BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

FlashForward

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flash Forward

In the very near future of 2009, two physicists working on a complicated experiment accidentally thrust the collective consciousness of the entire world ahead twenty-one years. Although the "flash forward," as it's later named, lasts only minutes, the aftermath is catas...
In the very near future of 2009, two physicists working on a complicated experiment accidentally thrust the collective consciousness of the entire world ahead twenty-one years. Although the "flash forward," as it's later named, lasts only minutes, the aftermath is catastrophic. Not only are millions of people killed in accidents caused by their sudden and brief departure from the present (i.e. plane and car crashes, falls down stairs, etc.), but those who survived find themselves emotionally rocked by their respective (and sometimes shared) glimpses of the future. The two scientists are left to piece together what happened, while also trying to figure out whether or not the future they all saw was fixed or just one of many possible outcomes. This sci-fi/thriller/murder mystery plays out like an extended episode of The Outer Limits. Imagine if a super-conductor being operated at the CERN laboratory in Geneva actually causes the entire human race to experience two minuttes of their consciousness being transported 21 years into the future. A neat idea that, in lesser hands, would have been given pulp treatment. Sawyer deftly shows not only the brilliance of these visions but also the tragic results of all human activity coming to a halt for 2 minutes (countless tradgedies and disasters worldwide). Also, not all governments and individuals are thrilled about the glimpse into the future and what it reveals to them. Throw into the mix the fact that one of the CERN Physicists has no vision because he must not exist 21 years in the future - a fact proven by the hundreds of individuals who have visions that include the revalation that he was murdered a few days prior to the "flash forward". Fantastic read.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but the TV show is better

I picked up this book because I like the TV show so much that I wanted to learn more. There are major differences between the two, mainly that the flashforward in the book is 20 years in the future, while the flashforward in the TV show is only 6 months. I think 6 month...
I picked up this book because I like the TV show so much that I wanted to learn more. There are major differences between the two, mainly that the flashforward in the book is 20 years in the future, while the flashforward in the TV show is only 6 months. I think 6 months makes the story more compelling, and has a more immediate effect on the characters and the choices they start making.

While the book centered on scientists and explained the scientific cause of the flashforward, I prefer the FBI agents on the show not knowing the cause. I have to admit that all of the scientific explanations bogged the story down and I skimmed over those pages.

Gave this a 3 out of 5 rating as it's a great premise and I enjoyed it, but it was a little on the dry side and I could have done without all of the science. Not a must read, but just okay.

posted by alexia561 on November 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Flash Forward

    In the very near future of 2009, two physicists working on a complicated experiment accidentally thrust the collective consciousness of the entire world ahead twenty-one years. Although the "flash forward," as it's later named, lasts only minutes, the aftermath is catastrophic. Not only are millions of people killed in accidents caused by their sudden and brief departure from the present (i.e. plane and car crashes, falls down stairs, etc.), but those who survived find themselves emotionally rocked by their respective (and sometimes shared) glimpses of the future. The two scientists are left to piece together what happened, while also trying to figure out whether or not the future they all saw was fixed or just one of many possible outcomes. This sci-fi/thriller/murder mystery plays out like an extended episode of The Outer Limits. Imagine if a super-conductor being operated at the CERN laboratory in Geneva actually causes the entire human race to experience two minuttes of their consciousness being transported 21 years into the future. A neat idea that, in lesser hands, would have been given pulp treatment. Sawyer deftly shows not only the brilliance of these visions but also the tragic results of all human activity coming to a halt for 2 minutes (countless tradgedies and disasters worldwide). Also, not all governments and individuals are thrilled about the glimpse into the future and what it reveals to them. Throw into the mix the fact that one of the CERN Physicists has no vision because he must not exist 21 years in the future - a fact proven by the hundreds of individuals who have visions that include the revalation that he was murdered a few days prior to the "flash forward". Fantastic read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FLASH-REVIEW

    That's I felt like I was reading at certain parts of this book. But putting that aside, it did make for a very interesting novel. I was a little annoyed when this (French Canadian) writer took pot shots at Americans; making us look like the root of all evil or a bunch of bafoons, but still, I managed to get over that also. Like any other "time travel" book, this novel seemed to say that what happened during the "flash forward" was all do to the knowledge everyone had that resulted from the flashforward which people remembered in the future when it actually took place 21 years earlier .....confused yet? You won't be once you read this book. A fine piece of writing setting aside all the quirks I mentioned previously in this review. The ending was kind of disappointing but still an enjoyable book for any Sci-fi fan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FlashForward - Time Travel Classic

    If you love a good time travel story, this book should be at the top of your list. If murder-mystery is more you thing, this book has that too. Robert Sawyer, so as not to leave any one out, has written a great hard science story too.

    The way Sawyer approaches time travel in this story is certainly unique and really makes you think about life. What would you do with a glimpse at your future? What would you do if your dreams were not realized? Give up?

    Sawyer also explores the idea of time being fixed, what is going to happen is immutable, and the idea that time is changeable, that we have an infinite number of futures dependent on the choices we make now for tomorrows outcomes. He masterfully explores both of this theories without ever clearly forcing either upon you, even by the end of the story you are still left to choose which theory you agree with most.

    This story is well researched and based in current science theory.

    I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Quantum concepts mind boggling!

