Customer Reviews for

Flat-Out Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Sparkling Characters and Dialogue!

Oh man, I had to fight with myself to not try to read this book too quickly. I didn't want it to end (the mark of a really good book). Julie moves into her mom's old college roommate's house with her and her family. Off the bat, Julie notices something is wrong with the...
Oh man, I had to fight with myself to not try to read this book too quickly. I didn't want it to end (the mark of a really good book). Julie moves into her mom's old college roommate's house with her and her family. Off the bat, Julie notices something is wrong with the family. They all seem to be living different lives under the same roof. There's a mystery here but Julie doesn't know if she'll figure out what's going on.

I kind of figured out what was going on pretty early in the book but the secret is so strange and interesting, I couldn't help but keep reading to figure out what was really going on and how everything was going to come together. Park does a great job of giving hints little by little. I kind of want to go back and read the book again to see if there were any hints that I missed.

I really, really liked how the dialogue was written. I thought Park did a great job capturing the different voices of all the characters. I also really liked how Park was able to incorporate using Julie, Finn and Matt's Facebook statuses to set the scene of each chapter.

This is a great book for YA lovers. I think you're in for a real treat.

Bottom line: This is a fun read with sparkling dialogue and characters that you will really fall in love with.

posted by Meg-ABookishAffair on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Predictable but Cute

Took only a short read to figure out what was to happen in this story. But it is cute and rather stupid. A pleasant enough journey, though I was waiting for it to end too early in the book. The characters are somewhat flat as is the overall love affair which is the basi...
Took only a short read to figure out what was to happen in this story. But it is cute and rather stupid. A pleasant enough journey, though I was waiting for it to end too early in the book. The characters are somewhat flat as is the overall love affair which is the basis on which the book is built. But take it for a day and that is enough.

posted by drbcabarete on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Really good

    Liked this book a lot. Good, interesting story. I did figure out the secret, but still liked it. Great storyline. (On a separate note I was a bit turned off by the author's 'lecture' at the front of the book about not using illegal file sharing sites. I personally did not appreciate this especially after paying for the book. Not everyone is accessing books illegally. There was probably a nicer way to get her point across).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    A wonderful mix of quirky and smart humor. At the center we have a freshmen headed to school left without housing and must call on a distant family friend for temporary housing. This housing becomes anything but temporary and I am not sure even after finishing if she affected the family more or if the family she stayed with affected her more - up for debate. A few twists and turns, some I predicted, some came out of nowhere, but all fit great into the story.

    The one issue that affects the entire family - I was able to predict from pretty early on. But you know what, it didn't ruin the reading for me. I actually enjoyed it because I was able to spend the book waiting for the main character to find out what I already knew and how she found out and when she would find out.

    I don't often compare books to other books and things, but each time I cracked this book open it took me back to the days of watching Gilmore Girls. Have you ever read something and known that the conversation was just bouncing back and forth, well this book's quick conversations kept me going - I loved it.

    A book worth picking up on your next trip to the bookstore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    I really liked this story, and loved getting to know the differe

    I really liked this story, and loved getting to know the different characters. The conversations between the characters in this book were so funny, and I liked the way the story flowed. I loved Matt's character, but would have loved to know what was going on in his head during the story, so I can't wait to check out Flat Out Matt and Flat Out Celeste to see the other character's points of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    I found this story to be an emotional roller-coaster both heart

    I found this story to be an emotional roller-coaster both heart warming and heart wrenching. You feel from the very start that each character has some form of dysfunction in their lives. It is an experience learning what each one is dealing with and how they deal or not. Trying to figure out all of the dysfunctional attributes of each character and then watching them begin to heal kept me engaged from the start.The banter between Matthew, Finn and Julie is clever and witty. Each character is vivid and real, with deep relationships that draw you in. I definite recommend.

    It does deal with some issues that I believe are better for older teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

         

         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    While I didn¿t FLAT-OUT LOVE this novel, I did find myself flipp

    While I didn’t FLAT-OUT LOVE this novel, I did find myself flipping pages with ease, as the characters and the setting both captured my attention. Having spent two and a half years in and around Boston, I identified with its collegiate atmosphere, the T rides (after riding up and down the escalator in Harvard Square, among other T stops), the Jamaica Plain area, the parkways, the vicious and often obnoxious drivers, the narrow streets, a Dunkin’ Donuts on every corner, and city-upon-city that defines the Boston universe. But more than that, this story had heart. And it all starts with Julie Seagle, who decides to go for it all in the name of love.

