Customer Reviews for

Flawless (Pretty Little Liars Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1719 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1274)

4 Star

(252)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

LOVE THIS BOOK.

I thought Flawless was a really good book. It refreshes your memory from the first book, Pretty Little Liars, very well. The author gives you kind of a summary of what happened n the first book before each even with each person occurs. Sometimes the book is a little har...
I thought Flawless was a really good book. It refreshes your memory from the first book, Pretty Little Liars, very well. The author gives you kind of a summary of what happened n the first book before each even with each person occurs. Sometimes the book is a little hard to follow because of all the different characters and stories each of them have. But, I think that is one of the things that make it so good. There are also a lot of unexpected events that occurred and made this book very good. It was hard to even put it down. There is also a lot of mystery in this book. Spencer, Aria, Hanna, and Emily all get strange texts, IMs, and emails from a person named A who claims to know everything about them; even their deepest and darkest secrets. Like, what really happened on the night of the Jenna Thing, what Spencer's dad really does at "work", and who Emily and Aria really like. The end is also very unexpected and interesting. Hopefully they are one step closer to finding out who A really is.


-Chelsea B.

posted by C_B on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The cover: I like it. It¿s not bad neither good. However, I do l

The cover:
I like it. It’s not bad neither good. However, I do love the font *_*. And if you didn’t know, this is Hanna Marin on the over. What’s cool, is that on the back cover you can see the real model for Hanna, it’s done in all the books.

The storyline:
Where sho...
The cover:
I like it. It’s not bad neither good. However, I do love the font *_*. And if you didn’t know, this is Hanna Marin on the over. What’s cool, is that on the back cover you can see the real model for Hanna, it’s done in all the books.

The storyline:
Where should I begin?
Let me get directly to the point after the summary.
Summary:
Flawless picks up right where Pretty Little Liars left off. In this sequel, we get to know more about The Jenna Thing, Toby and each girl’s secret.
Aria is no longer seeing Ezra, and somehow she gets caught up with Sean, Hanna’s ex-boyfriend. And her family’s situation is only getting worse.
Spencer’s attitude has completely changed. She’s now dating Wren, her sister’s ex, and she thinks everything is still fine. Until, her deepest secret is going to be out. And then things crumple down.
Emily is really messed up. She can’t make up her mind about her feelings. She becomes friends with Toby, and finds herself really liking him. Thinking by doing that she’s proving to herself that she’s not gay. Well, guess faith had other plans for her.
Finally, Hanna is dealing with her own demons. Not that this isn’t enough, her father comes back to add fuel to the already strong flames. Everything seems to be working against her.
And guess who’s ruining and manipulating them? Of course you’d guess, it’s “A”.
The girls meet and actually talk to each other, in the last chapters, in Foxy, a charity party, where they seem to not be able to find Emily and they think she’s in serious danger.
the book ends with them finally acting like friends and thinking that they’ve got everything figured out and there’s no more “A” until shim (a.k.a Him/She) sends a very threatening SMS to Emily. And that’s the end.
What I Liked/Loved:
- The storyline. It was amazing.
- The suspense and twists were unexpected.
- The way the chapters were laid and how each chapter had a very interesting title. It’s like I had to decipher the title and make possibilities of what might happen.
- The ending :).
What I disliked:
- Sometimes I would find the story fast paced and other times it’d be really slow.
- The characters were just not reliable. I know there are teenagers like them, but it was just too much.

Conclusion:
To be honest, I wish I’ve read the books before watching the show. Throughout the book I’ve been either spoiled or bored because I kind of knew what was going to happen.
Also, I read it in a very stressful and confusing time, so I didn’t enjoy it really and kept going back and reading each page because the next day I couldn’t remember what I read the day before.
So yeah, this is why the book was ruined for me.

The point? This book is really good. And I’m sure if I read it, like in nine months, I will probably give it 4 or 5 stars.

One more advice: Don’t read spoiling reviews or blurbs before you read the book, they might ruin the experience and the suspense element.

What’s next? Perfect of course!! I want more of “A”!!! :D.

posted by Ranousha on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    It Will Definetely Keep You Glued!!!!!!!!!!