    The interpretations of the applications of quantum physics in the story line is the greatest draw. A basic background in quantum oddities may help. Even without that, the premise of seeing a piece of one's future makes for a thought provoking read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging cautionary science fiction thriller

    In 2009 some of the world's leading research physicists gather at the CERN research facility to conduct an experiment using the Hardon Collider to "capture" the Higgs Boson subatomic particle. The lead scientists Lloyd Simcoe and Theo Procopides anticipate success and a subsequent Nobel Prize. However something occurs around the globe at the moment the atom smashing experiment begins. Every human on earth who survives sees a two minute visionary clip of themselves in 2030.

    However, millions died when the collective sub-consciousness led to all types of accidents and disasters during the 120 seconds. Simcoe is stunned more so with what he saw rather than the deadly fiasco the experiment caused. He is engaged to marry one woman, but saw his wife of the future was another female. Theo had no vision so he assumes he will be dead before 2030; he believes he will be a murder victim. They try to replicate their experiment, but fail until they realize timing is everything as they go for a third try when a neutrino shower occurs as both want more information about the future regardless of cost.

    This is an engaging cautionary science fiction thriller that uses the Frankenstein concept of scientists having no ethical boundaries experimenting, even encouraged by the second and third times they replicated the experiment. The story line is fast-paced and exciting, but chooses the thriller aspects over the emotional elements beyond a personal need to know. The two scientists know their experiment killed more people in two minutes than some of the monsters of history did during brutal reigns yet they don't seem to care on a personal level. Still this is an exhilarating thriller as the world sees a flash forward moment and each reacts accordingly to what they prefer to see.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    2GA2

    Not as long as the first one, but one question, how old are you?! You write as good as a 30 year old author whose have been writing for years- 2GA2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Sierra

    AWESOME GURL!!! Howbout u call it The City Of Roon or something like that :3~Sierra

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Mask

    Yaaaaay awesome again. Also for the title, you could just put the name of the city. [~•~]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    The Secret of Castle Hill

    Chapter Two ~

    "Janred?" I whispered, looking around the deserted room. The window was open and I dashed over to it. "Janred?!" I called, knowing he probally wouldn't answer.
    He did. "Alora!" My brother said angrily, stamping his foot. His blue eyes burned as he looked up.
    "Janred, you can't go." I said stiffly, looking out the window to see him in the bushes.
    "Who says I can't?" He muttered. Janred shoved his way out of the bushes, heading for the road.
    I leaped out of the window, following.
    "Janred - "
    "What?!" He snarled, whipping around.
    "This isn't you." I flashed.
    Janred sighed. "I know it's not, but... I have to go."
    "Why?! Why do you have to leave?!"
    "You wouldn't understand."
    "Yes I would!"
    "Alora..."
    "Janred, I don't know why you would just get up and leave. And for the army of all places! Don't you remember what happened to Dad?!"
    "That's why I have to go."
    He paused, shuffling his feet. His light brown hair looked almost gold in the bright sunlight.
    "I need revenge." He said, his voice cold. His blue eyes burned with a fearice light, and I took a step back.
    "Revenge?" I whispered.
    "Yes." Janred muttered. "And I'm going to find my revenge."
    "Dad wouldn't want this."
    "Dad's not here! And it's all Jagsly's fault!" Janred snapped angrily.
    "We don't know how Dad died. It could have been an accident for all we know. They just found his body - ."
    "It's Jagsly's fault." My brother interrupted. "He started this war. If he hadn't, Dad wouldn't have been there. He'd still be here if it wern't for Jagsly."
    He paused again. "I'm going, and nobody can stop me."
    Janred turned around and headed for the road again.
    "Janred..." I whispered.
    He stopped.
    "Be careful."
    Nothing.
    "Janred?"
    Silence.
    He turned and walked away, heading down old dusty Jaybird Ave, towards the town.
    Tears filled my eyes and I turned away.
    # # #
    I heard a soft knock on the door. Wiping the tears from my eyes, I got to my feet and reached for the doornob.
    'Please don't let it be Aunt Brolli.' I thought anxiously as I opened the door.
    Standing in the doorway was a tall boy with dark brown hair, dark eyes, and a puzzled expression.
    "Janred left, didn't he?" Logas asked.
    I nodded, marveling at how he had once again seemingly read my thoughts. I'm not sure if Logas really can read minds, but it sure seems like it.
    I stepped aside, letting him come in, and shut the door behind him. The house seemed extremely quiet now, and the only thing I could hear were my own footsteps.
    I halted, and the house fell deadly silent. Logas stopped beside me and I wondered if he was reading my thoughts again.
    "I just can't belive Janred's gone." I whispered softly, staring at my feet.
    'I'm going, and nobody can stop me.' His last words rang in my ears.
    'What will Aunt Brolli say?' I thought.
    'What would Dad say?'
    I felt my eyes tear up again and I quickly wiped them away. I can't let Logas see me crying.
    Then I heard a loud rap on the door and I whipped around. "What the..." I breathed, starting back towards the door. I turned around to see if Logas was following.
    But he had vanished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fine yarn

    Typical Robert Sawyer - engrossing and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    The name of the book describes the content EXACTLY and from the very start!

    I like the way the way the book starts at the begining of the "flashfordward's". Watching the series on television gets confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    Good Story

    When I heard they were making a TV series about the book, I picked it up. It was a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    Great book

    This book is one of the best books i have read and it is just plain out goo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2