Customer Reviews for

Flavor of the Week

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    nice quick read =)

    cute story.... a pretty decent book... i wasnt really into the story, but i couldnt book down at the same time.. i love how there are recipes after each chapter.. i plan on makin a few of them.. lol easy read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    Easy Read for Fun

    This novel was a nice, uplifting, and quick read. It's reading level is less than challanging, though the story is captivating. With a few twists and turns throughout the book, the reader is left wondering what the ending will be exactly, yet the much-desired happily-ever-after is obtained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    WOW!

    This book was fantastic! I had talked to people that read it before, and they didn't seem to like it, but it had me captivated from the second that I cracked the cover. Cyril seemed so real and definately like the kind of guy that every girl wants. It was so realistic that it was scary and I am definately going to read it many more times and recomend it to my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great beach read.

    I read Flavor of the Week with Avolon High by Meg Cabot next to the pool. They both were great pool, beach, or any where light reads. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kind of boring

    Nothing ever really happens in this book. It's very short. I wanted the ending to be drawn out a bit more because I do love happy endings. The plot of this book was just very wimpy. It's just another "unlikely guy gets the girl" books. Don't waste your time, unless you want the recipes. Everything the guy cooks in the book has a recipe. Although the recipes took up more of the very few pages in this book leaving less room for an actual plot to unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    never forgot it

    I read this book when I was in middle school and since then it has been stuck in my mind. It is a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    This book was a really fun read!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a really fun read and at times it would make me laugh out loud and at other times i almost started crying. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a fun little romance story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    YUMM-O

    this book was really cute. and it made me hungry, so is uggest you get a giant plate of kitchen sink cookies before you start reading. or else your stomach will be runbling so loudly that you wont be able to concentrate =]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Absolutely DELICIOUS!

    Flavor of the Week has probably been the BEST book I've ever read! I loved the ending and I wish I was Rose! The food also made me faint! It sounds so delish! Tucker Shaw, NEVER stop writing! I love your book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    This book is just the GREASTEST thing ever!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book.It was great because Tucker Shaw is a chef so that was just great. Especially because I'm going to be a chef and attendence a great cuilnary school one day. It's great because this story was like really real you know. Like he actually uses stuff that teens go through. Like he has music that teens listen to and clothes like Missy Elliot and Abercrombie & Fitch. This was a great book it was very well written I highly recommed that you pick it up or read it you will laugh and cry !!!! It's also very will written!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    NOT just for teens

    Dreamy little story and great recipes. Try the kitchensink cookies and the cheese fondue. I can see the movie happening already...I'll be in the best seat crying my eyes out. Cyril is the best character. I mean it definitely made me think I could date a guy who's kind of overweight you know? Especially if he was an amazing food cause I swear I love food more than anything else anyway. Food rules and this book rules and I can't wait for the sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    I would recommend this book to a friend..........only if i had a gun put to my head.

    When i first picked up this book i thought it would be a cute, light romantic novel. i wasnt expecting what it really was, an awful attempt at story telling. Not only was the story half baked, the characters were unrealistic and unbelievable, no one could really 'identify' with any of the characters, the writing and dialogs were HORRID, the ending was rushed and inconclusive, there was barely a story at all. This book was one of the worst ive ever sat through. Note to author: Dont quit your day job Tyler...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Flavor of the Week

    first, its a really cute love story, and for all of us who never thought we'd find love, this is our book! believe me! second, it's a fast read...i tore through it! but third and most importantly, it's got all that incredible food...and recipes. Made me sooo hungry! Tucker Shaw seems like a really great writer. Get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Flavor of the Week

    A great book, in my opinion, is when you find yourself rooting for the main character. And that's exactly what happened when I read Flavor of the Week, written by Tucker Shaw. Cyril (the book's hero) is a cooking prodigy at age 16, and while the boy loves food maybe a little too much, he's such a loving, loyal friend that you can't help but fall in love with him. Unfortunately, Cyril worships the brown-haired beauty Rose, who is in love with Cyril's hot best friend, Nick. So, what happens with this love triangle? Snag a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2003

    Mediocre Book

    The book was an okay book if you want a book to lounge around with but nothing to write home about. Shaw seems like a good writer but I thought the story line was kinda slow and wasn't in very much depth. I think it might have been better if they showed more of Rose's point of view or the best friend(I can't remeber his name).I thought the idea of putting recipes that were mentioned in the book between the chapters was a new idea that I haven't seen before.Overall,Shaw should keep writing and try for a bit of a more interesting cooking teen theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    I loved this book!!!

    This book brought me right back to high school -- and all the insecurities and awkwardness that came with it. How could anyone NOT relate (at least just a little) to the main character, Cyril? I loved him, I loved the book, and I'm waiting for the sequel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2