Customer Reviews for

Flight of Shadows

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer

I was hooked after just the prologue. After every chapter I found it hard to stop, I wanted to keep reading and find out more. The characters are fantastic. Razor, especially. There are so many layers to this story and so many different people get tangled up in them. I ...
I was hooked after just the prologue. After every chapter I found it hard to stop, I wanted to keep reading and find out more. The characters are fantastic. Razor, especially. There are so many layers to this story and so many different people get tangled up in them. I found this new world to be absolutely fascinating. Soovie camps and crazy bombs... it was great. And a mysterious enemy hiding around every corner. I loved this book.


"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."

posted by Ellie_Blogger on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Dystopian Fiction Read

Caitlyn Brown is not a typical young woman. She thought that she was deformed but has learned that she has been genetically modified. This modification allows her to extend and retract wings. Although she has made it "outside" she knows that she won't be safe as long as...
Caitlyn Brown is not a typical young woman. She thought that she was deformed but has learned that she has been genetically modified. This modification allows her to extend and retract wings. Although she has made it "outside" she knows that she won't be safe as long as the government is still hunting her. Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer continues Caitlyn's quest for truth and help. Flight of Shadows begins with Caitlyn working the night shift at a hotel in what was formerly known as Washington, D.C. This is now a walled city-state and only the "Industrials" (workers with minimal human and society rights usually sporting facial barcodes) and the "Influentials" (extremely wealthy) are found inside. What should have been a routine room cleaning becomes an attempt at subjugation and possible rape and results in proof of Caitlyn's physical modification. Unfortunately Caitlyn is on her own in the city and she is still being hunted by Casper Pierce (a National Intelligence or NI agent) and Mason Lee (a bounty hunter from Appalachia). Caitlyn knows that they don't necessarily want her alive, they just want to harvest her eggs and possibly some blood. Her genetic modification is much more than just having wings, but only a few people are aware of how different she is compared to other "experiments." Theo and Billy are outside the city walls, working in a smelting factory and living in a soovie park. Apparently since cars are only owned and used by the "influentials,¿ the "illegals" (workers or refugees without rights) are residing in cannibalized SUVs, vans and minivans in soovie park ghettos. There's no electricity in most "soovies" and running water is hard to find. If that wasn't bad enough, the sick are always at the mercy of "death doctors" that euthanize the ill and dying while hoards surround the occupied soovie to scavenge the dead's property. Although Caitlyn suffers greatly, she is fortunate to come across people always willing to help her. In Broken Angel she had Billy and Theo, and now she has Razer, a wealthy street-smart kid that helps her hide and escape detection by the NI. Flight of Shadows reveals more about Billy and Theo and spends a little more time discussing their trials while waiting to reconnect with Caitlyn. Mason Lee is still a bad guy on the hunt for Caitlyn, Billy and Theo. He also hopes to get revenge against Pierce for breaking his arm, forcing him to run and the suffering he incurred as a result of his run from Appalachia. The caste-like society is more prevalent in Flight of Shadows, and the disparity between the have and have-nots is highly visible. Although the city-states don't govern as tightly as the religious leadership in Appalachia, the rules regarding the various castes are just as rigid and unjust. And like most societies, past and present, those with money are allowed to abuse the system at will. This dystopian future is shocking and abhorrent but regrettably one is able to see the seeds of this future being sown by present actions. Caitlyn does escape in the end and is joyfully united with her father, Billy and Theo. The program that created her is destroyed but will its destruction be permanent or is the government just biding its time before they begin again? Although Flight of Shadows is filled with abject poverty and grave injustices, it ends with hope and a sense of purpose.

posted by The_Book_Diva on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    EXCELLENT

    I loved the book! I may be a guy but who cares! Awesome book. I would give this book 10 * if i could

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Excellent ending to dystopian series

    Flight of Shadows by Sigmund Brouwer is the sequel to Broken Angel about Caitlyn Brown. Caitlyn has escaped Appalachia and started a new life working as a maid in a hotel. Billy and Theo are still waiting to meet her so they can seek freedom in the West together. Mason has emerged from his on personal hell with one less eye and even deeper madness and darkness in his soul. Pierce hasn't given up the search for Caitlyn, especially after his failure in Appalachia. If you haven't read Broken Angel, go do it now! You must read it in order to fully enjoy this book and understand the characters' history together. When Caitlyn is threatened on the job, she is forced to expose her secret, which brings her a new ally, Razor, who she's not sure if she can trust, but feels strongly drawn toward. Brouwer has set the players on a chessboard in this book. Caitlyn is the king, who everyone wants to own or protect. Mason is a rook, smashing anything in his path to revenge, Pierce is the bishop moving smoothly through each step of the game, and Razor is the knight whose moves are never expected or in a straight line. Brouwer ratchets up the tension even more in this book, with Caitlyn constantly in danger, and the reader has no idea who to trust. There were many pages I read with my hand over my mouth and forgetting to breathe. I have to admit that I am a bit disappointed that Brouwer has ended the series here, but he did an excellent joy tying up loose ends. With this amount of talent and the ability to create such breathtaking surprises, Brouwer is definitely an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Fantastic

