Customer Reviews for

Flesh Eaters

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love this!

This is a great series. This is the 3rd book.

posted by Missilou on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

How could I skip a zombie story that won the Bram Stoker Award f

How could I skip a zombie story that won the Bram Stoker Award for best novel? Perhaps this set my expectations too high, but I was sorely disappointed. That isn’t to say Flesh Eaters is bad. The problem is that it’s really just average. It’s an adept tale and a quick r...
How could I skip a zombie story that won the Bram Stoker Award for best novel? Perhaps this set my expectations too high, but I was sorely disappointed. That isn’t to say Flesh Eaters is bad. The problem is that it’s really just average. It’s an adept tale and a quick read, but never steps outside the typical disaster story stereotypes. Nothing surprised me, but again, nothing disappointed me either. It’s similar to an inoffensive pop song, which one forgets the tune as soon as the radio is turned off.




The novel is set in the wake of a hurricane ravaging Houston, Texas. If the floods and havoc of the disaster wasn’t enough, there is a zombie outbreak added to the mix. The main character is a female police officer, which is a pleasant change from the typical macho-military-types who dominate the zombie genre. However, outside of being labeled a woman, this officer demonstrates few feminine qualities. Everything from her commanding style of speech, to the way she fights, and even how she describes a handsome coworker in purely physical terms, is masculine. If McKinney had changed her name from Eleanor to Eliot, I wouldn’t have noticed a difference. And worse still, nothing made me want to care for her, other than the fact she was inoffensive and not corrupt like the others. In this, McKinney offers a simplified morality play where the bland prevail, while anyone evil gets their just reward. Sure, this is friendly and uplifting, but the problem is that it’s not that interesting to read.

posted by drakevaughn on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I love this!

    This is a great series. This is the 3rd book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    How could I skip a zombie story that won the Bram Stoker Award f

    How could I skip a zombie story that won the Bram Stoker Award for best novel? Perhaps this set my expectations too high, but I was sorely disappointed. That isn’t to say Flesh Eaters is bad. The problem is that it’s really just average. It’s an adept tale and a quick read, but never steps outside the typical disaster story stereotypes. Nothing surprised me, but again, nothing disappointed me either. It’s similar to an inoffensive pop song, which one forgets the tune as soon as the radio is turned off.




    The novel is set in the wake of a hurricane ravaging Houston, Texas. If the floods and havoc of the disaster wasn’t enough, there is a zombie outbreak added to the mix. The main character is a female police officer, which is a pleasant change from the typical macho-military-types who dominate the zombie genre. However, outside of being labeled a woman, this officer demonstrates few feminine qualities. Everything from her commanding style of speech, to the way she fights, and even how she describes a handsome coworker in purely physical terms, is masculine. If McKinney had changed her name from Eleanor to Eliot, I wouldn’t have noticed a difference. And worse still, nothing made me want to care for her, other than the fact she was inoffensive and not corrupt like the others. In this, McKinney offers a simplified morality play where the bland prevail, while anyone evil gets their just reward. Sure, this is friendly and uplifting, but the problem is that it’s not that interesting to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    A believable and tense rollercoaster ride of horror!

    I had certain expectations when I started this book and even formed other expectations while reading. Because of this, when the book took a turn I wasn't expecting, I was jostled by it that much more. There were some very intense moments and at one point, I had to put the book down and come back to it.

    Joe does an incredible job of taking an incomprehensible situation and landing it right in the middle of your living room, quite literally!

    The characters were believable, which made it that much easier to associate with them and visualize what they were going through. Just made it that much scarier!

    This one starts a little slow, but it's all necessary to build the backstory. Push through it. You won't be disapointed and you won't want to put it down once it takes off!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Joe McKinney provides a scary prequel to Dead City and Apocalypse of the Dead

    First there was Rita; followed by Ike. Both were Category Five leaving a battered Houston barely surviving. Now a third Category Five hurricane Hector slams into the city followed by another even bigger storm Kyle. A secondary tidal wave hammered the city devastating chemical and oil containers. The dead were pushed by the contaminated rushing waters inland as far as forty-five miles from the city. Hurricane Mardel left the city underwater and the coastline moved several miles inland.

    As the crisis turned pandemic, people showed their true colors including the Nortons and the Shaws. Houston is a dead zone and the Shaws dynamite an underwater bank and take seven million dollars. Eleanor, Jon and their teenage daughter Madison want to just leave the city. One thing prevents the family from escaping Houston: zombies. The toxic soup created a necrosis virus that is a big brother to Ebola. The creatures are cannibals who neither talk nor think. With their strange eyes they hunt humans to kill and multiply the new species who own the Gulf coast Texas.

    Joe McKinney provides a scary prequel to Dead City and Apocalypse of the Dead as a series of hurricanes (ignoring the alpha order) devastate Houston leading to a zombie infestation. Filled with plenty filled of action, readers will enjoy the depth of the tale as the Norton brood try to survive.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    Well written- had a hard time putting it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Zombies!!!!!!!!!

    Nice and brain tastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Just ok

    I liked the story line but always with this authors books in this series for me is the irritating characters. And this is by far the book with the worst characters. The main character is in the middle of a zombie outbreak with her child and she actually spends time fantasizing about a fellow cops hunky good looks, umm huh, really? Come on! But, even with the ridiculous characters and trust me they are all pretty bad, the story still keeps you going. I would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Another thrill ride from Mckinney! He is a master at getting yo

    Another thrill ride from Mckinney! He is a master at getting you wrapped up and caring about the characters of his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    must have

    this book is a must have its good i highly recommend, you wont want to put it down but by far Joe's best book was Dead City i hope he writes another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Dont waste your time or money

    Love this author hate this book . It could have been great but was so boring i could not wait to get it over with Dont waste your money buy something else

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2