Customer Reviews for

Flight of Shadows

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer

I was hooked after just the prologue. After every chapter I found it hard to stop, I wanted to keep reading and find out more. The characters are fantastic. Razor, especially. There are so many layers to this story and so many different people get tangled up in them. I ...
I was hooked after just the prologue. After every chapter I found it hard to stop, I wanted to keep reading and find out more. The characters are fantastic. Razor, especially. There are so many layers to this story and so many different people get tangled up in them. I found this new world to be absolutely fascinating. Soovie camps and crazy bombs... it was great. And a mysterious enemy hiding around every corner. I loved this book.


"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."

posted by Ellie_Blogger on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Dystopian Fiction Read

Caitlyn Brown is not a typical young woman. She thought that she was deformed but has learned that she has been genetically modified. This modification allows her to extend and retract wings. Although she has made it "outside" she knows that she won't be safe as long as...
Caitlyn Brown is not a typical young woman. She thought that she was deformed but has learned that she has been genetically modified. This modification allows her to extend and retract wings. Although she has made it "outside" she knows that she won't be safe as long as the government is still hunting her. Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer continues Caitlyn's quest for truth and help. Flight of Shadows begins with Caitlyn working the night shift at a hotel in what was formerly known as Washington, D.C. This is now a walled city-state and only the "Industrials" (workers with minimal human and society rights usually sporting facial barcodes) and the "Influentials" (extremely wealthy) are found inside. What should have been a routine room cleaning becomes an attempt at subjugation and possible rape and results in proof of Caitlyn's physical modification. Unfortunately Caitlyn is on her own in the city and she is still being hunted by Casper Pierce (a National Intelligence or NI agent) and Mason Lee (a bounty hunter from Appalachia). Caitlyn knows that they don't necessarily want her alive, they just want to harvest her eggs and possibly some blood. Her genetic modification is much more than just having wings, but only a few people are aware of how different she is compared to other "experiments." Theo and Billy are outside the city walls, working in a smelting factory and living in a soovie park. Apparently since cars are only owned and used by the "influentials,¿ the "illegals" (workers or refugees without rights) are residing in cannibalized SUVs, vans and minivans in soovie park ghettos. There's no electricity in most "soovies" and running water is hard to find. If that wasn't bad enough, the sick are always at the mercy of "death doctors" that euthanize the ill and dying while hoards surround the occupied soovie to scavenge the dead's property. Although Caitlyn suffers greatly, she is fortunate to come across people always willing to help her. In Broken Angel she had Billy and Theo, and now she has Razer, a wealthy street-smart kid that helps her hide and escape detection by the NI. Flight of Shadows reveals more about Billy and Theo and spends a little more time discussing their trials while waiting to reconnect with Caitlyn. Mason Lee is still a bad guy on the hunt for Caitlyn, Billy and Theo. He also hopes to get revenge against Pierce for breaking his arm, forcing him to run and the suffering he incurred as a result of his run from Appalachia. The caste-like society is more prevalent in Flight of Shadows, and the disparity between the have and have-nots is highly visible. Although the city-states don't govern as tightly as the religious leadership in Appalachia, the rules regarding the various castes are just as rigid and unjust. And like most societies, past and present, those with money are allowed to abuse the system at will. This dystopian future is shocking and abhorrent but regrettably one is able to see the seeds of this future being sown by present actions. Caitlyn does escape in the end and is joyfully united with her father, Billy and Theo. The program that created her is destroyed but will its destruction be permanent or is the government just biding its time before they begin again? Although Flight of Shadows is filled with abject poverty and grave injustices, it ends with hope and a sense of purpose.

posted by The_Book_Diva on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Another Great Dystopian Fiction Read

