Customer Reviews for

Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions

Average Rating 3.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book, available as free Epub elsewhere

Good read, don't buy it though. You can get it for free in public domain.

posted by 3419482 on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't Judge a Book by its Cover

I chose this book (foolishly) to purchase rather than other editions because of the colorful cover. This edition was exactly the same as the "Gutenberg Project's" Ascii edition. It had the same print styles, same illustrations (in ASCII ART) and font styles. This book w...
I chose this book (foolishly) to purchase rather than other editions because of the colorful cover. This edition was exactly the same as the "Gutenberg Project's" Ascii edition. It had the same print styles, same illustrations (in ASCII ART) and font styles. This book was just printed out and bound version of the free "Gutenberg Project" edition (http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/201) which is just ridiculous. I of course could be wrong but the similarities are uncanny.

posted by 1342494 on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Prepare to be amazed.

    I recommend this as required reading for any geometry student and/or anyone who has ever given the slightest thought to dimensions other than our lovely 3rd dimension.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    A Great Book for the Open Mind

    This must be the best book I have read in years! It helped me understand mathematically and logically understand other dimensions as well as our own. This book will give you a glimpse of what living in a two dimensional world might look like, and also an Idea of what the fourth dimension might have in store in a logical manner. It also has a fantastic story and description of a two-dimensional culture, government and relationships. I strongly recommend it for geometry or advanced algebra students or anybody who wants a better understanding of multiple dimensions!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2000

    Excellent Choice for Student Teachers

    This book is an excellent choice for future math teachers. I am a junior in college getting my BA in Middle Level Math Education. This is an excellent book that will help understand demensions beyond our own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Edwin A. Abbott wrote the "FLATLAND: A Romance of Many Dime

    Edwin A. Abbott wrote the "FLATLAND: A Romance of Many Dimensions" in 1884. He created a fictional world called Flatland for readers and introduced this two-dimensional world by depicting a journey of Mr. Square. Abbott used picturesque language, vigorous examples and his fabulous logical thinking to lead readers to enter the world he made. In this magic world, the Flatland is filled with Points, Lines, Triangles, Squares, Pentagons, Polygons, and Circles. The Law of Nature in Flatland is different from the three-dimension world that readers live in, and women in Flatland are compared to needles. The narrator of this book is A. Square. He is a humorous and wise square. The society he lives in always emphasizes the social hierarchy, and the mind of government is narrow. After visiting Spaceland, where is also called three-dimension world, with a sphere, Mr. Square finally unhesitatingly believed there is a real world, which is not allowed by the government. He even thinks there are maybe more dimensions in the universe, which just are still not realized by people. 
    Many people discussed why Abbott wrote the "Flatland". Maybe he wanted to satirize the ugliness of government and society at that time by using an imaginary world, or maybe he wanted to eulogize the people who tried to break through hardship for revealing deeper cognitive about the world, we do not know. However, no matter what his purpose was, the book was regarded as the first book which presented the idea of a multi-dimensional world and discussed the relationship between every dimension scientifically. It is totally worthy to be read by people because in this childlike world, people not only can enjoy traveling the creative and amusing two-dimension world with the narrator, but also can learn many things, like what the society is look like in the late 19th century. Go read it! I bet you will get more fun!    --- By May 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Great quick read

    Really fun nerdy read. The narrators formal tone is a easy to adapt to snd its written to the reader. Nice quick read and fun world to envision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Worth it!

    Typing errors are frequent but not hard to understand, and the story is definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    flatland, one of the best

    Great! if flatland was real, i would gladly live there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    An Amazing look into dimensions.

    This was easily the most entertaining math text I have read so far! I would recommend this text to anyone inrerested at all in reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anonymous

    Have read before, is AWESOME!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Excellent

    Great book, it does not age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Math, Social Commentary, and Theology

    This book, narrated by 'a square', explores what life in a two-dimensional world would be like. The first half of the book which describes Flatland's society is not only interesting sci-fi worldbuilding, but is a biting satire on Victorian society.

    In the second half, the narrator meets a three-dimensional being from Spaceworld (our world) and has visions of one-dimensional Lineworld and no-dimensional Pointworld. The recurring effort of explaining additional dimensions to a being who cannot see, feel, or even imagine them brings up interesting questions about faith/spirituality/religion. Even though this book was written over 125 years ago it remains fascinating and thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    great story, very interesting topic

    The book was much better than I was expecting. I wanted to read it because of my interest in math, thinking if nothing else it would maybe help me visualize geometric space a bit better. I wasn't expecting to enjoy the story so much. The author surprised me with great satire and wit.
    The book is quite short and engaging. Most people will finish it in one sitting. Even if victorian satire and geometric space don't sound interesting to you, for $2.00 why not give it a shot? you'll probably be surprised how much you like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Escape the moontower...

    I think this was an exceptional book for it's time. You don't often find Victorian ~ Edwardian figures taking leaps of the imagination. Oh wait, except for, Abbot, Doyle, MacDonald, Wells...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    a must read!

    Read this to get a better understanding of dimensions, and how it is possible for God to see inside OUR hearts!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    The introduction should be saved for last as suggested by the writer because it will bring perspective to the two dimensional world. As a physician, i encounter two dimensions everyday with reading of mri's, cat scans, etc. And never realized this. Overall, it was pure genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    Sentient Geometry

    I reread 'Flatland' a couple days ago and was reminded of just how amazing a book it truly is. I've had a fascination with hypercubes and the fourth dimension for years, and this book explains the basics using endearing characters, not to mention gives a wonderfully sardonic portrayal of society that still fits today. 'Sphereland' is a worthy successor to Abbott's creation. I'm currently trying to collect and read other sequels to 'Flatland,' if anyone could recommend some to me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    Polygon Storm!

    This is a really great book for kids who like to think about math. After reading it, I couldn't wait to read Sphereland! I read it when I was 4 or 5; I would recommend it for an average kid who is around 10 or 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Excellent Guide to Multi-dimensional Space

    I've recommended this book to my students of Geometry, especially those who will be teachers. This is a delightful guide to the understanding dimensions beyond our own. Must be cautioned that it does seem sexist - maybe a reflection of the time it was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Bloggs' Review Flawed

    Mr. Bloggs' writing skill does not speak well of the school he attends. I hope that he becomes sufficiently educated to appreciate Mr. Abbott's writing charm as well as Mr. Abbott's insight into the world of thought. As a retired teacher of mathematics I have had a career dealing with students who have been quite willing and able to deal with the oddities of this book. They have benefited from the encounter and I encourage everyone to read it. It provides true mental enjoyment and wonderful exercise for the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3