Customer Reviews for

Flight Behavior

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Please monitor the juveniles who have been consistently using th

Please monitor the juveniles who have been consistently using the customer review blog to write infantile nonsense on the blog. Readers want to get an informative review. I have noticed the same username on other Barnes and Noble book review blogs.

posted by Onyx2 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good writing, but cliche

Not my favorite. Got somewhat bogged down in climate, biology and Appalacia stereotypes.

posted by 9053660 on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Written with rich, realistic characters and a fascinating premis

    Written with rich, realistic characters and a fascinating premise, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This is my first book by Ms. Kingsolver but I anticipate many more enjoyable moments spent with her books in the future. Can nature change your life? It certainly seems so for the main character Dellarobia Turnbow, who has almost what could be described as a vision, though it is a real event, on her way to an illicit affair one morning in rural Tennessee. The arrival of monarch butterflies in the woods near her home changes her life and outlooks on almost everything she knows. All the characters are exceptionally written and real; they could be people I know, work with, am friends with. Interlaced with the telling of Dellarobia's domestic life and the changes brought about by this miraculous and at the same time disastrous natural happening are also insightful commentaries via the character of etymologist Ovid Byron about climate change, the nature of science and the media, our places in the natural order, and whether or not we are too late in our efforts to save this planet from the atrocities we have inflicted on it's natural systems and beings. I can not think of a better work of fiction I have read this year and would without reservation recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good novel and especially to those who care for the state our planet is in and want to have a better understanding of what's at stake and how nature can affect every one of us, whether scientist, homemaker, or average Joe. A great read!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Flight behavoir

    Vintage kingsolver absolutely loved it brought climate change to life with her cast of characters and its affect on them

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    I highly recommend this book. I looove Barbara Kingsolver! She is without a doubt one of my favorite authors. I've loved every book I've read by her and Flight Behavior is no exception. I really identified with Dellarobia and her life and problems. I found all of the characters highly relatable and real. I also learned a LOT about climate change through the reading of this book. Love how she always mixes interpersonal relationships and issues with science and nature. Keep up the good work Ms. Kingsolver!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    In my opinion, this novel is up to the caliber of The Poisonwood

    In my opinion, this novel is up to the caliber of The Poisonwood Bible and Kingsolver's earlier novels. Brilliantly cast in the mountains of Tennessee, Dellarobia is a bright and stifled young wife and mother longing for a life that would stimulate her mind. What she thinks she wants, an extra marital affair, at the beginning of he book seems like child's play compared to the shocking changes that come to her from her experiences in her own back yard. This is an excellent work of fiction and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Awesome

    Great, especiallly when compared to some of the others out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Darkness Following~ Proluge

    By TMS

    "Things are going great." Spottedleaf reported to Lionheart who was sitting next to her. "Really." Murmered Lionheart. "And what about Bluestar's time?" "Oh, that." Dissmissed Spottedleaf. "As long as Fireheart is choosing love, things are going grea-." She stopped because a familier figure was before them. "Love, really?" Scoffed the cat. "Tigerstar! You have no right here!" Yowled Spottedleaf. "She's right." Lionheart said, standing up. "What are you doing here and what do you mean?" "Even though Fireheart killed me before time because of you," He growled, "I thought I would get revenge. Instead of choosing love, Fireheart will choose evil." "No!" Yowled Spottedleaf. "We will make him choose love! Get out of here!" "Ok." Said Tigerstar. "But, no matter what you do, I will change it." And with that, he dissapeared. "Oh no." Said Spottedleaf. "I must warn Fireheart." That night, she tried, but she couldn't find him. "Foxdung." She muttered. "Tigerstar. Oh, Fireheart, choose love. Please, choose love."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Kingsolver is queen!

    I always love her books but this one, of a completely plausible yet fictional natural phenomenon, is the best! Do yourself a favor and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Ryas's bio

    Name:Ryas messy and dirty blonde i wear a ripped up tshirt and a dirty leather jacket with flame designs on it and bluejeans and black waterproof boots with flame designs on the laces and boots i have blueish greyish eyes im feirce and fast and i have not so tan skin im unbelievable with bows and arrows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Briel

    Name: Sabriel, but call her Briel. Age: 17 . Looks: shimmering strawberry blonde hair with thin black hilights (seriously like half a centimeter thick), medium tan skin, intelligent grey eyes. About 5'7. Other: Is Girls Varsity Swim Team Captain. She rarely wears any makeup except waterproof mascara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Priscilla and Logan bios

    ~Priscilla~
    Name: Priscilla
    Age: 16
    Description: 5'0, skinny, very tan, crystal ice blue eyes, caramel colored waist long hair that is usually straight, dimples in her smile, pearl white teeth, a nose piercing, belly button piercing, and a tongue piercing
    Personality: meet her ^.^
    Other: she is the Cheer Captain, and a dancer

    **Logan**
    Name: uhhh?
    Age 19
    Description: 6'8, 8-pack, jet black spiked hair, silver eyes with specks of blue in them, one dimple in his left cheek, charming smile
    Personality: polite, caring, protective, loyal
    Other: sister is Priscilla, and Captain of the baseball team

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    I absolutely love this book.  Such a relevant topic right now as

    I absolutely love this book.  Such a relevant topic right now as the East Coast is getting pummeled in snow and the West Coast is in it's worst drought ever.  The characters in this book are so realistic and believable.  I felt like I could connect with most of them in one way or another.  I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Come for the story of Dellarobia, a desperate young woman.  Be e

    Come for the story of Dellarobia, a desperate young woman.  Be entranced by Barbara Kingsolver's elegant language and beautiful drawn scenarios.  This seemingly simple book is an important one, possibly the "To Kill a Mockingbird" of its day.  It is not often you find a very readable novel in which the science is accurate, though the premise is pure fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Hello. I recommend that you click here...

    One of your members is locked out. I believe his or her's name is Wolfpelt. He or she wants you to move to another result. Bai.<p> ~Darkpelt of Blazeclan

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Nightstorm

    No i wasnt taling to you longtail lol)) poppydawn flicked longtail on the shoulder. "Care to share?" She inquired again as she flicked her tail at the fresh kill pile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Midnightfang

    Gtgtb bbt.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Wolf

    Hey everyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Steamkit

    A grey shecat walked in. She looked like a large apprentice, but her blazing yellow eyes were unerving as she watched.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Raccoonpaw

    Dips her head. Thank you. Wisdom sparking her gaze.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Windpaw

    Just tired and angry.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    H

    Hello,I am Jaykit.May I join?I am a she-cat and I did not steal clan name for power,or something.I like the name Jaykit a lot,though,so please let me keep it.y

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4