    FLIGHT OF SHADOWS is the sequel to Brower's futuristic thriller BROKEN ANGEL. In this Sci-Fi series, scientists have learned to splice human genetic material together with other life forms to create new hybrids. Most of the experiments have failed, except for one - a girl named Caitlyn Brown. In this second novel, Caitlyn has just escaped from the oppression of a closed culture known as 'Appalachia' , where she and her scientist father had retreated for her safety. She soon discovers, however, that life 'Outside' is every bit as dangerous. Here, the upper class known as the 'Influentials' are all powerful, while anarchy reigns everywhere else. Everyone, it seems, wants a piece of the hybrid 'freak' - for Caitlyn is not like other people. She has wings and can fly, as well as other genetic properties that make her very valuable - dead or alive. As she is pursued by the government, the scientific community, money hungry criminals, and a psychopathic predator out for revenge, she comes across an unlikely ally in the person of a street kid named Razor. 'Fast, sharp and dangerous' - that's his motto. Will Razor be able to protect her and ultimately help her find her true freedom?
    This novel is a must read for the Sci-fi lover. Thematically, it reminded me of the motion picture 'Splice', as well as Frank Peretti's iconic novel Monster. When scientists take creation into their own hands, bad things can happen. There are some gruesome scenes in the book, although well written and certainly not graphic - just enough detail to let you know that the bad guys (in this case, a rogue bounty hunter named Mason) are really BAD. I loved this book. It's a futuristic thriller that, in the end, presents a message of hope for the future of mankind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent Book

    This is the first book I read from this author. I found it to be brilliant. A masterpiece in the genre of science-fiction. The author describes his characters with such passion and so rich in details that makes us feel suffering together with our heroes. His description of the environment is superb. The plot happens in a future after what he called the Water Wars. After a lot of effort, a genetic experiment produced some embryos, and one of the scientists thought that they have crossed some moral boundaries and destroy all data on the project, and all but three embryos. One of those developed to be his daughter, Caitlyn. She has some power and they have to flee to a place named Appalachia, where some religious extremists live in a closed community. The story develops and the action begins when the government starts to search for the girl, so they can resume the project, as she is the missing link of the original research and her blood contain information that could change the destiny of the human race. She goes outside of Appalachia and on her life as fugitive, she is helped by the most unusual character, Razor, and two friends that came with her, Billy and Theo. The scary part on this story is that it is composed by realistic situations that we see nowadays (in minor scale) and we can see it happening in the future exactly as it is so well described by the author.
    I recommend this book not only for young-adults but also for any lover of science-fiction. And I place this book among the best three I read this year.

    This book was written by Sigmund Brouwer and it was published in 2010 by Water Brooke Press and they were kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing through their Blogging for Books Program. Thanks, Mr. Sigmund Brouwer, for such a delicious fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Flight of Shadows

    As a book reviewer, I tend to get books for free. Very rarely do I read a book that I like so much that I am actually tempted to buy other books by the author. This is one of those cases. Set in the future, this is a story of a genetically-engineered young woman fleeing for her life. Narrations change as readers are taken in the shoes of the hunters and the hunted. Enough thoughts are conveyed for readers to grasp characters, but not enough is given to make any of them predictable or unlikely to make drastic changes like betrayal or redemption. Angels and demons are conveyed metaphorically as a good versus evil plot goes on. With skill, Brouwer gets this across without merely spelling it out for the reader. This book is actually a sequel to another book, but readers can still read this and get the gist of what is going on. After becoming engrossed in the story and characters, readers will simply want to read the prequel. There are some religious undertones, which are thought-provoking. This book is not suitable for young readers because it has blood, violence, murder, and suggestive scenes (when evil character tries to attack a woman, it backfires on him). Also, each little chapter was never more than a few pages long, which makes this book great since it can be interrupted often with people's busy lives. Stellar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Even better than I expected!

    I have read three books Sigmund Brouwer wrote with Hank Hanegraaff, and enjoyed them very much, so I expected Flight of Shadows to be great as well. It turned out to be even better than I had thought it would.

    I loved how this book was written, and it's one that I couldn't put down. The story was interesting and even suspenseful, and the setting made the book even better. I really enjoyed the characters and how the author gets you to care about what happens to them. The ending was sad, when I read about Razor's background, but that's one of the things that makes this book great. The characters are what makes a story.
    I highly recommend this book to teens and adults.

    Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah for the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    Flight of Shadows review

    Flight of Shadows, what a book. I'm not even a religious person, and if you can get past the Christian parts of the book, the actual story is great. Even if you enter the series in the middle, one book will make you want to go back and read the beginning. The chapters are short and easy to read.

    The characters are dynamic, and well placed. Each character has their own personality. The most interesting being perhaps the main character herself. Forced to hide by the government, and always on the move. Not trusting anyone and having a special value to the government of a post war aftermath. This is an inspiring book for anyone who wants to write. Books don't have to be long, or overwhelming, they just have to be easy to read. I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys post aftermath type settings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1