Customer Reviews for

Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Flash Boys is a very good book.  Reading it will cause you to th

    Flash Boys is a very good book.  Reading it will cause you to think of many things.  Anyone who owns stock or has a 401K with stock
    in it would profit from reading this book. There is a great deal of information coupled with an engaging story.  

    Most of us don't even begin to understand what impacts our investments and how Wall Street makes money.  Some of the information
    is extremely technical both in describing financial transactions and in explaining the technical aspects of software creation and control.
    I am still not sure I understand it all, but I understand more than I did before I read it.

    At its heart, it is a story of how a complex system (the stock exchanges) can be gamed.  In this case, it results is high speed trading
    on the stock market that only a few brokers and banks can use at the little guys expense.
    The result is a system that, like casinos, is rigged in the "House's" favor.  The story follows a banker who figured out the "game" and
    his attempts to address it.  Some of the book is very dry, but I still wanted to understand and learn more.

    Not a lite read...but I did enjoy it and will be interest to watch what happens to the High Speed Trading firms and systems.  Will IEX
    change things?  What I am sure of is that the gamers will find another hole in some system.  
     

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Very enjoyable and I feel smarter for having read it.  I wouldn'

    Very enjoyable and I feel smarter for having read it. 
    I wouldn't be afraid of the technical stuff. Most folks can understand the speed of light and that,  IMO, is the heart of the technical discussion.
    I enjoyed reading the names of the firms involved and how they might have been bashed in one chapter and redeemed later.  
       

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    This book is informative and a great analysis.

    This book is informative and a great analysis.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Mr. Lewis can take the most difficult financial material and make it simple enough for you to understand. What could be more confusing the stock market and computers? He explains it in clear terms to simply cutting in line. The ability to purchase all stock that is available because your first and know others are waiting in line should not be fair. Mr Lewis shows there is hope for fairness from of all places Goldman Sachs.
    A book for all to read even if you do not trade stocks for a living. You have a pension and these "Flash Boys" effect it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Just Like Online Shooter Games

    This is a great book and an amazing story. Anyone who's ever played Call of Duty or Battlefield (or any online MMO for that matter) could've looked at what was happening on your computer screen and seen that someone was playing "in the future". In the game Call of Duty, when you're shooting someone and they turn around and kill you, they are referred to be playing "in the future". Those were my thoughts reading the first couple chapters of the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Interesting

    A very interesting book. I'm not really into stocks, but perhaps one day. Regardless of that fact, this was an entertaining read about some of the corrupt things going on in the stock market over the past several years and a guy who desperately wanted to change it. This book helps the case for how important it is to have a culture in your organization through the life of the main character (Brad).
    Overall, I felt this book could be broken into thirds on "drawn in" factor. In the beginning, it was great, I simply couldn't put it down. Towards the middle it just kind of dropped off a bit, it wasn't quite boring but I didn't mind putting it down to do other things. In the end it picked up again, not quite the "can't put it down" factor, but somewhere in the middle of the first 2/3 of the book. I wouldn't call it great but it was definitely a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    I highly recommend this book--more evidence of the way average investors are treated by a tilted playing field.

    I thought this book was exceptionally informative; I'm a securities lawyer and, even though I am familiar with the markets and securities compliance issues, garnered much new information about the technical operation of the markets. Lewis does a great job of conveying technical information in a way that is easily understandable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Great Book, very much recommend

    Really lays bear the greed and intentions of Wall Street. What ever happened to fairness and the consciousness for doing the right thing for other people? The kinds of values all our parents taught us as children.

    Looks like it is alive and well in Canada with Brad K, and he instilled it in his team as well. That's the way people in the US use to be. Bravo for Mike Lewis and the people in this book. It's brought the right focus to this High Speed trading fiasco.

    Great book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Loved it!

    I am someone that invests like millions of others each day, basically blind with trust for our financial advisors. I came away facinated by the utter importance of the millisecond and how racing for an advantage of just 4-5 of these littles fellows means the difference between retirement in Florida or working until 65 in Detroit. High frequency traders? Scum!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    the book was a great read

    the book was a great read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    John

    Yo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    A must read if you invest in the stock market..

    An intriguing quick read to see how computers have changed the world of finance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Brilliant people who care.

    Interesting read about some unselfish people who use their intelligence for good. Also, a sad portrayal of the current stock market. Good to know stuff, and well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Superb and juicy writing-you'll never think of Wall St in the same way

    Well-written and easy to understand insider's view of the fascinating world of secret high speed trading where microseconds make billions for some. Written from the point of view of fascinating, quirky bright individuals as they slowly uncover the scheme that take billions away from everyday investors with IRAs and 401Ks and puts it into the traders' pockets. Very readable, though there were just 2 or 3 pages that I couldn't quite get and skimmed. Did not take away one bit of my enlightenment or enjoyment of this book. (PS- enjoy the presentation of Canadians and their sensibilities as you read this :) ).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    For me this was a tough read but these are the books we must tak

    For me this was a tough read but these are the books we must take the time to study. Learning doesn't end with school and if we continue to educate ourselves we won't allow ourselves to settle. The men Michael Lewis wrote about in Flash Boys didn't settle. They couldn't give up on a problem they couldn't solve and we are better for it. The riddle they solved allowed us to see our modern shell game that we aren't even invited to play. We are just invited to fork over our losses. Very good book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Not being someone who truly understands Wall Street and how it w

    Not being someone who truly understands Wall Street and how it works. this book was very informative. My initial reaction was "these guys are under such stress and do they have life outside of Wall Street". The average American is so trusting and Wall Street is not to be trusted. Lots of technical language but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Braselton. This is a great book. I spent much time deciding if I

    Braselton. This is a great book. I spent much time deciding if I anted to read it. After reading this book I realize I should have spent more time reading it then thinking about reading it. taxes. cars. Hope you enjoy it very much. Jesus Saves!! Richard Wilder

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    This reads like a good espionage story with GREED as the religio

    This reads like a good espionage story with GREED as the religion of choice by the worshipers on Wall Street.  Loved it and will not read more books by Michael Lewis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3