, read one or all of Mary Kay Andrew's novels !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    delightful read

    This was a good story with some good twists. I not only enjoyed it but lent it to my mother who is also thoroughly enjoying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4