BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Flame and the Flower

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Favorite romance novel!!

I read this book several years ago and was excited to finally be able to find it and read it again. Yes it is erotic; however, there is an extra element of surprise as it marries patient endurance and chastity with passionate love. I'm not really into romance that inclu...
I read this book several years ago and was excited to finally be able to find it and read it again. Yes it is erotic; however, there is an extra element of surprise as it marries patient endurance and chastity with passionate love. I'm not really into romance that includes the betrayal of one lover for another one, which is another reason this novel stands out for me, since it is entirely absent of this. Even what may appear to be a betrayal is more of a severing of old and rather loose habits; this in trade for the stability of true devotion is benefitial to all. Apparently, Woodwiss created a whole new type of the historical romance genre with this, her first novel! It holds a quality that is often absent in other romance novels. I would highly recommend this tender morsel!

posted by 8374559 on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable

IF you can get beyond the beginning of the book, you might find romance here, but the rape of an already abused virginal young girl by a man who shows no remorse and smugly decides to keep her as his mistress had me turned off from the onset. All romance characters hav...
IF you can get beyond the beginning of the book, you might find romance here, but the rape of an already abused virginal young girl by a man who shows no remorse and smugly decides to keep her as his mistress had me turned off from the onset. All romance characters have issues to resolve, but I really don't think this is one so easily overcome as the writer would have you believe. Physical and verbal abuse turned into everlasting love in a few short pages? A little twisted, I thought.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Favorite romance novel!!

    I read this book several years ago and was excited to finally be able to find it and read it again. Yes it is erotic; however, there is an extra element of surprise as it marries patient endurance and chastity with passionate love. I'm not really into romance that includes the betrayal of one lover for another one, which is another reason this novel stands out for me, since it is entirely absent of this. Even what may appear to be a betrayal is more of a severing of old and rather loose habits; this in trade for the stability of true devotion is benefitial to all. Apparently, Woodwiss created a whole new type of the historical romance genre with this, her first novel! It holds a quality that is often absent in other romance novels. I would highly recommend this tender morsel!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    An Unforgetable Romance

    I read this book around the time it was published. Now, years later, I still think about this story. As I read it I felt as though I was there with the characters, watching everything unfold before my eyes. This story has remained so vivid to me unlike any other book I have ever read. Honestly, I have read plenty of books in my lifetime, but none have ever moved me like 'The Flame and the Flower'. If you haven't read this book yet please don't pass it by.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    First book I ever read!!

    This is seriously the first book I ever read and I love it! I am always rereading it! I will keep that book forever! It is just so good! I love Brandon and Heather! I also love Jeff in this book and in his own book!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding

    Very well done. Read the next one as well. The Eluisve Flame.
    I read so many books I would be here all day telling about the books. If I didnt put the books on here they would not mean anything then. I Am sorry if I am rude but I really am not I just want to get back to reading and every day life. All the books I put up here are very good. I have been a reader for over 14 years have read over 3 to 4 thousands books. so you see all an all Kathleen is a great writer. If you have time go and see some more books I have read. Hit my name on here

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    A good Romance

    I wouldn't call this the best romance novel I've ever read, but I still couldn't put it down at the end of the day. I didn't want to read this book at first because of some previous reviews about rape. I'm not into that and I find it very unromantic. I thought reading it would ruin all other woodiwiss novels for me. I say give it a try anyway. This 'rape' is not what you think. I thought I would be outraged, but the way the story unfolds I wasn't that upset. It brings some reality to the story. Real life is not always full of boy meets girl, boy falls for girl, boy and girl live happily ever after. This twist makes it real because life isn't always a fairytalle. Give this book a try and I'm sure you could forgive Brandon as Heather does.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is the best romance novel ever. It is the novel that got me stuck on reading romances. It may not be for the faint of heart due to the beginning, but it really is a story that gives the message that love really does overcome all obstacles.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    One of my all time faves!!

    I fell in love with this book on the first page. I can, and have read this book over and over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Wonderful!

    I am now reading this book for the second time and love it just as much as the first time! I couldn't put it down. I love the teasing sexiness of Brandon and Heather's relationship. Very sexy indeed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Another great book by Woodiwiss - a must read

    I have read this book 3-4 times over the last 20 years. Woodiwiss is
    a great story teller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Keep reading!

    Some reviews stated they didn't like the beginning of the story. If you stick with it and keep reading, it's well worth it! I love stories about bearded sea captains that meet a woman that "gets" to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    this one has and always will be my all time favorite

    This IS the best book I have ever read, I could not put it down, read the whole book in 1 day. I liked it so much I have read this book 4 times over the past several years!!!! and i'm planning on reading it again!!! Kathleen Woodiwess is a wonderful wrighter. This is a book not to be missed, I also love Petals on the River and have read it twice!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    First Romance I Read

    This I've been looking or for such a long time. This book I read when I was just married n I found it. I liberties story . N no there's not smut in it . But romance .yesss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Masterful!

    I loved this book. I had a hard time putting this book down. I will look for more from this author. I thought this book was a great love story, with mystery and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Flowerclan elder den

    All elders live here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Will to Flower

    Hey ::) i missed you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Lily

    Ghsm

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Silverfur

    Goodbye i will visit whenever i can. Remember reclaim being a medicine cat... * she faded away*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Love

    One of my all time, go to books that I can re-read over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Woodiwiss is a Classic

    One of the first romance novels I ever read...I was hooked on the genre! Classic Bodice Ripper/Sweeping Romance. Settle in for this one. This is not a one-nighter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10