Customer Reviews for

Flash and Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Very good

I am a voracious reader who enjoys bestsellers, all types of literature and more. This is one of the best books I have ever read

posted by evanescenceSE on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Earlier Books were much better

her earlier books were much better than the last two and this one was better than the last two but not that great either sorry I really look forward to the bones books but not to much anymore. this was a bit on the boring side, really wanted to like it.

posted by i-READ-BEFORE-COMMENTING on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    I am a voracious reader who enjoys bestsellers, all types of literature and more. This is one of the best books I have ever read

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book-couldn't stop reading it!!!!

    I am a huge fan of Kathy Reichs' Temperance Brennan series and look forward to each new book. This book does not disappoint. Like Ms. Reichs herself, Temperance is a forensic pathologist who works both in NC and in Quebec. This book stays in NC and centers on a body found near a NASCAR racetrack. The story builds on this initial premise and gets more and more intense as it goes on. Temperance finds herself in the middle of feuding cops, the FBI, and her fellow lab staff.



    One of the things I enjoy about this series is all of the information that is woven into the plot. In addition to forensic pathology information, this book has a lot of the NASCAR history written into it. Information on the beginnings of NASCAR, history of the drivers, and even a little on how the present day race world functions.



    The side story of her ex-husband's fiancé Summer needing Temperance's help in planning her wedding adds a touch of humor to the story. It also gives Temperance some great lines full of sarcasm that go over the beleaguered bride's head.



    One of the best parts of this book is the way Ms. Reichs makes her characters so believable whether it's a disgraced former cop or a cranky, humorless coworker. Even the two missing people who we never meet become real to the reader. The ending is not telegraphed earlier in the book and is absolutely believable.



    My only gripe-not enough Ryan, Longtime readers will know what I mean. I can't wait for the next book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a strong Brennan mystery as Kathy Reichs blends trademark forensics with racing in a fast-paced thriller

    The Charlotte Motor Speedway hosts a major NASCAR event, but a corpse found in a barrel of asphalt interrupts Race Week festivities. Mecklenburg County Medical Examiner forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan is assigned to make a faster than the speed of light identification of the victim so the remains can be expeditiously removed from the race.

    In 1998 Wayne Gamble's older sister Cindi and her boyfriend Cale Lovette disappeared. She dreamed of becoming a racing car driver while belonged to the Patriot Posse right wing extremists. Wayne believes the victim in the barrel is his sibling. As Brennan works the cold case, the FBI claims jurisdiction, which has Temperance stunned as the Feds had the case a dozen years ago and dropped it abruptly. Meanwhile Charlotte-Mecklenburg PD officer Erskine "Skinny" Slidell and Charlotte Motor Speedway security chief also fog up Brennan's inquiry.

    This is a strong Brennan mystery as Kathy Reichs blends trademark forensics with racing in a fast-paced thriller. Besides law enforcement, CDC is also involved leaving the heroine to wonder if she is dealing with a massive cover-up. Readers will enjoy the latest Brennan tale as she bangs heads with law enforcement while performing what she believes is the proper duty of a county ME.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Fiekit

    *pushew his sister to the next result*lets goplay in the nursery

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Doesn't disappoint

    I have been hooked since her very first book and this one is no different. Good story that kept me guessing until the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful trip through the Morgue!

    Dr. Temperance Brennan is at it again...this time inside NASCAR. We are most comfortable in our hometowns. But Dr. Brennan is about to find out more than she ever wanted to know about the world of NASCAR, private militia, personal grudges and old cases. In the style that I so love, we are lead through a maze of facts, bodies, strange poisons, government agencies and strange circumstances. All from the comfort of her hometown!
    I love both the "Book Dr. Brennan" and the "TV Dr. Brennan" but each are very different. The current TV show Bones, is based on this series of books by Kathy Reichs. However, if you are a fan of the show, be prepared for a very different Temperance Brennan. Both are complex and intriguing, but this is not the same character! This was another wonderful glimpse into the life of a medical forensic anthropologist that keeps you reading until the very last page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Vj

    Uo
    Diz rsuvnwv ueungh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    must read

    love how Kathy Reichs keeps the reader coming back for more. I've got 16 of the series and can hardly wait till I get the rest of them on my NOOK. I tend to stay up too late reading and then it is hard to get up in the morning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Intelligent and entertaining

    Though not "into" Nascar or the like, I found this book as hard to put down as all of Reichs' books. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Everything I have come to expect from a Kathy Reichs novel

    Everything I have come to expect from a Kathy Reichs novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I know this book will be awesome

    I have not had the opportunity to read this yet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Tigerflame

    Walks in heavy with kits. "Hello? Anyone here?" She lowers her head and walks in and sit down.... -Tigerflame

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    To Amberflight

    Can i be Heatherkit?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Amberlight to Eaglekit

    Lets go to the nursery(next result). Your brother Firekit & sister Heatherkit are playing there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Shimmerflare

    *a tom with a blue-green shimmering pelt and fully black eyes pads in* May I join as a med cat?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Kathy Reichs delivers a page turner again!

    I did not want to put this book down. It held my interest and kept me guessing. When you think you have it figured out, here comes another twist. WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Kathy Reichs has never disappointed me with any of her books.


    Kathy Reichs has never disappointed me with any of her books. Since I am a race fan this is one of my favorites. She puts you right there with Tempe smelling the oil and feeling the fear and excitment. Dr Riechs keeps you captivated to her stories, which makes it hard to put the book down. I hope she keeps them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Weiss

    Uy
    N

    Xc
    Manuelloves coner








    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Loved it! Can't wait for the next book!

    It was a fun quick read. I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Another great book in the series!

    Great mystery with good plot twists and interesting new characters. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5