Customer Reviews for

Flat Belly Diet! Cookbook

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good as a resource

Hi. As a fitness professional, I have picked up ALOT of diet and exercise books over the past years. So, when I saw this one, it intrigued me. I have to say that I do like the recipes---they are fulfilling, easy to follow, and healthier than their fattier, typically ...
Hi. As a fitness professional, I have picked up ALOT of diet and exercise books over the past years. So, when I saw this one, it intrigued me. I have to say that I do like the recipes---they are fulfilling, easy to follow, and healthier than their fattier, typically made counterparts. So, I enjoyed this as a cookbook, and will recommend it as such to my clients...with a stipulation--- use it as a life-altering resource, not as a quick-fix tool. People need to look at fitness as a lifetime choice, not a "how much weight can I lose in a the shortest amount of time". THAT is how roller-coaster diet and fitness programs take shape. That is why I now give out free copies of "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" to ALL of my new clients. It is such an easy, yet powerful read that has helped my clients (and friends) stick to their healthy lifestyle choices, get leaner, stronger, and healthier---all by readjusting their mindsets.

posted by FitnessAuthor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

eh...not bad a few good recipes

I loved the Flat Belly Diet book, but the Flat Belly Cookbook not so much. The recipes are not as user friendly as the recipes in the Diet book. I don't think this was made for anyone who has to cook for a family with children. Many of the flavor combinations just seem ...
I loved the Flat Belly Diet book, but the Flat Belly Cookbook not so much. The recipes are not as user friendly as the recipes in the Diet book. I don't think this was made for anyone who has to cook for a family with children. Many of the flavor combinations just seem weird. I was looking for a cookbook that would take some of the old stand-bys and make them MUFA friendly. Most of the ingredients in this book are not something I would keep in the pantry or freezer so it seems labor intensive. The meals in this whole series also seems either extremely fast (grab and go)or they are a search for weird, expensive specialty ingredients and then starting from scratch. I was hoping for a middle ground and this is not it.

posted by bookgirl09 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good as a resource

    Hi. As a fitness professional, I have picked up ALOT of diet and exercise books over the past years. So, when I saw this one, it intrigued me. I have to say that I do like the recipes---they are fulfilling, easy to follow, and healthier than their fattier, typically made counterparts. So, I enjoyed this as a cookbook, and will recommend it as such to my clients...with a stipulation--- use it as a life-altering resource, not as a quick-fix tool. People need to look at fitness as a lifetime choice, not a "how much weight can I lose in a the shortest amount of time". THAT is how roller-coaster diet and fitness programs take shape. That is why I now give out free copies of "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" to ALL of my new clients. It is such an easy, yet powerful read that has helped my clients (and friends) stick to their healthy lifestyle choices, get leaner, stronger, and healthier---all by readjusting their mindsets.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Great Little Cookbook!

    I bought this cookbook and use it all the time. The recipes are simple and tasty. Most are easy to prepare after a day at work. This is not a gourmet cookbook by any means but a source of good, practical, quick-to-prepare everyday recipes. I don't know about the validity of the 'flat belly' claims, but this cookbook gets a lot of use in my kitchen.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    eh...not bad a few good recipes

    I loved the Flat Belly Diet book, but the Flat Belly Cookbook not so much. The recipes are not as user friendly as the recipes in the Diet book. I don't think this was made for anyone who has to cook for a family with children. Many of the flavor combinations just seem weird. I was looking for a cookbook that would take some of the old stand-bys and make them MUFA friendly. Most of the ingredients in this book are not something I would keep in the pantry or freezer so it seems labor intensive. The meals in this whole series also seems either extremely fast (grab and go)or they are a search for weird, expensive specialty ingredients and then starting from scratch. I was hoping for a middle ground and this is not it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Buy the Flat belly diet today and you will get heart disease

    I got carried away during the holidays and went to buy the Flat Belly diet and the cook book. What a waste of money! The diet book is very disorganized, reads poorly, and includes fake foods. The foreword is by Oprah's magazine doctor, Dr. David Katz, who is a chairman of the nutrition department at Yale. This could give you reaasurance, but no, he is a total idiot. I got sucked into buying one of his books 3 years ago, the Flavor Point diet and he recommends margarine. Hasn't he heard about trans fats? I did, and I' m not a doctor. Anyway, back to the Flat Belly diet, they also recommend margarine, and fake foods. Their cook book, OF of course is the same, processed foods and margarine. The recipes may be yummy for many suckers here, but they are plain dangerous. Thanks, I am returning both.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good recipes.

    I was looking for a cookbook that would allow me to eat something with some taste and I finally found it with this. The recipes are tasty and not too complicated. It's a great addition to any cookbook library, esp. if one wants to lose belly fat.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Delicious!

    My husband and children have devoured and enjoyed every recipe I've made. I've been complimented on my cooking and that always feels good. It's easy to follow, not too time consuming and overall very delicious. I can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Easy to use meal reference

    I enjoyed the first Flat Belly recipes and wanted more and this has a lot of good choices. They are not too hard to make but you do have to substitute ingredients or adjust sizes depending on the products available in your area. In substituting I try to keep in mind the ideas behind the diet explained in the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Life style changes in this book!

    I have been on this diet for 3 weeks and it is life changing and healthy if you stick with it. The recipes are delicious and filling. Eat your MUFAS as they direct you to and all of your unhealthy snacking habits start disapearing! The Sassy water that they introduce you to is very good and we keep that in our refrigerator all the time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    It's hard to believe the recipes taste as good as they look but they do

    Added this to my Flat Belly Diet book and program guide and after losing 11 lbs & 5 in in the 32 days of the diet, I'm absolutely in love with not a diet but the healthiest and best tasting eating plan ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Typos with the ebook.

    The cookbook would be great if the e-version did not have ? Marks in place of quantity needed in recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Flat Belly Diet Cookbook

    So far so good. I have lost 7 pounds in 10 days. The food is amazing. There have only been a couple of meals that I didn't like. Not to my taste. Easy to follow recipes and photos are appealing. Using the Journal really helps you stay on track. Honey Walnut Banana Pancakes...YUM!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Great book

    I really enjoy this book. It has a lot of great recipes and so many of them are so yummy. I've made 3 recipes so far and I am very pleased. I think anyone would enjoy this book as much as me. Great information too, not just recipes, on what kind of fats are good for you and whats not. Very happy with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    The BEST

    I've given this cookbook to ALL my family members & can't wait for the 2010 cookbook to come out. It was sometimes hard to find the spices, but it's worth the search! Every recipe has been delicious--even my hard-to-please husband has liked everything I've prepared from these recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Flat Belly Diet

    I haven't tried it yet, but I have looked all through the book and can't wait to try it. The recipes sound yummy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Great info

    Book gives basic information about the plan plus has some great recipies. It has been helpful on making good choices even if not using the recipies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Average to mediocre

    Not worth the money. Very disappointing. Would not recommend. It might be good for a beginner cook.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4