Customer Reviews for

Flame of Resistance

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flame of Resistance by Tracy Groot was an interesting novel, f


Flame of Resistance by Tracy Groot was an interesting novel, filled with betrayal, love, and sacrifice. The plot line was excellently written and intricately woven with mystery, suspense, and unexpected curve balls. The last few chapters were incredible. I was just bl...

Flame of Resistance by Tracy Groot was an interesting novel, filled with betrayal, love, and sacrifice. The plot line was excellently written and intricately woven with mystery, suspense, and unexpected curve balls. The last few chapters were incredible. I was just blown away by the twists and turns at a point where the conclusion seemed obvious and heart wrenching. Of course, the conclusion was still heart wrenching, but it was much better than what I imagined it to be. However, there were several points in the story that seemed impossible and unrealistic. For example, the spies for the Resistance were horribly unprepared and trained for their missions. While I understand that part of the reason was because their leader was falling apart, it still seemed unbelievable considering how secretive and well organized their resistance group was. Overall though the plot was very interesting, and I read the book without stopping in one afternoon.

The characters were not as well developed as the plot. Tom was a fairly static character, which was disappointing considering his importance to the storyline. I would have preferred if he had experienced more growth during the story. Brigitte was an interesting character. While I understand that she felt a brothel was the only way she could survive, I did not like the author's inference that it was OK for the character to continue in that lifestyle later on the book once Brigitte realized she was able to accomplish so much more than that. I also wish that Tom had given Brigitte stronger message than that God accepts all even the ''worst'' sinners. While this is true, it does not mean that one is supposed to continue in that lifestyle. A person is called to leave their sinful lifestyles when they come to God. I also disliked the fact that the characters worshiped and valued their country and patriotism more than God and doing what was right. While those things are certainly worth valuing, I just wish there had been a better balance shown in the story.

Despite these issues, there were a couple characters that did develop more throughout the novel. Michel Rousseau and Hauptmann Braun were my favorite characters. Michel was a very major character despite the fact that the story centered around Tom and Brigitte. He and Braun experienced the most growth and development as characters, and I enjoyed seeing and experiencing their thoughts and changing ideas. Braun was an incredible character, and I loved seeing his changes throughout the story.

Flame of Resistance was a good story overall. The plot was fantastic, but some of the supposedly main characters experienced little to no growth which took away from the story. The themes of the novel could have been developed more, and I disagreed with the way some of the values were esteemed in the story. However, the novel was still an excellent read; I would just recommend that you be prepared for some violence and other improprieties that come along with a brothel.

I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest revie

posted by RennS on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Powerful impressionistic retelling of Rahab set during WWII

Can I say riveting? awesome? exciting? suspenseful? How about Don't start this book unless you have time to finish it in one reading; because once you start you won't be able to put it down!

Tracy Groot had me spell-bound from the first page and kept me that way unti...
Can I say riveting? awesome? exciting? suspenseful? How about Don't start this book unless you have time to finish it in one reading; because once you start you won't be able to put it down!

Tracy Groot had me spell-bound from the first page and kept me that way until the end. Her characters are powerful, alive and breathing. Brigitte Durand and Tom Jaeger are so realistic that you almost expect to go back in your history books and find them listed with other heroes of WWII.

I have been reading a lot of historical fictional works based on WWII and I have to say this is one of the best ones I have read. Well.... next to Tracy Goyer's work. Okay, okay, they are equally wonderful.

I wonder if I would perform as admirably as Brigitte does in a difficult time and situation, minus the brothel. She really stands up in the face of danger and possible death to help out Tom Jaeger secure vital information that will help the resistance against the Nazis.

All of the other supporting characters are strong and realistic as well, without being over-powering. They help round out the story with their personal stories and emotions that bring to life the French resistance against the Nazis and their pride in their beloved country. A simple wedge of cheese not only brings tears to the eyes of those who are going to partake of it but help bring unity to the most unlikely group of individuals. (You will just have to read the book to know what I'm talking about.)

