Customer Reviews for

Flight of the Phoenix (Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book for "pre" & "Tweens" & grandmas too!

Got this book for my granddaughters so I wanted to give it a quick look-see before passing it on to them (have to check everything these days for adult content) and was thoroughly charmed. Read it straight through and am looking forward to the next installment. Highly r...
Got this book for my granddaughters so I wanted to give it a quick look-see before passing it on to them (have to check everything these days for adult content) and was thoroughly charmed. Read it straight through and am looking forward to the next installment. Highly recommend for all ages.

posted by In-love-with-reading on November 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hate it

Suck eggs on this stupid butt book. WRONG BOOK FOR SUNSHINE STATE READERS PEOPLE!!!!!!!!

posted by 5970592 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Great book for "pre" & "Tweens" & grandmas too!

    Got this book for my granddaughters so I wanted to give it a quick look-see before passing it on to them (have to check everything these days for adult content) and was thoroughly charmed. Read it straight through and am looking forward to the next installment. Highly recommend for all ages.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Sunshine state reader.

    This book really touched me. Tip on reading on your nook: get some music on pandora on. Then, press the home button and press this book. Know youcan listen to music while reading. I just finshed and i still have the music going.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    After his parents are lost at sea, ten-year-old Nate is sent to live with a distant relative and learns the amazing truth about his family's history.

    Before he can even unpack, Nate is whisked away on an adventure to Arabia. But Nate isn't the adventurous type.

    When disaster strikes, Nate is left with only his accidental pet gremlin to help him care for the world's only remaining phoenix egg. If he fails to keep the egg safe long enough for it to hatch, the mythical creature will become extinct.

    Fast-paced and full of fun, this is a great choice for the reluctant reader in your life . . . and any other reader, for that matter.

    I immediately liked Nate and enjoyed the journey as he became NATHANIEL FLUDD, BEASTOLOGIST. I'm looking forward to book two and can't wait to see what adventure LaFevers will write Nate into next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book

    Awesome book. I love the detaails

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    totally awesome steampunk-esque book for a younger set

    On September 5, 1928 ten-year-old Nathaniel Fludd's parents are declared lost at sea. Alone in the world with no other close relatives and a governess eager to abscond with her Tidy Sum from the Fludd estate, Nathaniel is sent to live with Phil A. Fludd--a mysterious cousin Nate has never met, let alone heard of in Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist: Flight of the Phoenix by R. L. LaFevers with illustrations by Kelly Murphy.

    It turns out an eccentric cousin is the first of many things his parents never told him. The Fludds come from a long line of Beastologists: explorers who travel the world documenting and protecting rare beasts the world has long forgotten, including one rather unique bird that resides with Nate's eccentric cousin.

    When Nate is whisked off with his Beastologist kin, he finds himself in a world of adventure traveling to Arabia to ensure the safe hatching of the world's only Phoenix.

    But no one said being a Beastologist was easy. When trouble strikes Nate is once again all alone faced with the daunting tasks of protecting the Phoenix egg (and his secret pet Gremlin) while hatching a clever plot to rescue his guardian from the Bedouin.

    The book comes equipped with a glossary of real (and imagined) terms to help readers better make sense of the Steampunk world of Beastologists and the era of 1928 which create a unique

    Flight of the Phoenix is a brilliant story. LaFevers' writing is charming. She evokes Nathaniel's world with wit and humor that is complemented well by Murphy's endearing illustrations. Together the two provide a strong opening to what I hope will be a long series of books.

    Possible Pairings: Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great serieele

    Read the others to they're perfect

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Super

    Is the best book iv read i love iti want to read all

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Z

    This book was great , full of adventure and suspense

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    new sunshine state book

    this book is great for kids in grades 3-5

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    A very interesting and detailed book.

    It was an interesting journey about a boy protecting the phoenix's nest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Awesome

    It rocks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    flight of the phoenix

    Great Book!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Approved!

    I have too say i enjoyed this book even though i finished it on one night. The only thing that i didnt like was the illistrations because to me it looks like a cchild drawing. I guess my opinion would actually be invalid for it was technically a child drawing these pictures. So all in all, its good but it would be great if it were longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Great book to read and review with my grandson!

    What a great surprise! Not sure that I would like this book but it was very exciting. My grandson lives in Florida and I live in Texas so we read a view chapters at a time and answered the questions together. It made me want to read the other Beastologist books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    My nook only gave me 71 pages!!!!

    Its good but my nook rejects it lik crud

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    awesome book .keeps you off your seat.

    very good book.highly recomended for ages 9-12 .it is florida 2011-2012 battle of the books. i defaintly say give it a shot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2