    Flawless by Sara Shepard is the second book in the popular Pretty Little Liars series. It focuses on the lives of four high school juniors: Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna. These four girls' best friend from seventh grade, Alison, went missing during the summer after seventh grade. The series is about how the girls are being threatened by someone named "A" who knows secrets about them, that only Ali did. Now, Ali's body has been found, and yet at Ali's funeral service the girls are still receiving texts from A. Flawless also reflects on a huge mistake the girls made back when Ali was still alive. Ali had accidentally lit a firework that went directly into Jenna's( a girl from school) face. The firework thus blinded Jenna, and A is threatening to reveal the secret of who really blinded Jenna, even though her stepbrother, Toby, falsely takes the blame. In the book, the girls have more secrets then ever. Aria is hiding the secret that her father is chaeting on her mother; Hanna is trying her best to hide Jenna's accident and who really did it; Emily, who seemingly fell in love with a girl before, is now in love with Toby; and Spencer is seeing her sister's ex-boyfriend behind her back as well as copying her sister's essay for homework. The girls' secrets and mistakes lead to may complications and more drama than they ever expected. It's a good book, however it has some really inappropriate scenes, and I recommend checking with your parents before you read it. However, I also recommend this thrilling book to any girl who loves mystery, drama, and Pretty Little Liars, if you haven't read it yet.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    The mystery continues

    Flawless immediately begins where Pretty Little Liars ends: the afternoon of Ali¿s funeral service. Aria, Spencer, Emily and Hanna are still stunned that their former friend¿s body was found. The police have reopened the case and now consider it as homicide. Each girl admits to receiving texts and e-mails from ¿A¿ and agree to disclose if any more are received. All four have secrets that they have kept from each other and the only other person who knows is Ali. Now Ali is dead and that leaves no explanation for how ¿A¿ knows all about these secrets.<BR/><BR/>Flawless goes more in depth with each character and her back story. Spencer constantly feels inferior to her older sister, Melissa. When Melissa catches Spencer with her boyfriend, her parents shun her and barely speak to her. They are nonchalant about Ali¿s death and hardly acknowledge Spencer¿s grief. Feeling ousted by her family, Spencer resumes her relationship with Wren and soon her perfect facade begins to crack. Spencer also feels guilty about what really happened the night the Jenna thing occurred, but remains silent. Her silence may eventually put her friends in harm¿s way.<BR/><BR/>Hanna is desperately trying to hold it together. She no longer feels like the ¿confident, popular¿ Hanna, but more like the ¿insecure, overweight ¿ Hanna of years ago. Hanna continues to make poor decisions and tries to live with the consequences. Her dad is back in her life, but he comes with his soon-to-be bride and Hanna¿s nemesis, step-sister Kate.<BR/><BR/>Emily is trying to understand her feelings for the new girl, Maya. She begins to avoid Maya and soon finds herself on a date with someone she never considered dating potential. She¿s also dealing with her ex-boyfriend¿s hatred after he caught Emily kissing Maya.<BR/><BR/>Aria is trying to get over her feelings for her teacher. She finds a new love interest, but isn¿t quite sure what to expect. In the meantime, she¿s also carrying the burden of the real reason why her dad moved her family to Iceland and realized the problem hasn¿t gone away at all.<BR/><BR/>So, you think each girl has enough to deal with, right? Well, apparently ¿A¿ doesn¿t think so. ¿A¿ not only continues to send texts and e-mails, no, he/she has upped the ante and begins leaving notes on their car windshields, in their textbooks and at school. ¿A¿ is carrying out his/her threats and forces the girls to do the unspeakable to protect their secrets.<BR/><BR/>Honestly, I can¿t believe how much I like this series! It¿s very quick reading and the more I learn about each girl and their secret, the more I want to know ¿A¿s¿ identity. I¿ve narrowed it down to two people, so we¿ll see if I¿m right. ¿A¿ definitely turned up the heat at the end of Flawless, so I can¿t wait to see what happens in book 3, Perfect.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    4 Stars: Find Out Why

    I am giving "Pretty Little Liars Book 2" 4 stars out of 5 stars. The book was amazing, it was suspensful and entertaining and was capable of 5 stars. The large amounts of cursing and sexual scenes made it 4 stars. Still a great book and gives you a clue to the killer. Definetly recomended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Great Guilty Pleasure Read!