A family home turned into a brothel for German officers becomes a place of espionage and danger for those who are part of the French resistance group Flame. And Brigitte finds help from those she never expected help from.

Flame of Resistance is truly a wonderful novel well worth reading over and over again. The discussion questions in the back of the book are great as well. They are a wonderful way to not only discuss the characters of the book but talk about personal reactions with your book club.

This review was made possible by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. They freely provided me with this review copy. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.

posted by Uniquely_His on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Flame of Resistance by Tracy Groot was an interesting novel, f


    Flame of Resistance by Tracy Groot was an interesting novel, filled with betrayal, love, and sacrifice. The plot line was excellently written and intricately woven with mystery, suspense, and unexpected curve balls. The last few chapters were incredible. I was just blown away by the twists and turns at a point where the conclusion seemed obvious and heart wrenching. Of course, the conclusion was still heart wrenching, but it was much better than what I imagined it to be. However, there were several points in the story that seemed impossible and unrealistic. For example, the spies for the Resistance were horribly unprepared and trained for their missions. While I understand that part of the reason was because their leader was falling apart, it still seemed unbelievable considering how secretive and well organized their resistance group was. Overall though the plot was very interesting, and I read the book without stopping in one afternoon.

    The characters were not as well developed as the plot. Tom was a fairly static character, which was disappointing considering his importance to the storyline. I would have preferred if he had experienced more growth during the story. Brigitte was an interesting character. While I understand that she felt a brothel was the only way she could survive, I did not like the author's inference that it was OK for the character to continue in that lifestyle later on the book once Brigitte realized she was able to accomplish so much more than that. I also wish that Tom had given Brigitte stronger message than that God accepts all even the ''worst'' sinners. While this is true, it does not mean that one is supposed to continue in that lifestyle. A person is called to leave their sinful lifestyles when they come to God. I also disliked the fact that the characters worshiped and valued their country and patriotism more than God and doing what was right. While those things are certainly worth valuing, I just wish there had been a better balance shown in the story.

    Despite these issues, there were a couple characters that did develop more throughout the novel. Michel Rousseau and Hauptmann Braun were my favorite characters. Michel was a very major character despite the fact that the story centered around Tom and Brigitte. He and Braun experienced the most growth and development as characters, and I enjoyed seeing and experiencing their thoughts and changing ideas. Braun was an incredible character, and I loved seeing his changes throughout the story.

    Flame of Resistance was a good story overall. The plot was fantastic, but some of the supposedly main characters experienced little to no growth which took away from the story. The themes of the novel could have been developed more, and I disagreed with the way some of the values were esteemed in the story. However, the novel was still an excellent read; I would just recommend that you be prepared for some violence and other improprieties that come along with a brothel.

    I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest revie

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book in one day because I found myself unable to put

    I read this book in one day because I found myself unable to put it down, as every time I ended up a chapter, I HAD to keep reading. :)

    As I've said in many of my reviews, my favorite historical fiction novels are ones where I actually learn something and come away with more knowledge of the time period and setting of the story. "Flame of Resistance" is one of those books! Although I knew of the French Resistance during World War II, I have to confess I didn't know a whole lot about it. Tracy Groot really did her research for this book, and I was quite thrilled to read in the author's note at the end that a number of characters were real people, or at least composites of actual historical figures. This authenticity made the story come alive and I truly felt as if I'd been given a window into this incredible period in history.

    That being said, as this is marketed as a "Christian" book, the one thing that bothered me in it was the the multiple uses of God's name being said in vain. Although it was never said in English, I think the average person can see through the German and French and figure it out. I don't say this as a prude, but I honestly would've preferred a four letter word over the misuse of our Lord's Name, especially coming from a fellow Christian. However, I did notice that the times it was said, Ms. Groot never translated the phrases, so perhaps she felt that would make it alright? Anyway, this is the only reason I didn't give the book a full 5 stars, but I would still whole-heartedly recommend it, as the novel is a beautiful story of what true love, sacrifice, courage and true freedom is all about.