    Caitlyn Brown is not a typical young woman. She thought that she was deformed but has learned that she has been genetically modified. This modification allows her to extend and retract wings. Although she has made it "outside" she knows that she won't be safe as long as the government is still hunting her. Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer continues Caitlyn's quest for truth and help. Flight of Shadows begins with Caitlyn working the night shift at a hotel in what was formerly known as Washington, D.C. This is now a walled city-state and only the "Industrials" (workers with minimal human and society rights usually sporting facial barcodes) and the "Influentials" (extremely wealthy) are found inside. What should have been a routine room cleaning becomes an attempt at subjugation and possible rape and results in proof of Caitlyn's physical modification. Unfortunately Caitlyn is on her own in the city and she is still being hunted by Casper Pierce (a National Intelligence or NI agent) and Mason Lee (a bounty hunter from Appalachia). Caitlyn knows that they don't necessarily want her alive, they just want to harvest her eggs and possibly some blood. Her genetic modification is much more than just having wings, but only a few people are aware of how different she is compared to other "experiments." Theo and Billy are outside the city walls, working in a smelting factory and living in a soovie park. Apparently since cars are only owned and used by the "influentials,¿ the "illegals" (workers or refugees without rights) are residing in cannibalized SUVs, vans and minivans in soovie park ghettos. There's no electricity in most "soovies" and running water is hard to find. If that wasn't bad enough, the sick are always at the mercy of "death doctors" that euthanize the ill and dying while hoards surround the occupied soovie to scavenge the dead's property. Although Caitlyn suffers greatly, she is fortunate to come across people always willing to help her. In Broken Angel she had Billy and Theo, and now she has Razer, a wealthy street-smart kid that helps her hide and escape detection by the NI. Flight of Shadows reveals more about Billy and Theo and spends a little more time discussing their trials while waiting to reconnect with Caitlyn. Mason Lee is still a bad guy on the hunt for Caitlyn, Billy and Theo. He also hopes to get revenge against Pierce for breaking his arm, forcing him to run and the suffering he incurred as a result of his run from Appalachia. The caste-like society is more prevalent in Flight of Shadows, and the disparity between the have and have-nots is highly visible. Although the city-states don't govern as tightly as the religious leadership in Appalachia, the rules regarding the various castes are just as rigid and unjust. And like most societies, past and present, those with money are allowed to abuse the system at will. This dystopian future is shocking and abhorrent but regrettably one is able to see the seeds of this future being sown by present actions. Caitlyn does escape in the end and is joyfully united with her father, Billy and Theo. The program that created her is destroyed but will its destruction be permanent or is the government just biding its time before they begin again? Although Flight of Shadows is filled with abject poverty and grave injustices, it ends with hope and a sense of purpose.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    EXCELLENT

    I loved the book! I may be a guy but who cares! Awesome book. I would give this book 10 * if i could

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer

    I was hooked after just the prologue. After every chapter I found it hard to stop, I wanted to keep reading and find out more. The characters are fantastic. Razor, especially. There are so many layers to this story and so many different people get tangled up in them. I found this new world to be absolutely fascinating. Soovie camps and crazy bombs... it was great. And a mysterious enemy hiding around every corner. I loved this book.


    "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Flight of Shadows

    Flight of Shadows is the sequel to Brouwer's 2008 release, Broken Angel. I didn't realize this was book 2 of a series until after I had already gotten the book. I went ahead and read it any ways. That may be the reason why I felt somewhat lost/confused in the first few chapters. The world is well crafted, but it took me a few chapters to fully understand what was going on.
    Flight of Shadows is a fictional story that takes place in the future after a series of wars. This story is about Caitlyn who was genetically engineered. Because of this engineering, she has many people hunting her. She is trying to blend in with the working class of her day--the Invisibles. She just wants to hide in the shadows and keep her gift a secret. She's not even sure if she can trust the only person wanting to help her.
    Even though this is a Christain Fiction, Brouwer refrains from preaching. Instead he relys on the story to tell the horrs of DNA manipulation. He offers this as a warning, the dangers lie in the abuse of cheap illegal immigrant workers, the decline of civil liberties, and the exploitation of science for the pleasures of the privileged few.This is a very interesting story. I would recommend it to Sci-Fi or Fiction Lovers.
    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Excellent ending to dystopian series

    Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer is the sequel to Broken Angel about Caitlyn Brown. Caitlyn has escaped Appalachia and started a new life working as a maid in a hotel. Billy and Theo are still waiting to meet her so they can seek freedom in the West together. Mason has emerged from his on personal hell with one less eye and even deeper madness and darkness in his soul. Pierce hasn't given up the search for Caitlyn, especially after his failure in Appalachia. If you haven't read Broken Angel, go do it now! You must read it in order to fully enjoy this book and understand the characters' history together. When Caitlyn is threatened on the job, she is forced to expose her secret, which brings her a new ally, Razor, who she's not sure if she can trust, but feels strongly drawn toward. Brouwer has set the players on a chessboard in this book. Caitlyn is the king, who everyone wants to own or protect. Mason is a rook, smashing anything in his path to revenge, Pierce is the bishop moving smoothly through each step of the game, and Razor is the knight whose moves are never expected or in a straight line. Brouwer ratchets up the tension even more in this book, with Caitlyn constantly in danger, and the reader has no idea who to trust. There were many pages I read with my hand over my mouth and forgetting to breathe. I have to admit that I am a bit disappointed that Brouwer has ended the series here, but he did an excellent joy tying up loose ends. With this amount of talent and the ability to create such breathtaking surprises, Brouwer is definitely an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Flight of Shadows - Review

    Last night I finished Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer. I chose Flight of Shadows because the little tagline about the book snagged me:

    Her genetic secret could change humanity forever.
    Her DNA grants her the ultimate power.
    But all she wants is to disappear.

    Pretty catchy right? Well don't get too excited because as much as I hate to say it, the first 8 or so chapters turned me off. I was confused, uninterested and kinda weirded out. The chapters were extremely short (I do love it when books are like that tho) but each of those first 8 started off with a new storyline and a new character... and not in a good way that leaves you wanting more. I had no idea what was going on. Now in the authors defense, Flight of Shadows is a sequel to Broken Angel. But I had read in multiple places that you didn't need to read the first one to know what was happening in this 2nd one. Yeah... I think they were wrong.

    In-spite of the rough start and lack of interest, I kept on reading. I'm not one to stop in the middle of a book. Once I start one, I have to finish it. Does this happen to you guys too or is it just me? But back to the story... I kept on reading. After a while I started to get an idea of what was happening and my interest did grow.

    Flight of Shadows paints a really frightening view of the future after the United States has significantly changed after the "Water Wars". What's left of the nation is very seperate and distinct communities of people where the government has an insane amount of control. Killing and fighting for survival are a part of every day life for some of these communities. In the midst of all that, the main story revolves around a girl named Caitlyn who is being hunted by two different groups of people. We learn right away that Caitlyn was born with wings and can fly. Later on we discover that she was part of a huge science experiment and was genetically altered before she was even born. She was one of the only test-subjects to be born alive and healthy. Because of her wings and other genetic secrets she is wanted dead or alive.

    Just over half-way through the book my opinion began to change. By the end I was pretty into it but I was bummed that it took me that long to want to keep reading it. Some Christian Fiction books are over-the-top-cheese and try to slip religion in there like a car-salesmen tries to sell you a "great deal", but that definitely wasn't the case with Flight of Shadows. They did a great job using some scripture and Christian theme's along the way. Over-all, I'm not sure if I would recommend it. It was good but it was weird in the beginning. Ended great but took forever to get into. Maybe if I had read the first book prior to this one my opinion would be different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Mixed feelings about this one...

    I have mixed feelings about this book. The story itself was good. Caitlyn, the result of a scientific experiment, is on the run from bounty hunters and the government. She meets a street-smart illusionist named Razor who helps her escape but she's not sure she can trust him. Razor helps her learn about herself and the unique power of her DNA. It leads her to make a choice between the two men who love her, and whether to keep her freedom or sacrifice herself to change human destiny.

    The first few chapters of the book were rather hard to follow. Every chapter jumped to a new scene and introduced new characters. It took a paragraph or two to figure out what was going on. The entire book reads this way but after learning all the characters it becomes easier to follow. I discovered after I started that this book is the sequel to Sigmund Brouwer's other book, "Broken Angel". Perhaps I should have read that first.