    I wouldn't say that Shepard's writing is on the same field as a Fitzgerald or Rowling (Yes, I am a Potter Fan); however, for a fun, light and quick read, the Pretty Little Liars Series is perfect. Not the same as the popular ABC Family Television Series, this book series provides readers with a twisted and suspenseful storyline completely independent of the TV series. The mysteries are exciting, and I felt like I was part of the story. As a young 20-something, I thought these books, while a bit juvenile, were a blast to read and the perfect break from the stress of my daily college life. If you're looking for great works of fiction, this is not for you; however, if you are looking for a fun beach read or an easy break from life, these books are just that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Series!

    This is by far one of the most thrilling series i have ever read, you are always guessing, when you think you have solved it, it just turns and make you think again... i would reccommend 100% if you like thrill books. it is kind of like a gossip girl meets csi,in a way...But you have to readit to find out:P
    ~Adios,,sierra.??

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Flawless

    Good book but kind a got lost on page 30 - 37 because of the jenna thing

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Reviewing all books=} Falynne

    This book just came back where the last book left off. It was sort of innapropriate at some times. Like when Emily and Maya go to the creek. Some people might find it innapropriate. Ther is also alot of languange. But yways this book i very entertaining. HOPE YOU LIKE IT:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    highly recommended. A must read book

    Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2)
    By Sara Sheppard
    Aria is having problems with Ezra her boyfriend /English teacher. Hanna is still having troubles with her weight and not being the most popular girl in school. Emily doesn’t want everyone to know the real her. Spencer still is having troubles with her sister Mellissa. All of the girls still have the one biggest problem of all to face.
    Allie had been missing for four months now. The new girl in town has found something a little odd in her back yard. She calls the police and when the get there they smell a terrible stench. They look every where and ends up leading them to a concrete block in the back yard. So they dig up the back yard to find Allie decaying body. Several weeks later they have a ceremony for Allison and her family. All of the girls after Allies’ ceremony the all receive texts from an unknown number that has signed as A. The girls now are trying to figure out who Allies killer was and who the person is who signs as A.
    These books are better and better as you read on. If you don’t really like to read, then these are probably one of the best ones for you. I don’t really read unless I have to, but these books are so addicting they almost don’t let you stop reading.
    All of the girls are one step closer to finding Alllies killer and who A is when something goes terribly wrong. Read these series if you want to find out who this killer really is. Do you know who Allies killer is and who A is?
    Hope you get a chance to read these adventurous, nail biting, and mysterious book. If you read this book you will be hooked and thrilled with the ending. Flawless is a series you will never want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I haven't read this book yet but I read the first one and it was

    I haven't read this book yet but I read the first one and it was awesome! There was a lot of suspense!(which I love)
    It kept me reading all night long! I hope this book will be as great as the first one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    My Review

    This book is about 4 girls, Aria, Emily, Hanah, and Spencer, ever since the disspearence of their best friend, Ali. They start getting text messages from mysterious A, who threatens to tell their deepest secrets. In the first book, Ali is found dead, now they must find the true A. Aria has found her dad is hooking up with Meridith, the woman he was caught kissing in his car by his daughter. Emily has more feelings for Maya then before, how is she going to tell her parents? Hannah is in deep family trouble. Ever since she crashed her exes car into a pole and fled the scene, her dad has come back. Darling Spencer was previously caught with her sisters fiance. Making out. But lately she has been seeing him again. How are these girls to cope? As old secrets return, the girls remember everything that they wish they could forget. In this thrilling sequel, adventure with these four little liars, while they keep up with their own dirty secrets. This book is good for any children who aren't scared or grossed out by romance and mystery. Religious parents might not want their daughters reading this due to the lesbian character. Overall a great book, although I find the TV show much better. Hope this helped (we all know the samples don't have anything in them, and the overview tells nothing). Love ya, Kate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Jbx

    Hfhxx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    To so many

    Ever heard of the library?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Spencer

    I am just beggining this book and i am hating Spencer's parennts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Perfect

    It is geat read it finish this series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Anyonumus

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    A-mazing

    Just as good and addicting as the first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Worth it?

    I read the first and thought it was pretty fantastic. Is it worth reading the second?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    very good

    i am usually into action books like the hunger games and alex rider, but i read these and found them very good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Who the heck is A??????????!!!!!!!!!!

    I wana know so badly! I was going to look it up on the internet but i guess i'll just have to read my way to the answers $8.99 at a time (sigh)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13