Customer Reviews for

The Fixer Upper

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Her life may require more fixing up than the house her father has sent her to renovate.

My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex...
My Review:

What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex as a junior associate lobbyist, she finds herself embattled with this FBI investigation when her boss turns her in to the FBI and claims himself innocent of all charges. He subsequently fires her as a way of making the story stick.

Since Dempsey can't really work in Washington right now, her father, Mitch, wants her to head down to Georgia to fix up and flip an old house he has inherited from his grandfather. What Dempsey finds there is truly an overgrown money pit, complete with a live in, old lady who insists the house belongs to her.

The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews takes you on quite adventure in not only the art of restoring a home where every penny counts and just when you think there isn't anything more than can go wrong, it does! The characters are so believable that you wonder if Birdsong really doesn't exist. This is a fabulous summer read that takes you away and you can completely lose yourself in another life.

I received The Fixer Upper, compliments of TLC Book Tours and would rate this book a 9 out of 10. There are some sexual scenes between Dempsey and her attorney's son, but they are brief and don't distract from the story.

For more information on this wonderful book, the author and where to obtain your copy, click on the link below:

http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/mary-kay-andrews-author-of-the-fixer-upper-on-tour-june-2010/

posted by Heart2Heart on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs some fixing up...

Good for escapism, clever book cover, a bit touching & romantic but needs some fixing up...

posted by Robertreviews on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Her life may require more fixing up than the house her father has sent her to renovate.

    My Review:

    What a wonderful and intriguing story of a renovation of an old Georgian Mansion called Birdsong and the latest indictment of Dempsey's old boss Alex for allegedly trying to buy his way into an oil company's bill in Washington. Since Dempsey works for Alex as a junior associate lobbyist, she finds herself embattled with this FBI investigation when her boss turns her in to the FBI and claims himself innocent of all charges. He subsequently fires her as a way of making the story stick.

    Since Dempsey can't really work in Washington right now, her father, Mitch, wants her to head down to Georgia to fix up and flip an old house he has inherited from his grandfather. What Dempsey finds there is truly an overgrown money pit, complete with a live in, old lady who insists the house belongs to her.

    The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews takes you on quite adventure in not only the art of restoring a home where every penny counts and just when you think there isn't anything more than can go wrong, it does! The characters are so believable that you wonder if Birdsong really doesn't exist. This is a fabulous summer read that takes you away and you can completely lose yourself in another life.

    I received The Fixer Upper, compliments of TLC Book Tours and would rate this book a 9 out of 10. There are some sexual scenes between Dempsey and her attorney's son, but they are brief and don't distract from the story.

    For more information on this wonderful book, the author and where to obtain your copy, click on the link below:

    http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/mary-kay-andrews-author-of-the-fixer-upper-on-tour-june-2010/

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this wonderful novel!

    THE FIXER UPPER is about family and all that entails, heart, humor, love, problems.Needing to redefine herself after her adventure in Washington, DC and getting tangled up in a political scandal, Dempsey is given the opportunity, thanks to Dad, to have her fix up their old family home to sell back in Guthrie, Georgia. There's a lot of exciting drama thereafter concerning a smooth-talking real estate agent, a contractor, a widowed attorney, an FBI agent and so on and so forth. I really enjoyed this wonderful novel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as I have almost all of this author's! Funny and engaging and thoughtful too. She just doesn't write fast enough--- I am ready for the next book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Mary Kay Andrews rocks!

    Living in the South, I love Mary Kay Andrews' style and her characters are people I can identify with. Her books are always more entertaining than the latest movie and are always my first choice for a trip read. Her Savannah books are my favorite so far. I love these characters and hate for each story to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read..

    I love the character, Dempsey Jo Killebrew and her family. I was looking for a good read with a "southern flare" and this book was the ticket.

    The main character, Dempsey loses her job and winds up in a political scandal. Her Dad gives her a chance to escape to a home he inherits called "Birdsong". She arrives to find out that an old lady is living there and does not want Dempsey to be there. They form a bond in the end and Dempsey also finds love... it's a great read.