    There are a few disgusting scenes involving a man eating a rat and the author has an abnormal obsession with coffee. This probably bothered me more than it should have but everytime coffee was mentioned I thought "here we go again...".

    All in all it was a pretty good book. I'd give it 3 out of 5 stars.

    The prologue is available to read on the WaterBrookMultnomah website.

    As a reminder, I was given this book for free from the WaterBrook Multnomah "Blogging for Books" program. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    So glad it's done

    Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer

    I like to read a variety of books-mystery, suspense, children's, fantasy, paranormal, sci-fi, young adult, mainstream and Christian. I chose this book because the description said Christian, young adult, speculative fiction. This is the only Sigmund Brouwer book I have read, but I did not like his style of writing in this novel. He takes whole paragraphs for description and background instead of interweaving and sprinkling it in naturally. Perhaps the sentence structure and group titles (Outsiders, Influentials, Enforcers, etc.) work for this age group, but it didn't work for me. While the action picked up about half-way through the book, really the only reason I made myself finish reading was hoping the story would get better and give a proper and thorough review.

    Maybe if I had read Broken Angel (the prequel to Flight of Shadows) the story would have been easier to follow. As it was, I had a hard time keeping track of all the characters, their actions, and storylines. Caitlyn is the main character and the result of an experiment with genetic DNA codes. She tries to blend in and hide her deformity, trying to decide if it is a blessing or a curse. Jordan and Charmaine are the scientists who originally worked on the Genesis project, the one that performed the DNA experiments. Jordan tried to rescue Caitlyn from being a science experiment, but the two ended up separated and left Caitlyn on her own. Theo and Billy rescued Caitlyn from drowning in one of her attempts to escape a bounty hunter named Mason. Theo and Billy seem to be the only ones who accept Caitlyn unconditionally.


    Now on the Outside, Caitlyn is running from Everett-someone who lives in a hotel where she cleaned rooms, from Mason the bounty hunter, Pierce Carson from the NI agency, the military, and Charmaine who wants to continue the DNA research and experiments now that she knows Caitlyn survived. Then there is Razor who seems to help Caitlyn, but you're never really sure whose side he is on.

    I read the story from beginning to end, but was never drawn in. There seemed to be three to four different viewpoints going on, but I don't think the characters had enough of a distinct voice to be able to follow the transitions smoothly. When the same scene is written from different viewpoints, Brouwer spent too much time retelling descriptions and dialogue. There were some suggestive scenes that I did not expect and did not appreciate finding in what was supposed to be a Christian young adult book. In fact, the author describes everything Mason the bounty hunter did in such a disturbing and gruesome manner that I would not recommend this book to young adults and I would caution adults and Christians both. I do not plan on reading anything else by Sigmund Brouwer.

    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher to give an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Not Worth It.

    Title: Flight of Shadows.
    Author: Sigmund Brouwer.
    Gene: Futuristic, Sci-Fi Thriller, Action/Adventure.
    Plot: In this sequel to Broken Angel by the same author {didn't read it}, Caitlyn Brown has managed to go nearly two months since escaping her former life but when she's suddenly threatened by her not-very-bright-or-gentlemanly boss, Caitlyn plunges back into a situation she thought she'd left behind. Tracked by a ruthless bounty hunter and the authorities, Caitlyn teams up with a shady illusionist who she doesn't fully trust named Razor; he in his turn puts all his skills to work to uncover the mystery of who Caitlyn is and why the government wants her found at all costs. The end takes them by surprise.
    Likes/Dislikes: The plot, while interesting once or twice, is lame and so unbelievable that it's not even worth getting into, all of the characters save for Theo, Billy, and Pierce, have crude, disgusting minds and dirty thought-trains {especially the bounty hunter, it so would have been nice not to have had any part of the story told from his gross viewpoint!}, and the vocabulary of the book is almost worse than watching an R rated porn movie, even if it isn't graphic, it's still there and the reader's imagination can follow the hint. Granted, Theo was very funny, and Pierce and Billy were the most gentlemanly and honest characters but other than that this book wasn't worth reading. You'd think that a book about someone with wings and healing blood would be interesting but when it's written like this one is; it's destined for the fireplace. The cover of the book says it's set in an "all-too-plausible future," I disagree however because the future {to me} doesn't look like it'll decay into a Mad Max world any time soon.
    Rating: R, and it is not recommended at all.
    Date Report Written: February 19, 2011.
    This book was a review copy courtesy of WaterBrook Publications; I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Flight of Shadows

