Customer Reviews for

Flashback (Anna Pigeon Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Least fave

    I have read all of the Anna Pigeon novels - twice. This is my least favorite. It has all of the elements I love about Ms. Barr's novels: beautiful descriptions, action, mystery. It still manages to drag along. I was bored and impatient both times I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a fascinating twist to a murder mystery of today while examining some of the mystery of Lincoln's assassination.

    Very intriguing as you travel back to Lincoln's assassination plotters and the current NPS investigation of intrigue. Loved both tales and couldn't wait to get back to one when reading the other. I really enjoyed this novel, as I enjoy both period and current adventure thrillers(especially with these characters, highlighted by Anna Pigeon). Hard to put down and certainly one of a kind in this Nevada Barr series. Strongly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    i enjoyed

    I like this book very much. Your reading two mysteries in one both combined in the ending. In several places there is strong language used, a few deaths but not described in gory detail. It does allude to a rape but it only says, 'he defiled her.' Thankfully there are no sex scenes. All in all I believe most mystery readers will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Nevada Barr makes history come to life in Flashback, a double murder-mystery love story jaunt through history and our national parks.

    After reading this great book, which in a way is two books in one, I declare myself a fan of Nevada Barr. Never have I encountered a novel which so artfully develops characters and mystery both in the present and in the past. The reader is drawn into three love affairs; first with the intrepid hero Anna, then with her dear aunt Raffia and the foolish Tilly, and finally with Jefferson Cay and the Dry Tortugas. Being unable to actually visit the first two, I intend to visit the third at the first opportunity. And, I plan to acquire every Nevada Barr book I can. I am going to place her on a very short list with Earnest Hemingway, Tom Clancy, WEB Griffin, and James Michener. Yes, she is undoubtedly one of my favorite authors. 'Flashback' is a must-red. Like Hemingway, I sense there is a little of Nevada Barr in her character. This is OK with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Adventure in the Keys

    I have read several of the books in the Anna Pigeon series, and this one was not one of my favorites. There were two seperate mysteries, and the one with Anna lacked depth. The historical storyline was okay, bit repetitive in parts, but okay. Describing the fort was hard, just could not get a clear picture of the area despite a map. Was hoping that a story in the Keys of Florida would be more descriptive, the diving, the beaches, the reefs and cool fish ... I like this series, have enjoyed several of the books, this one just did not do it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Keep Trying, Nevada!

    This was like reading 2 books simultaneously. Both stories would have been great alone, but writing every other chapter about the same story made for difficult reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Nevada's 'Dry' wit

    I have read all of the Nevada Barr Anna Pigeon books and must say that this ranks as one of her best. I felt that the last couple of books were rather strained, but here she shows her 'best stuff'. A couple of unique plot twists aide the storyline quite nicely. Her details of the various national parks that come out in her books make for good nature lessons as well as good story settings. I hope that there will be many, many more 'Pigeons' to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    SPELLBINDING LISTENING

    Versatile voice performer Joyce Bean gives eloquent and exciting reading to the latest from New York Times best selling author Nevada Barr. "Flashback" is the eleventh in Barr's highly popular mystery series featuring Park Ranger Anna Pigeon. With a marriage proposal from Sheriff Paul Davidson still ringing in her ears Anna escapes by signing on as a temporary supervisory ranger on Garden Key in Dry Tortugas National Park. This is the site of Fort Jefferson, a Union prison during the Civil War. Anna's predecessor fell victim to some mind altering experiences in this area and was quickly dispatched to a safe haven. Anna finds equally challenging threats as her life is repeatedly jeopardized. Barr skillfully weaves two stories - the contemporary predicament of Anna and that of a supposed Lincoln assassination plot. Spellbinding listening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Two strong intertwining tales

    Forty eight hours after receiving a proposal from Sheriff Paul Davidson in Natchez, Mississippi, Anna accepts a temporary posting as a temporary Supervisory Ranger in the National Parks Service. Her assignment is for eight to twelve weeks in the Dry Tortugas National Park on Gardenn Key, as far south as one can go and still remain in the United States. On the surface, the place seems like paradise but there is an evil undercurrent running beneath the surface that Anna taps into. Anna¿s predecessor has gone insane and is currently undergoing treatment. His girlfriend Theresa mysteriously vanishes but what really arouses Anna¿s suspicion is the mysterious boat that explodes, killing two people with one of the victims wearing a smuggler¿s tattoo. Anna believes somebody is putting a drug in her bottled water. When she finally figures out what is going on, Anna has to act fast to prevent a massacre from occurring. Nevada Barr intertwines the story of Anna¿s ancestors who lived on Tortugas right after the Civil War with what is happening to the heroine in the present day. Both stories are fascinating and keeps the reader¿s attention until the last page is turned. Anna has been in some very dangerous situations but this is her best adventure to date. It just doesn¿t get any better than FLASHBACK. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2