    This is a story about loss, love, forgiveness, and redemption. It’s a story about taking risks and reaping rewards. It centers around a love triangle between Julie, Finn, and Matthew, and there’s more to this trio than one might first suspect. I caught the twist before Jessica Park’s big reveal, but I focused on my cleverness rather than any lack of storytelling of the author. Because she does know how to keep the reader entertained, and it all starts with character. Celeste, being the most intriguing character in this novel, doesn’t speak in contractions, and she has a mind well beyond the comprehension of most 13-year-olds, providing a wisdom well beyond her years. And at other times, her social withdrawal and inability to cope with the real world shows how much she still needs to mature. The dichotomy proves an interesting dilemma throughout much of this novel.

    I did find myself rather amused at Matthew’s wardrobe choices, as I have quite a few graphic tees of my own, most of which have interesting, and in some cases rather charming or distracting sayings. Like the other characters, there are multiple layers, outside of his geeky exterior.

    On the surface, FLAT-OUT LOVE can be a rather lighthearted novel, should you choose to look at it that way, but there are much deeper layers here, if you are willing to challenge yourself, the way the characters ultimately challenge themselves. And I believe in many respects that it is well worth the challenge.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    loved it

    Sometimes love is right in front of u but we dont always see it. This book has romance and comedy with a different twist. A fun short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    Such a great story that made me laugh out loud but also filled me with sadness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Good read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It will keep you interested until the very last page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great read

    Far a guy that likes adventure, mystery, spy stuff this was a pleasing change. Cleverly put rogether.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This is the first time I have ever written a book review, but I

    This is the first time I have ever written a book review, but I felt it necessary to help a new author with a great book. I "Flat-out" loved this book. I found myself laughing out loud and smiling through the entire book... until I cried! I'm not one to read books that aren't best sellers, I took this as a chance and it could be one of the best books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Great book

    It was long, and had a lot of twists and turns. It was a bit predictable but i still liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    loved this book

    This was a really good book with interesting characters and an unexpected twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Good, want more like it...

    I loved this book, it was fun and quirky, breezed right through it. Need more like these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Cute story

    Totally enjoyed this. Well written and fun. Would recommend for age 14+, but I'm in my 40's and really liked it. I hope to read more of Jessica Park's stories soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Funny

    Liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really loved this one

    My Summary:

    Julie Seagle has just arrived in Boston from her Ohio home. But seeing it from the side of the road in front of a taco shop that matches the address of her off-campus housing was not really want she had in mind for college. Her mother's college roommate sends her son Matt, the MIT tech greek, to rescue her and soon she is living with the Watkin's family. No big deal, it's just a place to crash around attending classes and such but there's something off about this family. The parents are kind but strangely absent... a lot. Matt is friendly but very wrapped up in his studies. The 13-year old sister, Celeste, is beautiful, incredibly intelligent but also a lot co-dependent on a flat life sized cut out of her other brother Finn. Flat Finn goes everywhere with her making her a social outcast. The real Finn is traveling the world, making only the occasional appearance on facebook or chat. Surely this isn't normal? Why does everyone in this family accept the strange behavior of Celeste? Julie feels compelled to help somehow. She makes friends with Finn over facebook and tries to figure out the mystery. But as she digs deeper into this mystery, she finds herself falling for a very absent Finn. When the mystery unravels, Julie finds herself in the middle of a very emotional confrontation that is sure to pull her and the Watkins family apart.

    My Thoughts:

    4 stars - a great read

    I find myself needing to read contemporary YA books lately. I think it may be the stand alone ones that I'm drawn to because I have so many series going that I just need something where the conflict gets resolved in one book. It was during one of these times that I picked up Flat Out Love. I will admit that it wasn't the cover that got me to read this one. I don't care for the cover and I don't think it fits this book at all. Now if there had been a river running in front of that bench, I could have understood it. But I picked this one up because it unexpectedly landed in my email, a gift from a secret Santa. It came at just the right moment so I read it.

    This book mixed some dysfunctional family issues with a college love interest and threw in some mystery. I enjoyed trying to discover the real reason why Celeste walked around with a life sized cardboard cutout of her older brother. I found clues and I began to suspect the reason around Christmas in the story. Soon I was sure what the real reason was but Julie still hadn't figured it out. I was okay with that and really enjoyed watching her finally get it and then finally accept it.

    I must say that I loved Matt the most in this book. He is so kind to his sister. He gives up a lot to be there for her when he is surely struggling too. I loved his geeky shirts and the grief that Julie gave him over them. I loved that he was good at math and helped her get through her math class. I loved that he couldn't stay mad at Julie. I loved Matt.

    I really enjoyed watching Celeste become a teenager in this book. She lives with two college professors that speak with very adult vocabulary. It's not surprising that Celeste speaks that way too and with her social status of very strange, she is far from the average teen. But over the course of the book, she discovers what it means to be a teenager. Loved that.

    Julie and Finn are an interesting pair. I struggled with an online relationship but I was happy about the growth that Julie made throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2