    I really stepped out of my realm when I chose Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer for a book review. Admittedly, I'm not a sci-fan fan, but I read some of his books several years ago and really enjoyed them, so I wanted to give this one a shot.

    The writing is great, and the story is interesting. My only real complaint about the book was that I felt lost. I didn't realize that it was the sequel to a previous book, and the book assumes that you already know a lot of the background and characters of this story. Set in a futuristic America, Flight of Shadows tells the story of Caitlyn, a young woman with very unique DNA thanks to genetic experimentation. In fact, it's so unique that she's running for her life, with the help of a few unusual, but loyal, friends. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of science fiction, but I would recommend reading the first book, Broken Angel, so you'll have a deeper understanding of the characters and story.

    Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The opinions expressed are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Fantastic

    FLIGHT OF SHADOWS is the sequel to Brower's futuristic thriller BROKEN ANGEL. In this Sci-Fi series, scientists have learned to splice human genetic material together with other life forms to create new hybrids. Most of the experiments have failed, except for one - a girl named Caitlyn Brown. In this second novel, Caitlyn has just escaped from the oppression of a closed culture known as 'Appalachia' , where she and her scientist father had retreated for her safety. She soon discovers, however, that life 'Outside' is every bit as dangerous. Here, the upper class known as the 'Influentials' are all powerful, while anarchy reigns everywhere else. Everyone, it seems, wants a piece of the hybrid 'freak' - for Caitlyn is not like other people. She has wings and can fly, as well as other genetic properties that make her very valuable - dead or alive. As she is pursued by the government, the scientific community, money hungry criminals, and a psychopathic predator out for revenge, she comes across an unlikely ally in the person of a street kid named Razor. 'Fast, sharp and dangerous' - that's his motto. Will Razor be able to protect her and ultimately help her find her true freedom?
    This novel is a must read for the Sci-fi lover. Thematically, it reminded me of the motion picture 'Splice', as well as Frank Peretti's iconic novel Monster. When scientists take creation into their own hands, bad things can happen. There are some gruesome scenes in the book, although well written and certainly not graphic - just enough detail to let you know that the bad guys (in this case, a rogue bounty hunter named Mason) are really BAD. I loved this book. It's a futuristic thriller that, in the end, presents a message of hope for the future of mankind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Very nice piece of science fiction!

    I love science fiction. When Christ found me over 10 years ago, I had a really hard time letting go of some of my old favorite books because they no longer fit with my world view. So, when I come across "Christian" science fiction, I do a little happy dance.

    This book, Flight of Shadows, lived up to my expectations, mostly. I did not know going into it that it was the second in a series. I have the first one now checked out from the library and plan on starting in on it this week. Lucky for me, the way that this book is written, it doesn't matter (much) that I haven't read the first one. I think that the character development in the first part of the book would have been a lot easier to follow had I read Broken Angel first, but I was still able to get the plot and the characters without it.

    The near-future world that Brouwer has created is fascinating. It makes you think about the state of the nation without being obnoxious about it. The explanations of the elements of the world are just that, explanations, without being preachy about what we're doing wrong.

    The characters in the book are well developed and consistent. The plot is a little challenging to get into at first, but it's well worth it. The overall writing style is tight, staying within the correct perspective of each character and providing just enough detail. My only complaint is that I would have liked to see more where the character's beliefs lie, but I think that may be more expressed in the first book. I give this book four stars and can't wait to read more by Sigmund Brouwer. Thank you to WaterBrook Press for sending me this book for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    I could not get into this book at all.

