Customer Reviews for

Flight (Irene Kelly Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definetely a book worth reading!

    This was the first book I've read by Jan Burke, and I must say it was so great that I had a hard time putting it down! To say the least that she is a terrific writer. When you read the book, the storyline makes you feel as if the characters are real and you can picture yourself as part of the storyline. I will definetely be reading more books by Jan Burke, she can count me as one of her fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    A powerful mystery!

    I've been a fan of the Irene Kelly books for years but I must say that Flight is by far the best. Frank Harriman makes a great main character and Jan Burke does an excellent job of weaving a gripping tale throughout. If you've never read a Jan Burke book, pick up this one without hesitation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Finally...a book worth reading!

    After having read so many books, lately, that were a waste of time and money, along comes a novel by an author who won an Edgar with her first book, and who, in her second effort, does not lower her standards in any way. What a terrific writer...my only disappointment was that I eventually had to finish it...I did try to drag it out as long as possible, though! Ms Burke is a genius at making her characters seem real, and the suspense she generates with her plots is almost unbearable...it was all I could do not to turn to the back of the book! I wish Ms Burke a long and productive career....I am sure she is going to have quite a following.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    ZvR 24 $&3#5 fmvx

    xdvTwt zbwtzt arfdtwcz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great read

    Awlsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Irene Kelly is one women I wouldn't want to mess with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    One of the Best

    An Innocent Man condemned to death! A guilty man walked free! ------------------------ When Detective Frank Harriman was assigned the cold case of Phillip Lafavre's (Sp?) death, he was told about the legendary cop who took a payoff from a mob boss and stole incriminating evidence, killed a witness, and disappeared. But as he starts to investigate, he's more and more convinced that Lafavre wasn't a dirty cop, but that he was framed, and then murdered to keep his nose away from the real killer. Now, Frank thinks that somebody in his own department is the killer, and the killer wants him dead! -------------------------- I must admit that the first 80 pages of the book were rather slow, but then the book picked up and didn't let go. It was mysterious, and the plot was well developed like a true mystery. But unlike a typical mystery, the story was rather moving. In the end, I felt sorry for many of the characters. I felt bad that Lafavre was killed and then shamed when people believed that he was guilty. I felt bad for Seth, that after surviving a murder that left his sister and father dead, he was killed afterward too, just when he was recovering. I felt bad for the other Seth, and that he never got to meet his father. And I even felt bad for the killer (but I was also glad to see him in jail, with all those germs!). ---------------------- The characters were entertaining, and I would love to see more of all of them. This book was great and I highly recommend it (even though I was disappointed that Lafavre didn't come back from the dead, that would have been great to see).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, but dramatically different than the previous books

    Trent Randolph and his two children went sailing when a pirate suddenly appeared and killed the father and his daughter, but only wounded the son. Phillip Lefebvre comes on board and rescues the lad, who bonds with his savior. At that time, the police believe they finally have the goods on a local crime boss. The department and Phillip agree until Seth hears a do-rei-me of a watch that terorizes the youngster. Lefebvre rethinks the case and illegally takes evidence out of the precinct. He goes flying, but his plane crashes leaving everyone to believe that he killed Seth and absconded with the evidence before vanishing. <P>Ten years later, the plane is found and the case reopened with Detective Frank Harriman in charge. He does a paradigm shift assuming Lefebvre is innocent. His efforts bring him to the attention of someone who prefers the cop dead than having the law enforcement official learn the truth of what happened over a decade ago. <P>There have been seven previous books in this series starring Irene Kelly, but this one is different as she plays a minor role and Frank tells the narrative. FLIGHT takes some adjustments for those familiar with Jan Burke¿s works, but once the reader adapts, the novel gracefully soars. The tale is loaded with suspense, red herrings, and false leads that turn this who-done-it into a powerful reading experience while Ms. Burke deserves kudos for successfully trying something different. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1