Customer Reviews for

Flesh & Bone (Rot & Ruin Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Benny Imura thought, I'm going to die. The hundred zombies

"Benny Imura thought, I'm going to die. The hundred zombies chasing him all seemed to agree."
-----
With book three in the Benny Imura series, Maberry manages to impress me with the first two lines. Don't you love it when a book manages to do that? In Flesh &a...
"Benny Imura thought, I'm going to die. The hundred zombies chasing him all seemed to agree."
-----
With book three in the Benny Imura series, Maberry manages to impress me with the first two lines. Don't you love it when a book manages to do that? In Flesh & Bone, the reader follows Benny, Nix, Lilah and Chong as they make their way east in search of the airplane and hopefully, a better life. Along the way, they discover things much more disturbing than they could have possibly imagined.
-----
In spite of the dire circumstances, Maberry continues to mix in the humor:
-----
"Yo! Deadheads," he yelled, waving his sword to taunt them. "Nice try, but you're messing with Benny-freaking-Imura, zombie killer. Booyah!
And then the lip of the ravine buckled and collapsed under his weight, and Benny-freaking-Imura instantly plummeted into the darkness below.
-----
What makes this so funny is that I can see someone doing this, even myself. Maberry's writing is so good it is easy to visualize the scenes. He manages to write something that could be translated to the big screen very well, yet does not sacrifice any quality to the writing. That's impressive.
-----
Of course, the intelligence of the series also continues:
-----
Chong leaned close to Benny again. "This is fascinating," he said quietly. "If there are other settlements out here, then they're probably like islands or distant countries used to be in the days before the world was mapped. So isolated that their own phrasing and references- all the slang and jargon that we've used since First Night- is going to be different."
-----
I love how Maberry looks at many different aspects of the zombie apocalypse aftermath. Chong makes an intelligent observation about society in the Ruin rebuilding itself and compares it to societies in history. This type of detail seems largely ignored in your run of the mill zombie book. Not only does the author successfully incorporate it into his story, he also makes me wonder why all the other zombie books I read did not even consider this natural development.
-----
Of course one of my favorite things about Rot & Ruin and Dust & Decay was the weirdo religious storyline. If you are with me on this one, Flesh & Bone will absolutely, positively not disappoint. It only gets deliciously creepier.
-----
In addition, the author throws all kinds of new stuff out there for the reader. Suffice it to say, Maberry obviously has a head full of ideas because he still manages to throw in some really good ones in book 3.
-----
Finally, the quality of the writing remains remarkable:
-----
"Hell? [She] knew hell. It had nothing to teach her, no new tricks it could play on her."
-----
Wait until you read it in context. My heart dropped.
-----
As I mentioned in my review of Dust & Decay, I was concerned that Maberry would not be able to keep up the engrossing storyline through four books and I was probably doomed to disappointment. Well that disappointment does not arrive in book 3. On the contrary, Flesh & Bone kept me on the edge of my seat. There were times that I was so anxious I felt like running around in circles just to ease some of the excess energy. But I didn't because I can't run and read at the same time. Anyway, three down, one to go. Can Maberry keep it up? I guess we'll find out when Fire & Ash is released on August 27, 2013 (according to Goodreads).

posted by Suvorov on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

CHONG

I swear if that guy kills off a character, im gonna be so mad...

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Benny Imura thought, I'm going to die. The hundred zombies