    I tried, I really did. The prologue piqued my interest and even the first chapter but that was about all. By the time I got to the fourth of fifth chaper, I gave up. I passed it on to my mother who enjoys real science fiction. She stated that it was very difficult to get into. The plot didn't become evident until about 1/3 of the way into the book. There were a lot of characters to get to know and the web of their interconnectedness was difficult to manipulate. She did indicate that this book resembled a series of books written by James Patterson.

    Unfortunately I'd give it 1/2 of a star, my mother gave it a 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Review of Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer

    In Flight of Shadows: A Novel, Sigmund Brouwer portrays a future that is eerily possible and yet terrifying. Caitlyn, whose life is the result of a genetic experiment, has broken free of her former life, and now in the Outside she is pursued by various agencies. The easy freedom that she hoped to find there has so far eluded her. While the Outside does not have the religious oppression of her former life, she is now an Invisible, without the rights of the higher classes. Caitlyn will need the help of her friends, as well as a mysterious man named Razor, to find that freedom.

    In his novel, Brouwer explores themes relevant to today's society, including genetic experimentation, the fight for natural resources, and the degradation of morality. While affected by the cruelties of this world, Caitlyn-and in a different way, Billy-serve as the alternative to these trends and a hope for a more positive future. Utilizing the image of an angel, Brouwer has created a unique character in Caitlyn, one who must move through her own grief into a place of freedom and power. Like the angels in the Bible, she has the power to protect and to herald the creation of a new society. While her power has come from man and an awful experiment, she must decide to use her abilities for good, thus making her into a new, post-apocalyptic myth.

    Drawing from various resources-including history, literature, and current events-Brouwer has written an insightful sequel to his book, Broken Angel: A Novel. While much of Christian speculative fiction tends toward the overtly religious, Brouwer has produced a world through which modern believers as well as non-believers can explore the possible results of current trends. Through his grounding of the novel in current events and historical precedent, Brouwer has made this a truly affecting novel, for it makes it all the more real and alarming. Without any true awareness of the past, the world may very well blunder into the sordid world of Flight of Shadows. For this reason-along with its expertly written plot and characters-this novel is a must for the modern, discerning reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    A frightening look at the future

    Caitlyn Brown has always known that she was different. Taught by her father to hide the deformity on her back, she realizes how special she is and understands that puts her in danger at the same time. Growing up in the secluded area known as Appalachia, under strong religious reign, she has been sheltered from harsh realities.



    Caitlyn escapes into the real world, a futuristic place where society has changed drastically and danger lurks around every corner. She was sent to find a surgeon who would remove the deformity on her back. Large, working wings, like those of an eagle. Scientists secretly changed genetics in hopes of creating a different kind of human. Caitlyn was the only surviving fetus.


    As she fights an inner battle, trying to decide whether she should get rid of this part of herself, or accept the life she has been dealt, she also must remain away from those who want to trap her. Caitlyn soon learns, it is not just her wings that make her unique. There is something much more special about her genetics that people would kill to get.


    This is an exciting and fast paced novel set in a science fiction type of background. With cloning and genetic alterations taking place in the world today, this provides a somewhat grimmer view of what can happen when scientific minds are not held in check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent Book

    This is the first book I read from this author. I found it to be brilliant. A masterpiece in the genre of science-fiction. The author describes his characters with such passion and so rich in details that makes us feel suffering together with our heroes. His description of the environment is superb. The plot happens in a future after what he called the Water Wars. After a lot of effort, a genetic experiment produced some embryos, and one of the scientists thought that they have crossed some moral boundaries and destroy all data on the project, and all but three embryos. One of those developed to be his daughter, Caitlyn. She has some power and they have to flee to a place named Appalachia, where some religious extremists live in a closed community. The story develops and the action begins when the government starts to search for the girl, so they can resume the project, as she is the missing link of the original research and her blood contain information that could change the destiny of the human race. She goes outside of Appalachia and on her life as fugitive, she is helped by the most unusual character, Razor, and two friends that came with her, Billy and Theo. The scary part on this story is that it is composed by realistic situations that we see nowadays (in minor scale) and we can see it happening in the future exactly as it is so well described by the author.
    I recommend this book not only for young-adults but also for any lover of science-fiction. And I place this book among the best three I read this year.