    "Flame of Resistance" is actually loosely based on, or rather inspired by, the story of Rahab in the Bible, including the fact that the main characters are a harlot and some spies. Therefore, I would suggest that the subject matter is a bit mature (although handled very well, never steamy or inappropriate), but I think anyone high school age and up would really enjoy and learn a lot from the story.

    I honestly don't want to tell you too much of the plot, as there are so many twists, turns, betrayals, unexpected allies, etc, that I want you to have the experience of discovering them all on your own. If you pick up this book, I guarantee you will not be disappointed! Although I had the one aforementioned bone to pick with the writing, I truly cannot praise this book highly enough. Consequently, I would recommend this wonderful piece of historical fiction to any fellow lover of this genre, as well as those who enjoy more contemporary retellings of Biblical stories (I think Francine River fans will LOVE this book) or those who are interested in World War II. Do yourself a favor and grab a copy! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    GOOD BOOK, BUT TOO MANY CHARACTERS

    The Nazis have occupied Brigitte's homeland of France for years now, and out of desperation she has turned to an occupation despised by her own people. As a prostitute who caters to the Nazis, she has access to information that can help the French Resistance, but she does not see that there is a future for her beyond the war. When Tom, an American pilot, is shot down over occupied France, he joins the Resistance. Although their backgrounds are worlds apart, they begin to realize that their feelings for one another are more than just a wartime romance.

    This was an excellently researched novel. Ms. Groot has visited the places she speaks of in the book and studied the history of the area during the War. My only problem was that there so many characters that I had trouble keeping track of all of them. All in all, it was still a 4 star novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Wavekit

    I am here too.... and i am old enough to be an apprentice so plz make me an apprentice.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Great WWII Novel

    This is the first book I have had the opportunity to read by this author. The setting is just before D-Day in Normandy, and the Nazis are not making France a pleasant place to live. Brigitte Durand is an interesting main character - she is a prostitute at a Germans-only brothel, who longs for not just her freedom but her country's as well, and she is willing to fight however she can for it. She has a deep love for France and struggles with the choices she has made to get to this place. Tom Jaeger is an American fighter pilot shot down during a battle, discovered by the Resistance. Because his appearance is so strikingly 'German', he is pressed into service with Flame, a resistance cell - and things begin to change very rapidly.

    Although I enjoyed this novel and overall would recommend it, it took me some time to really get going, to truly get a feel for it. I also struggled at times to understand their "languaging", especially since many of the references (some historical, some the expressions of the times) felt a little obscure to me at first. However, once I got a little further along it all began to come together. And the end made it all worthwhile!

    I will look forward to reading more from Tracy Groot. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Powerful impressionistic retelling of Rahab set during WWII

    Can I say riveting? awesome? exciting? suspenseful? How about Don't start this book unless you have time to finish it in one reading; because once you start you won't be able to put it down!

    Tracy Groot had me spell-bound from the first page and kept me that way until the end. Her characters are powerful, alive and breathing. Brigitte Durand and Tom Jaeger are so realistic that you almost expect to go back in your history books and find them listed with other heroes of WWII.

    I have been reading a lot of historical fictional works based on WWII and I have to say this is one of the best ones I have read. Well.... next to Tracy Goyer's work. Okay, okay, they are equally wonderful.

    I wonder if I would perform as admirably as Brigitte does in a difficult time and situation, minus the brothel. She really stands up in the face of danger and possible death to help out Tom Jaeger secure vital information that will help the resistance against the Nazis.

    All of the other supporting characters are strong and realistic as well, without being over-powering. They help round out the story with their personal stories and emotions that bring to life the French resistance against the Nazis and their pride in their beloved country. A simple wedge of cheese not only brings tears to the eyes of those who are going to partake of it but help bring unity to the most unlikely group of individuals. (You will just have to read the book to know what I'm talking about.)

    A family home turned into a brothel for German officers becomes a place of espionage and danger for those who are part of the French resistance group Flame. And Brigitte finds help from those she never expected help from.