    I love Mary Kay Andrews. She is a great author....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary Kay Andrews comes through with another winner! If you are

    Mary Kay Andrews comes through with another winner! If you are looking for the perfect after Christmas read! Check out The Fixer Upper!
    Synopsis:
    Dempsey and her friends are watching the television at the bar. The news does not look good. She watches her boss Alex Hodder on the screen with Congressman Licata. The headline Law firm brides congressman for vote. After seeing this Dempsey suddenly finds herself without a job and under investigation. Her father comes up with the perfect solution. He would like her to renovate an old house that he inherited Songbird in Guthrie Georgia. There is one little catch it comes with something else. Will Dempsey be able to renovate Songbird? Will the little surprise that comes with the house keep her from moving forward? Will she help the FBI?
    My Thoughts:
    Another great read novel by Mary Kay Andrews! I first saw this novel when Mary Kay Andrews was on tour and met Mary Kay for the first time. I listened to this novel and it was narrated very well. The story has great humor and plot.
    One aspect of Mary Kay Andrew’s writing is the setting. The setting for this story is Georgetown and Guthrie Georgia. The only thing I can tell you about where Guthrie is that it is close to Griffin Georgia. For those of you who don’t know Georgia area well it is near Macon. She is very descriptive about what you can expect if you happen to visit the area.
    Let me introduce you to Birdsong the house mentioned in the novel. I am not very handy myself but I found myself wanting to know more about the house’s renovation. I also was interested in the other stories within the plot such as Ella Kate, and what would eventually happen to her.
    The reader will not be disappointed! By Jencey Gortney/Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun summer read!

    Dempsey shows us when we get a hiccup in life that you can always bounce back. It may not be what are where we end up but it's an adventure that makes you take a ride into a new chapter of your life. She shows us that she's charming, tough, snarky, smart, and quit whited.
    I couldn't choose my favorite character between Ella Kate, the unpleasant squatter or Dempsey's zany mom. They both were very entertaining.
    Andrew's again makes the character's come alive in her writing.
    I've enjoyed reading Summer Breeze, Savannah Blues, and Summer Rental.

    Thank you for sharing "Southern Charm" in your novels. I long to live in the South and reading novels set in the south brings me home every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    So good

    Loved the whole thing, so fun and enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommend

    A great fast and easy read! The second book I read by this author!! Looking forward to reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    A good light read. The recipes at the end of some of her books are always delicious. I believe I have read all her books and eagerly anticipate the next one. She is definitely a good Southern writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Loved it

    I have yet to read one of her books and not love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Fun Read

    I love Mary Kay Andrews ...her books are so enjoyable. When you just need to rest your brain and snuggle up on a winter day this book just captured my mind and left me wishing I could keep on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I first started reading Mary Kay Andrew's books when I happened

    I first started reading Mary Kay Andrew's books when I happened upon Hissy Fit, and Little Bitty lies for sale at a local store. Once I read those two I became hooked. I love her style of writing, and how she brings her stories to the south. I also found myself loving the characters; especially Dempsey because she is shown to be an honest and selfless women who not only takes care of a run down home, but an old lady "squatter" who has her share of her own issues. Dempsey overcomes all odds in the story making it a satisfying read, and even find love in a small town that she never would have immagined living. Of course, I highly recommend this novel! It is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Very entertaining

    I read this book in a day and a half. I really enjoyed the refreshing story line. I have read almost all of the books from this author and this was one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended for a good fun reading experience

    I love reading Mary Kay Andrews books. They are just down to earth, can't put down - funny. You can really get into her characters. Way to go Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    loved it!

    Great read! Worth the $$$$$!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    My fav of all hers so far..

    This was the first of her books I read and loved it....warm, funny and sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    I am hooked on this author and all that she writes.

    This is the second book I've read by Mary Kay Andrews and have enjoyed them both. Have a couple more on reserve through the library. This was over 400 pages and I read it in 2 days. Never boring, and always a surprise character or situation popping up to keep things interesting. Very funny, always a little mystery thrown in, and the writer describes everything so well that I could picture Birdsong coming to life on each page. The characters seem so real that I wanted to phone ''Lynda'' and ask her to make a necklace for me! I would recommend this book to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    A Story You Actually Want a Sequel To!

    I had finished a book in an airport and had to buy a new one for the flight home. I picked this up on a whim. I had never read a Mary Kay Andrews book, but I do like a good "southern charm" novel. This one was fun! I liked all the players in this novel and the way that Ms. Andrews describes things, you can visualize easily. I enjoyed! I hope you do as well. I will read another book by her, but a sequel to this one for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4