    This book was written by Sigmund Brouwer and it was published in 2010 by Water Brooke Press and they were kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing through their Blogging for Books Program. Thanks, Mr. Sigmund Brouwer, for such a delicious fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Great read!

    This is the sequel to Broken Angel, Flight of Shadows and is another fantastic novel from Sigmund Brouwer.

    Caitlyn has fled from Appalachia and is trying to make her way through life in the Outside. But being Outside doesn't mean she's free. The government and a bounty hunter are on the chase after her.

    This a pretty dark novel set in the future of the United States after the Water Wars where there are diffent casts of society (e.g., Influentials, Invisibles, etc.)

    I really enjoyed the science fiction of Caitlyn's deformity and how she is the only successful experiment. Born from a test tube. I look forward to reading more books from this author in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Flight of Shadows

    As a book reviewer, I tend to get books for free. Very rarely do I read a book that I like so much that I am actually tempted to buy other books by the author. This is one of those cases. Set in the future, this is a story of a genetically-engineered young woman fleeing for her life. Narrations change as readers are taken in the shoes of the hunters and the hunted. Enough thoughts are conveyed for readers to grasp characters, but not enough is given to make any of them predictable or unlikely to make drastic changes like betrayal or redemption. Angels and demons are conveyed metaphorically as a good versus evil plot goes on. With skill, Brouwer gets this across without merely spelling it out for the reader. This book is actually a sequel to another book, but readers can still read this and get the gist of what is going on. After becoming engrossed in the story and characters, readers will simply want to read the prequel. There are some religious undertones, which are thought-provoking. This book is not suitable for young readers because it has blood, violence, murder, and suggestive scenes (when evil character tries to attack a woman, it backfires on him). Also, each little chapter was never more than a few pages long, which makes this book great since it can be interrupted often with people's busy lives. Stellar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer

    Flight of Shadows is the sequel to Broken Angel even though I've never read the first book, Sigmund Brouwer does a job good in telling this story for those that haven't read the pervious book. He creates and describes what the near-future of America is like. The land is ruled by greed, poverty, genetic experimentation, illegal immigration that are struggling to survive and to find happiness and so on. But through all that Caitlyn Brown is trying to stay free, to be normal and to live a normal life. However the deformity on her back keeps her from doing so because her DNA is the key to unraveling secrets of humanity and it's future. Which is the reason why the government is so determine to track her down and catch her. It also doesn't help that others also wish to come after her for her uniqueness too.

    At first the book, didn't suck me into it the first few chapters but after a while, especially when the focus is on Caitlyn that I do. It's not a bad story but sometimes I get the feel that something is lacking in it. I feel like its lacks character depth. I didn't connect that much with some of the other characters in the book, even Caitlyn. Though I did find Razor to be interesting. He was unpredictable but also solid, knowing that as an illusionist he carried himself so well, that to us readers we were unsure on how to make of him. Bad or good? After all, he's a rather mysterious young man with his own secrets and these secrets could make him an ally or an enemy for Caitlyn. All in all, I didn't mind reading this. Despite that lack of character depth to some of the characters, it's a pretty good read. It wasn't something that had me jumping in excitement to read all in one day but it was still good.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Even better than I expected!

    I have read three books Sigmund Brouwer wrote with Hank Hanegraaff, and enjoyed them very much, so I expected Flight of Shadows to be great as well. It turned out to be even better than I had thought it would.

    I loved how this book was written, and it's one that I couldn't put down. The story was interesting and even suspenseful, and the setting made the book even better. I really enjoyed the characters and how the author gets you to care about what happens to them. The ending was sad, when I read about Razor's background, but that's one of the things that makes this book great. The characters are what makes a story.
    I highly recommend this book to teens and adults.

    Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah for the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2