Customer Reviews for

Flat Belly Diet!

Average Rating 3
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Flat and Healthy Belly

Ask your doctor about belly fat. You will learn about a special kind of fat that resides deep within your torso. This so called `visceral fat' is the kind of fat that is the most difficult to get rid of. Not only that -- too much of visceral fat is also dangerous to you...
Ask your doctor about belly fat. You will learn about a special kind of fat that resides deep within your torso. This so called `visceral fat' is the kind of fat that is the most difficult to get rid of. Not only that -- too much of visceral fat is also dangerous to your health.

The co-author of the book, Cynthia Sass, has developed a "belly-shrinking eating plan that is grounded in the latest and most credible science and offers the most filling, satisfying, and delicious meals that you will ever have the pleasure of eating." However Liz Vacareillo's vision went beyond food. In her book she proposes mental tips, tricks and strategies that are designed to inspire, motivate, and "set you up for a better relationship with food for the rest of your life!"

The Flat Belly Diet Program takes 32 days and it is divided into two parts - the Four-Day Anti-Bloat Jumpstart, and the Four-Week Eating Plan. These 32 days is just enough time for one to make appropriate dietary changes leading to a new lifestyle. After you learn the program and observe desired changes in your body, Liz gives you the tools to keep your belly flat for the rest of your life.

The program is not only about getting your body to fit your desired dress size, but it is also (and especially so) about feeling confident, powerful and proud of you body. Essentially Liz offers to her readers to adapt a new way of living. And this is what appeals most to me. The new lifestyle that results not only in a flat belly, but that also has a detoxifying effect and lets you live healthier and longer. This is a good continuation of the idea so well presented in "Can We Live 150 Years" --Your Body Maintenance Handbook" with a few chapters specifically devoted to dieting programs and body cleansing. To properly understand how your body works and to get the most of the program I suggest reading "Your Body Maintenance Handbook" BEFORE "Flat Belly Diet."

posted by RobertaS07 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

You may buy the book but not their support

Oprah and Rachel Ray had the authors and some test cases on their shows and I thought it made sense. I purchased their book on-line and was disappointed to discover it did not include anything regarding being a vegetarian. I went online, wrote to their site, was conta...
Oprah and Rachel Ray had the authors and some test cases on their shows and I thought it made sense. I purchased their book on-line and was disappointed to discover it did not include anything regarding being a vegetarian. I went online, wrote to their site, was contacted immediately and told someone would get back to me. I'm still waiting. I was so excited to get started but here I am - still waiting.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Alot like other diet books

    When I got through the first few chapters, it started to remind me of all the other diet books. Some of the ingredients for the belly fat loss eating plan are hard to find and expensive! If no one else in the house is doing it, you have lots of leftovers (also if noone in the house likes Avacados, etc...)!! I will get back to you after I have tried the full program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    Calling all overweight people....

    This is actually a good lifestyle change. I wouldn't even call it a diet book because it's not a quick fix, but rather a lifestyle change. The book is easy to follow and gives great ideas. Following this plan I wasn't hungry at all. I like that the meals were easy and simple, and plus I love nuts so I was in heaven;) I read the reviews prior to buying the book and for those who felt it was too much work, ummm.... losing weight is work and if you don't want to put any effort into changing your body and becoming healthy, then maybe you are not ready to lose weight. So if your ready to lose weight the right way then grab the book. Oh by the way the weight will not come off over night, but then again who packs on a lot of pounds overnight anyhow. Slow and steady is the best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    A Gift!

    I bought this as a gift for my mom and she absolutely loves this book and hasn't been able to put it down. This made for a good gift!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lapband and this style works great

    Having no meal plan to follow after one year from Lapband procedure , this has really kick start my weight loss again . I had lost 100 pounds from lapband surgey and for the last 7 months have plataeau . this has given the jump start I needed. within 3 weeks I lost 8 inches and 10 pounds.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my fav life style change book, aka diet book.

    My daughter and I both decided we wanted to try out this book with the motivating title. I really NEED a flat belly, my daughter pretty much has one, but she has just a little pooch. We both started this program with different goals in mind. I am looking to lose 30 pounds; she was looking to lose 10. We began the 4 day anti-bloat program, and I will say that it was pretty doable, but 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds on cereal is a lot of seeds! We made it through the 4 days and I totally lost interest. For the life of me I could not get motivated to pick from the menus they had listed. My daughter continued with the program for another 4 weeks. She said she liked how she felt, even though neither one of us had lost any weight. Even at the end of the 4 day anti-bloat we had not lost any weight or inches. By the end of 4 weeks, "L" had only lost 3 pounds and a total of 2", and believe me, she followed this plan religiously! I on the other hand, could not get into it. The one thing we took away from it was adding nuts to breakfast items, and the sassy water. We still drink that as we found it very refreshing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Healthy food never tasted so Gooooooodddd!

    I loved it! I recommend this diet to anyone who is ready and willing to make a change in their lives. It has definately helped like no other diet has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    This is an easy, healthy diet that works!

    This diet book allows you to learn how to eat healthy as a lifestyle change, not just a quick-fix diet. The diet allows you to satisfy your cravings (chocolate, etc) and contains recipes and daily meal plans that are flexible and easy to follow. Most recipes can be made in 5 or 10 minutes. The meals are filling and taste fantastic. This is a great guide for what products to buy and what to look for on the labels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Same as all the other diet books!

    Just another diet book in my eyes. Drink this water, eat these foods, etc. Nothing spectacular and no real recipes that were of use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Flat Belly Diet

    This is a great diet, and the book provides exact steps to follow it. The book also has a space for journaling, a super index, motivational segments, and lots more. For anyone who wants to try this diet, I would sincerely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Flat Belly Diet really works!!

    The recipes are great!! This eating plan is easy to follow and the weight comes off!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'll save you some time and money:

    Eat more mono-unsaturated fatty acids. That's the whole book. If you've done a lot of reading on diet, this book is nothing new. So for me, it was a disappointing recap. But it is a nicely laid-out compact version of a diet that truly is healthy. I just think they stretched the book into more than its worth. I built it up and was so excited to get it, it just didn't measure up. But all the information is good and would be a good primer for someone who wants to know the difference between good and bad fats. I just wish I hadn't spent the money. Prevention is becoming more and more like that to me; but that could just be me. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Flat Belly Informative

    Learn how your body digest and how your body uses the foods depending on what you eat and how you eat.Very educational and useful information on how to adjust your eating habits and food choices.helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    First Few days clear -but I am confused

    I purchased this book and found the 4 day jump start to be pretty easy follow although I thought it was quiet funny that it told you to buy 7 ounces of dried plums - but you only eat two (and why not call them prunes) Also it told you to buy 15 oz of raisins and you eat 2 tablespoons which is about a small snack size box.<BR/><BR/>I lost 5 pounds the first 4 days and am just starting the 28 day plan. I find am confused can you use the restricted items in the 28 day plan. Can I have a cup of coffee?<BR/><BR/>Also do I need to keep drinking the "sassy water?"<BR/><BR/>I find that the meals are big but I would rather have a smaller meal and a couple of extra snacks.<BR/><BR/>I am going to do my best to keep it up for 28 days. I picked this because I am traveling a lot and I can use some of the "prepared" meals at the hotel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    Educational

    This was a great book to explain what happens to different foods you eat during the bodily process.. I enjoyed learning about how foods are digested..etc.. <BR/>very good book to read for informing yourself..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Contents could of been summarized in three or less pages...not worth the price.

    I should have returned the book within the allowable time frame for a refund!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Old stuff

    beginners who need kick start

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8