    Flame of Resistance is truly a wonderful novel well worth reading over and over again. The discussion questions in the back of the book are great as well. They are a wonderful way to not only discuss the characters of the book but talk about personal reactions with your book club.

    This review was made possible by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. They freely provided me with this review copy. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Fireblaze

    Next part res six

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Flame

    Okay. Lucks ur private and closes our privates together. Licks ur cheek there.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    To scarpatth

    We are at saehouse res one.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Flamepool

    He was being a good deputy and watching the clan she looks at foxtail he is a good deputy

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Firewings story-Chapter 3

    A warrior walked over to us "Hello kits welcome to iillclan" we whimpered then i spoke up "Why did you bring us here?" "None of your beezwax apprentice!" She growled "my name is Shadowkill. Now eat these mice i know you are hungry" we ate the mice not knowing there were poppyseeds in them enough that would make us sleep for days./ Freetwists Point Of View; "How are we going to sneak them out without getting noticed" asked Mythstar "I know we can send some of our warrior that dont go to the gathering to get them during the gathering" i meowed "Good idea Freetwist. I just hope they can last 3 days till the full moon"/ Shadowkills POV: I smiled as the "paws" fell asleep then yowled for Killstar to come over "What is it" he asked "they are asleep" i meowed "good job Shadowkill" "thank you Killstar, so what are we going to do to them?" I asked "We are going to combine Willowpaws spirit with a Wolfs and she will be a leopard now and Fogpaw we will make him be an Jaguar and combine his spirit with a dragons." He meowed "What about Firepaw?" "Ah yes firepaw we will make him fly, combine his spirit with that of an eagles, and give him our mark." He smirked "Yes our mark. Giving him the abilty to talk to starclan cats comfertable and also change into a blood red dragon" i growled/ Killstars POV: I padded ovrr to the apprentices and gently bit them to give them the powers i said earlyer "now they will need to rest for two days then we can hold them hostage on the third day for what ever we want" i meowed to Shadowkill "yes we will Killstar that will be a fun day" shadowkill meowed "Goodnight Shadowkill" "Night Killstar" i padded to my den and fell into an uneasy sleep "why killstar why?" Called a voice then i woke up and it was the morning of the gathering i had slept for 2 days and was in the med den. END OF CHAPTER 3 NEXT CHAPTER COMING SOON! :)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Very much enjoyed reading this.

    Great book! Love the story plot and the suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty and moving, Flame of Resistance is a beautifully written

    Gritty and moving, Flame of Resistance is a beautifully written story of Nazi-occupied France that raises challenging questions about redemption, perceptions, and the cost of doing the right thing in an evil world. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Flame of Resistance is a Flame of Hope for a New Life Flame of R

    Flame of Resistance is a Flame of Hope for a New Life
    Flame of Resistance
    by Tracy Groot


    When her fiance died during France's fall to Nazi aggression Brigitte Durand's life was altered. A once respectable young woman who was engaged and employed, Brigitte is forced to survive by selling herself to the enemy. But her survival comes at a great cost to her own soul.

    When given an opportunity to aid the French Resistance Brigitte takes the opportunity in the slim hope of redeeming herself. Using her profession as a cover, Brigitte is able to pass intelligence to the Resistance through Tom Jaeger, a downed American pilot posing as a conscripted Dutch Nazi.

    As Brigitte passes information concerning troop movements and nearby bridge defenses, she and Tom become friends over chess and the hope Tom brings of imminent freedom. But when Brigitte's home comes under watch of the Milice their lives and the operation are endangered.

    When Tom is captured what is Brigitte willing to risk?

    A retelling of the story of Rehab, Flame of Resistance is a story of redemption and courage. When given the opportunity to change not only her life but the course of the war, Brigitte accepts the challenge.

    The Flame of Resistance is an intriguing look at World War II and its cost on the souls of all involved. Both sides had those who resisted the evil that threatened to envelop the world and destroy it. I found Flame of Resistance to be an enlightening and enjoyable historical fiction read.

    Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. A favorable review was not a requirement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2