Customer Reviews for

The Fledgling Handbook 101 (House of Night Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great reading !!!!

I just completed book #6 and starting book #7. I have really enjoyed reading this series, the characters are real and you feel their passion for life. Looking forward to the next book. Even better than that "other" vampyre series.

posted by wizkidRS on July 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you want to know about vampire history

Okay, so every series has to have a guidebook, and fans were lucky enough that P.C. and Kristin included a book that was actually mentioned in the series! I'll admit I think the series is more interesting than the handbook, but I think Aphrodite and myself can agree, it...
Okay, so every series has to have a guidebook, and fans were lucky enough that P.C. and Kristin included a book that was actually mentioned in the series! I'll admit I think the series is more interesting than the handbook, but I think Aphrodite and myself can agree, it's not our cup of tea. If you want to read this extra to the series you can, but if you don't want to read it, you don't need to to understand the series.

posted by snow-raven on July 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Great reading !!!!

    I just completed book #6 and starting book #7. I have really enjoyed reading this series, the characters are real and you feel their passion for life. Looking forward to the next book. Even better than that "other" vampyre series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    E-Reader!

    PLEASE get it up in e-reader!!!! Soon would be nice!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Young adult fans of the series will appreciate the entertaining handbook

    Ye who enter the House of Night will be welcomed as a new student and given The Fledgling Handbook 101 as a guide. Veteran vampires understand how difficult the conversion from sunlight to moonlight is. The guide provides the fledgling with an introduction to vampire life as an undead and the societal Maslow Hierarchy of surviving amidst the massive humans. There are treatises on vampire biology and history as the species traces its roots to Lilith. Included is a section on Nightkind Elementology, which is intended to help the newbie survive the terrors of the dark. A bit more experienced Fledglings like Zoey provides words of encouragement as they detail some of their adjustments. Finally a who's who like Sappho and Shekinah provide words of inspiration.

    Young adult fans of the series will appreciate the entertaining handbook enhanced by Ms. Doner's colorful drawings as the newcomers are guided on what to expect as their body changes in a puberty-like twist. As Shekinah says: "Within chaos lies opportunity"; not for everybody as this entertaining reference guide is a companion piece to the saga by providing Fledglings and readers with increased opportunity of understand the world as Cast and less chaos.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    HON

    I have read all seven books and reread them and i am still in love with this series...even more so than the twilight series. It is different but so good! I can't WAiT until the next one awakened comes out!!! Till then.....

    P.S. If you are wondering about reading this series...don't...just do it!! it is worth the money....trust me!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Can't Wait

    This. Is. So. COOL!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missy's Reads & Reviews

    Ever since Marked came out, I've wanted to know what Zoey Redbird's Fledgling Handbook looks like. As a matter of fact, anytime I read a book about someone going to a special school and getting their handbooks, I always wonder what they're like. I was a nerd in school, so I liked getting these guides and reading over the rules and regulations of my new school - and I liked it even more when they included the history. So, when I got the chance to read The Fledgling Handbook 101, I was over the moon.

    Though I have my own issues with some of the characters, I am a fan of the House of Night series. P.C. Cast does not fail me with this guide. With a gorgeous cover, thick pages and beautiful drawings, you'll get lost in the history and mythology behind not only the House of Night, but vampyre folklore as well. I also think the pages where you can add your own notes about your changing vampyre self is a cute little touch and makes it feel like a true school handbook. Over everything, my absolute favorite thing to it all is the vampyre history stories that include places and historical figures that we all know and are familiar with.

    I read through the book in less than an hour, then spent more time going through and studying the pictures and footnotes. With less than two hundred pages, it's an extremely easy read. The price seems a little steep for this guide, but it is a welcome addition to anyone's HoN collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    AMAZING.

    so im only on the 5th book and about to finish it and i must say that this is the best series i have ever read. i hope she comes out wth ALOT more house of night books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have read all 9 books! As soon as I get done reading the book, I immediately go to the next. P.C and Kristen Cast are an amazing mother-daughter team. They leave you wanting more when you finish one of the books. I HIGHLY recommend these books. They'll keep you wanting more and more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    If you want to know about vampire history

    Okay, so every series has to have a guidebook, and fans were lucky enough that P.C. and Kristin included a book that was actually mentioned in the series! I'll admit I think the series is more interesting than the handbook, but I think Aphrodite and myself can agree, it's not our cup of tea. If you want to read this extra to the series you can, but if you don't want to read it, you don't need to to understand the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Awesome

    pleaseeeeeee do ebook format!!!!!!!!!! Never forget how amazing you are as a writter Kepp writting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    nook????????????/

    please make this book in nookbook form

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    Will it be available in and ebook??

    I love this series and have all of the other books on my Nook, and, I LOVE this series. Will this be available in ebook format? I really don't like buying "hardcopies" of books anymore...LOVE my Nook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Awesome book! It helps me understand the series better.

    Awesome book! It helps me understand theseries better. It makes me wish I was a fledgling. I wish I were a flegling entering this magical world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Provides interesting insight behind the series.

    Provides interesting insight behind the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    This series is quite the story. It's almost like a peek into a f

    This series is quite the story. It's almost like a peek into a fictional community. I love this series and can't wait for the next one. :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Necessary!

    I bought this book thinking that it would bring more to the story, but really the only thing that I like were the pictures.:/
    This book is defenitely not necessary to enjoy the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Edition to the Series

    I read this book in less than a day and thought it was a great edition to the series. I must say it's more about the history of vampyres instead of what happens at the house of night. A good short read for HON fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    Hardcover

    How come this isn't coming out in hardcover? The rest of my series is in hardcover and I would like this one to match. Any ideas from anyone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    cant believe its almost here

    I have read the HON series and Im crazy about these books. Its an addictive read. You never want to put the book down. It is so mystified in magic and vamps that, the books make you believe its true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4