Customer Reviews for

Flawed Dogs: The Shocking Raid on Westminster

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My son and I read this book together.

Parts of the story were very sad, and other parts were laugh-out-loud funny. Overall, it was a sweet story that we enjoyed together.

posted by FromtheZoo on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Do not read!

I wish I had not read this book. It caught my eye because I'm a dog lover and it looked funny, it also said it was funny...it was not. In fact it was depressing. I was really disappointed in the fact that dog fighting was presented in a young reader's book at all, an...
I wish I had not read this book. It caught my eye because I'm a dog lover and it looked funny, it also said it was funny...it was not. In fact it was depressing. I was really disappointed in the fact that dog fighting was presented in a young reader's book at all, and the fact that the author alomost made you feel sorry for the man responsible for it was very distateful. Do not reccomend for anyone.

posted by Truffles90 on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    My son and I read this book together.

    Parts of the story were very sad, and other parts were laugh-out-loud funny. Overall, it was a sweet story that we enjoyed together.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    I adore this book! One of my faves. Read it!

    A story of a dog who is perfect. He meets a girl named heidi and... YOU MUST READ IT!!!!!!! I cant explain it but its so touching. A bit like edward tulane by kate dicamillo ( another great book ) but instead of a china rabbit its about a dog. It will hypnotise u and u cant put it down! READ!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will give away the whole book if i try to explain but its no waste of money! A bit sad but... u know what im gonna say... read it!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    LOOOOOOOVE IT!!!

    I love this book!!! I read it for the first time in second grade and I haven't forgotten the book since. Great book for bedtime stories.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    Love This!

    I am a HUGE fan of Berkeley Breathed from way back. Love, love, love anything he does. The illustrations are amazing and the story is funny. Great buy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so endearing,I really want to say sweet but that sounds so annoying.You could trade the dogs in with anyone human and have the same exact story, though for me not the same exact feeling, seeing as how I do love dogs.....

    I'm going to have to sound like some paid advertisement, because I have to say that Flawed Dogs is inspirational and oh so warm and fuzzy.
    To hear the story on which this book is based, is the truly inspirational part. How the dogs are drawn and portrayed is the warm and fuzzy part.

    What average human being hasn't watched the big dog shows with some feeling of "HUH?"...or just plain disgust. Most us are not Pits and Jolies, hence no pedigree. So, reading that the head judge at the Westminster dog show actually was motivated to bring in a mangled mutt she found on the steps outside the show and then put the winning 1st place ribbon on him...if only as a attention grabber, THAT IS INSPIRATIONAL and entirely selfless as well!
    THe artwork is so imaginative, funny, and beautiful. If you dont like the book its only because you must be a Pitt or Jolie and lucky you!
    pt

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it!

    I'm a dog lover and I looooove this book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    I read this book to my 2 year old, and now we read it every night. He has practically memorized every word! I haven't downloaded it yet, but I know I will soon!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    Do not read!

    I wish I had not read this book. It caught my eye because I'm a dog lover and it looked funny, it also said it was funny...it was not. In fact it was depressing. I was really disappointed in the fact that dog fighting was presented in a young reader's book at all, and the fact that the author alomost made you feel sorry for the man responsible for it was very distateful. Do not reccomend for anyone.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    i reaf the other flawed dogs and im nor sure if this is a picrure book or not. can someone please tel me?

    that was he review up top

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is an amazing book I am so happy that my bff showed me this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Love it!

    Love it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Flawed Dogs

    This book is great. If you have a rescued a dog you will love this book. WoooooooooooHoooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it.

    Looooooooooooooooooooooooooooove thissssssssssssssssssssssssssssss boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooook sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuch grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeead faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaantastic. Yoooooooooooooooooiooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooou shoooooooooooooooooooooould reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeead thhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhis

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Great

    I love dogs so to me it was great to me not me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Cooooooooooool

    I've read it and it's very sad at some points.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    llllloooovvvveeee iiiiitttt

    my favorite book of all time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it! Love it!

    Did I mention that I love this book? It makes me want to run right out and adopt a rescue dachshund. Sam is a specially bred dachshund who crosses paths with a displaced young girl, Hiedi. The two form a special bond, but a second, jealous pooch in the house finds a way to frame Sam for a crime he didn't commit. Sam's life takes a dramatic change for the worse, barely surviving the pound, test labs, and dog fighting rings. Then one day Sam plots his revenge against the poodle who changed his life. With the help of other flawed dogs, they plot a "shock and awe" campaign at the grandest of all dog shows - Westminster! The graphics are top of the line Berkeley Breathed - a unique style I would recognize anywhere!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books!

    This book is one of my favorite books because it had all of the things I was looking for, adventure, creativity, happiness and a little bit of sadness to top it off. I love dogs so i really loved this book as you could probably tell. Good is in the details of this book and that is why I give this book four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    becoming a hero

    This little book tells a little story about how one person can be moved to see the beauty of even the most challenging of gifts. In the end each of us is just a flawed dog who needs to be accepted just as we are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    I don't reccomend this book

    I strongly disliked this book. I might even say hated. When I saw this book at the book store I thought that it would be really funny. It wasn't. It was actually the complete opposite. It was super sad. Just for the people reding this review to know how sad it was I'm just saying that I had to stop reading it half way in the middle because it was so sad. I'm not joking and I've read some pretty sad books in my life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5