BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Flanders Panel

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Awsome

    The main theme of this book is things are not always as they appear. The Flanders Panel makes this theme apparent from the start. In 1990, Julia, an art restorer from Spain receives a painting named The Game of Chess by Pieter Van Huys and she sets to work on it immediately. Through an ultraviolet light she discovers a hidden message 'Quis Necavit Equitem' or ¿Who killed the knight?¿. From there the story unfolds uncovering more questions along the way. Arturo Pérez-Reverte, demonstrates his skillful artist like skill for an almost mind controlling form of writing. It sucks the reader through many complex what ifs and maybes until the incredible climactic end that is bound to send your head spinning. I found this book particularly suited to me because it encompasses many of my personal interests such as chess, music, world languages, and world cultures. I also enjoyed the depth and apparent knowledge that the author displayed. It almost demands a psychoanalytical way of thinking. One example of this is when Julia, her friend César, and the person who owned the painting being restored, Munoz, discuss the painting in relation to Bach. ¿This composition consists of two halves, each of which is repeated. The tonic note of the first half is G and it ends in the key of D. ¿Bach suddenly makes us jump back to the beginning, with G as tonic again¿¿It¿s like a continuous loop¿¿( Pérez-Reverte 205). I find the depth of his literature utterly astounding. Because of the depth and density of Arturo Pérez-Reverte¿s writing I was constantly looking things up and as a result learning a great deal about subjects ranging from Chess to art and even the thought process of a killer. The Flanders Panel is just an absolute treasure trove of cultural, historical, and worldly information. My recommendation is greatly dependent on the knowledge of the reader in the main topics already discussed. The book is overflowing with intellectual phrases that are key to understanding and enjoying it in its entirety. However, great knowledge of chess is not necessary because most of the key points are explained through the main character, Julia who lacks of chess experience. My final feeling is that the reader must be at least interested in the arts to enjoy this book. If you don¿t like the arts this is not the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    I have this in an old tattered paperback, and love it. One of m

    I have this in an old tattered paperback, and love it. One of my pleasures. My students do not disturb me if they see me reading this one at lunch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Much ado about not much

    The author has fallen in love with the sound of his own voice. The book is laden with extravagantly "literary" passages supposedly to create mood or drama. Instead, they are just tiresome. Perhaps we're being subjected to a screenplay. The focus on chess is quite interesting and the detective work involving the painting is well done. However, the present day story is absurd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read, disappointing ending.

    I have read a couple of books by this author, and each left me disappointed with the endings. The historical and artistic elements are incredibly interesting, and the book is really suspenseful; I honestly couldn't put it down. But the ending was such a disappointment! It made me sorry I spent time and money on the book, which absolutely never happens to me. Really. The writing throughout is so good, but the ending feels like an after thought. It seems like this is a recurring problem I have with this author, and unfortunately, I will not read any more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    highly recommended

    i loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    The Flanders Panel

    The book The Flanders Panel there is drama, murder, and logic. The main character Julia is a paint restorer in Spain. She comes a cross an unusual painting and using ultra violet light came across an inscription hidden from the naked eye. The inscription says 'Quis Necavit Equitem' which means who killed the knight.
    During the story Julia uses the help of many friends and experts to receive information on the painting by Victor Van Huys as well as solve the mystery lying within. While she is doing this she comes in contact with the mystery player and she is roped in to playing the game where it left off in the painting. During this game some of here friends are murdered and it is up to Julia and her friends to find out who it is.
    The story is a drama in the sense that it keeps on the edge of your seat waiting to find out what the mystery player will do next. The clues the author gives the characters are in chess terms and you have to use logic to find out who will be killed next and who the killer is. The murders shake up the game it makes it more serious for Julia. "'This isn't a game Julia' he said 'and don't forget that'" The Flanders Panel. New York: Harper Collins, 1994. During her journey she changes emotionally. She goes from being little girl like into a grown woman. During the story you get to go on a chess adventure and learn the strategies and the story behind the game "'But the next logical move by Black, after losing his pawn on d5, would be to put the white king in check again by moving the Black knight on d1 to b2.'" The Flanders Panel. New York: Harper Collins, 1994.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in chess, mysteries , murder mysteries, or like to be puzzled and surprised. Because in this game the people you least expect could be the most dangerous. This book was fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed. "A Beguiling Puzzle- A Game Within A Game Within A Game - Solved In Perplexing But Entertaining Fashion."- The Philadelphia Inquirer. This statement is one hundred percent true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Very, very disappointing

    I had high hopes for this book because of the reviews but I was sorely disappointed. I expected an interesting story line filled with twists and turns. Instead, the mystery behind the painting is solved within the first few chapters and the rest of the story is about who keeps killing the main character's friends (as if you couldn't already figure it out.) There wasn't enough to the historical mystery for me. It was dull and predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    an intelligent literary mystery

    Well translated, to the point where you don¿t realize it is a translation. Starting with the preparations of a 15th century painting up for auction, the book develops into a historical puzzle about a murder gone unsolved. The painting itself is of a chess game, and in the opening pages we discover that there is a question embedded in the painting that has no answer. The art restorer becomes fascinated and decides to solve the mystery and find the answer to the question. Secrets left long unattended have a way of creating problems when attention is focussed on them, and the same proves true in the book. People start dying, and the need to solve the mystery becomes pressing. Making use of much chess strategy, the story is very compelling when you are interested in art and love and play chess. I got caught up in the story and found the book impossible to put down. By far my favorite of all of Perez-Reverte¿s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2001

    Deliciously Thrilling...

    The canals of Perez-Reverte's mind seem to almost twist upon themselves in this novel. The reason Perez-Reverte is a master of this genre is because his books are so well-written and appear so well-researched. I was especially struck by Julia, the 'main' character - she is quite engaging and intelligent. You will be absolutely swept up into the Flanders painting depicted in these pages, and strung along on the journey to uncover its secrets. Anyone looking for rich, thick literary mysteries should definitely pick up this yummy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2