    "Benny Imura thought, I'm going to die. The hundred zombies chasing him all seemed to agree."
    -----
    With book three in the Benny Imura series, Maberry manages to impress me with the first two lines. Don't you love it when a book manages to do that? In Flesh & Bone, the reader follows Benny, Nix, Lilah and Chong as they make their way east in search of the airplane and hopefully, a better life. Along the way, they discover things much more disturbing than they could have possibly imagined.
    -----
    In spite of the dire circumstances, Maberry continues to mix in the humor:
    -----
    "Yo! Deadheads," he yelled, waving his sword to taunt them. "Nice try, but you're messing with Benny-freaking-Imura, zombie killer. Booyah!
    And then the lip of the ravine buckled and collapsed under his weight, and Benny-freaking-Imura instantly plummeted into the darkness below.
    -----
    What makes this so funny is that I can see someone doing this, even myself. Maberry's writing is so good it is easy to visualize the scenes. He manages to write something that could be translated to the big screen very well, yet does not sacrifice any quality to the writing. That's impressive.
    -----
    Of course, the intelligence of the series also continues:
    -----
    Chong leaned close to Benny again. "This is fascinating," he said quietly. "If there are other settlements out here, then they're probably like islands or distant countries used to be in the days before the world was mapped. So isolated that their own phrasing and references- all the slang and jargon that we've used since First Night- is going to be different."
    -----
    I love how Maberry looks at many different aspects of the zombie apocalypse aftermath. Chong makes an intelligent observation about society in the Ruin rebuilding itself and compares it to societies in history. This type of detail seems largely ignored in your run of the mill zombie book. Not only does the author successfully incorporate it into his story, he also makes me wonder why all the other zombie books I read did not even consider this natural development.
    -----
    Of course one of my favorite things about Rot & Ruin and Dust & Decay was the weirdo religious storyline. If you are with me on this one, Flesh & Bone will absolutely, positively not disappoint. It only gets deliciously creepier.
    -----
    In addition, the author throws all kinds of new stuff out there for the reader. Suffice it to say, Maberry obviously has a head full of ideas because he still manages to throw in some really good ones in book 3.
    -----
    Finally, the quality of the writing remains remarkable:
    -----
    "Hell? [She] knew hell. It had nothing to teach her, no new tricks it could play on her."
    -----
    Wait until you read it in context. My heart dropped.
    -----
    As I mentioned in my review of Dust & Decay, I was concerned that Maberry would not be able to keep up the engrossing storyline through four books and I was probably doomed to disappointment. Well that disappointment does not arrive in book 3. On the contrary, Flesh & Bone kept me on the edge of my seat. There were times that I was so anxious I felt like running around in circles just to ease some of the excess energy. But I didn't because I can't run and read at the same time. Anyway, three down, one to go. Can Maberry keep it up? I guess we'll find out when Fire & Ash is released on August 27, 2013 (according to Goodreads).

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Sup

    I love the first two, almost cried when tom died. Cant wait to read this one. Im a huge fan of zombie based movies and books

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    ALREADY AWESOME ALREADY AWESOME

    ALREADY AWESOME

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    zoms

    This book is better than any zombie book I have read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    a must read

    Loved this book was really good wish there was another book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Awesomeness

    This series is totally thrilling,sad,and inspiring

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I

    I love this series and really hope that theres another one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    Grief as Maberry mentions in his foreword must be dealt with by all of the characters. For Bennie, grief pressures him to take over the role of his brother, Tom, in an effort to restore balance to his world. But Bennie is ever mindful of Tom's strong conviction that Zoms deserve sympathy and respect because they used to be people, and are now creatures roaming the Earth in a hell of their own. As Bennie and his friends continue to navigate a world repopulated with Zombies, questions regarding the cognitive abilities of Zoms linger in the air. Bennie and his friends find themselves in a desert that at first offers safety, solitude and quiet, but they quickly discover Zoms with ranges of intellectual abilities and encounter a religious group that is dangerously devoted to their own faith. This group of religious fanatics sheds light on some of the very thoughts and questions that plague most of society. Do the Scientists and pharmaceutical companies hold the cures to the diseases that plague mankind? Are they pocketing the money made from people suffering from terminal diseases? Is the government refusing to help the sick in an effort to control or reduce population? Finding the solutions to these questions forces Bennie and his friends to follow Tom's code of Warrior Smart ethics and become true Samarui.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    CHONG

    I swear if that guy kills off a character, im gonna be so mad...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    LOVE BOOK

    Awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    RAWR

    Whyy!... why does chong have to die??.. i mean EVERYTHING lilah EVER loved has died so why does chong hadta die 2222222 WHY

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    THIS IS EPIC it stinks there are is a limit of 5 stars

    This was an epic book. It leaves you hanging---like the last two. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great

    Love this series! This book moved the story along and answered some questions. Can not wait to read where the final book takes us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Series intertwineing

    Its so awesome that maberry thought to bring joe "greatest soldier ever" ledger into this series. Is this a variation of the first ledger book but they didnt stop sief al din from getting out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    This book series is so riveted. I have read the three books well

    This book series is so riveted. I have read the three books well over 4 times, and all within a matter of hours. I have even gotten my dad interested in these books. Jonathan Maberry is an exquisite writer. One of the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    This is possibly the best novel series on zombies that I've ever

    This is possibly the best novel series on zombies that I've ever read! The characters are on a level you get to know them and feel they're pain, as well as the triumphs in they're lives. This series is a home run indeed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Incredible follow-up to one of my favorite books of all time! T

    Incredible follow-up to one of my favorite books of all time! The "Rot and Ruin" series is quickly becoming a classic! I absolutely can't wait for each new chapter. This book was intense from beginning to end, full of unexpected twists and turns (and heartbreak). Thank you, Mr. Maberry, for writing with such depth and passion!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Random

    All in good time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Yet another great book in the Rot and Ruin series.
    I would recomend this to any zombie lover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Wonderful

    This triliogy is a wonderful one. I could read these over and over

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4