Customer Reviews for

Flash and Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Very good

I am a voracious reader who enjoys bestsellers, all types of literature and more. This is one of the best books I have ever read

posted by evanescenceSE on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Earlier Books were much better

her earlier books were much better than the last two and this one was better than the last two but not that great either sorry I really look forward to the bones books but not to much anymore. this was a bit on the boring side, really wanted to like it.

posted by i-READ-BEFORE-COMMENTING on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice new offering from Reichs

    Charlotte, North Carolina is hosting a major NASCAR event. When a body is found lodged in a drum of asphalt at the dump adjacent to the Charlotte Motor Speedway, Dr. Temperance Brennan is part of the team.

    While working on the case, Tempe is visited by Wayne Gamble, a pit crew member, whose sister disappeared with her boyfriend years earlier. Gamble is worried that the victim could be his sister Cindi or her boyfriend Cale Lovette. At the time of the couple's disappearance, Lovette was involved with the Patriot Posse, a right wing extremist group.

    To complicate matters further, lab reports indicate that the unidentified man in the barrel died of ricin poisoning, a deadly toxin, and an employee of the CDC has gone missing. Suddenly, the FBI is all over the case and has whisked away the body, as well as all the autopsy samples and reports. But this won't stop Tempe, who is working individually with both Charlotte Detective Erskine "Skinny" Slidell and Cotton Galimore, a disgraced former police officer who is now head of security for the Speedway. She's determined to solve both the disappearance of the young couple, as well as determine who was found in the barrel, and how or if the two cases are connected.

    Reichs' has created quite a mix for Tempe in this latest novel. She's been recruited by her ex-husband and his finance to help solve their pre-wedding spats. Currently without a love interest, Tempe finds herself attracted to one of the new people in her life. She's finally letting her hair down a little and spouting expletives, which makes her character more likable and human.

    FLASH AND BONES is a nice new offering from Kathy Reichs that not only provides the reader with a good mystery, but also covers the history of NASCAR. Lynn Kimmerle

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it, it was my first by Kathy Reichs

    I didn't know what to expect when I started reading it while on vacation. My wife had just finished it and thought that I may enjoy it because of the Nascar story. I started it on a saturday morning and finished it on monday, was pleasantly surprised at the great flow of the story. Look forward to reading more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    !!

    As always...great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Classic Reichs

    Somehow she always seems to keep it new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    I loved this book because I love all of Kathy's books and NASCAR

    I loved this book because I love all of Kathy's books and NASCAR. My one gripe is - where is Ryan? Please let him come clean on his love life, like was he sleeping with Tempe and his ex at the same time? And did he sleep with Harry? Also is he really the sex pup that he appears to be? I have read every one of these books and I would love to find those answers. Also she and Pete should divorice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tempe's At It Again

    A true Temperance Brennan adventure set in the world of auto racing. I don't know if it's just me, but it seems Kathy Reich's writing skills are improving over time, while still being somewhat formulaic. Her details, descriptions, use of words make this book a slight cut above the rest without the overuse of terms such as "loblolly pines" to set the scene. A new, possible romantic interest character, is introduced in this book, albeit a bit awkwardly, but I look forward to seeing him again in future stories. Ryan is beginning to fray on my nerves. And ex-Pete is a dolt here, perhaps foretelling of his ultimate dismissal as a backup character. All in all, a good read (or listen, as the case may be), comfortingly familiar to those who enjoy Tempe in the same story, different place thing, like an old friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Kathy Reichs does not disappoint!

    True to her style, Reichs has penned another Temperance Brennan thriller. Full excitement and the coveted plot twist, Reichs once again delivers an entertaining and hair-raising read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good story and better then some in the past

    This is an author that I count the days until her next book for. I love the writing, the mystery and the suspense, even with all the professional jargon. The murders are explained after finding the bodies, letting the bones do the talking. It's amazing that our bones can tell so much about us. I learn something new with each book and the personal relationships make the reading all the more enjoyable.

    I love the TV series 'Bones' which is based on her books, yet hardly anything like the characters in the books. This is a series for everyone to read and enjoy. I missed Ryan a bit in this book, he was there but not for much time. In Spider Bones he played a much larger part. If you like police procedurals and mysteries you will love this author. Great writing, good flow and a mystery to keep you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    If you like Kate Scarpetta but think she is a bit too dark, then this series is right for you. A bit more humorous, written by a Real forensic Anthropologist ME, the TV series "Bones" is bases upon them. This latest was good, but not her best.

    Without the dynamic of her usual love interest, Ryan, and since Tempe isn't travelling between North Carolina and Canada, this book lacks the usual dynamics that contribute to most of the installments. She really needs a strong male character to rescue her or else perhaps the subplot was a bit too predictable....Do read it! I couldn't put it down. I just miss the spice the characters from North of the border add.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Another Reichs great...

    Very good overall but...missed the Canadian hunk! Need more of Tempe's
    personal side....sister, daughter, etc. Not any more Summer...a waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoyable

    As a follower of Kathy Reichs, I pre-ordered this book on my nook and finished in the same day it came out. I enjoyed the story line, the exploration of differing ideologies, and the forensics (although much less than I expected), and as always Temperance. This book was almost a little too fast paced and not in the on the edge of my seat kind of way but a more easy read though this, not enough twists and the conclusion was just there, not really a huge punch. Overall, a good read with an interesting setting. What I did really enjoy was the interview with the author at the end. It gave the book a deeper meaning, better expression, and I felt it added something more to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3