Customer Reviews for

Flint

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Flint

    Nestled away in the rugged lava beds of the New Mexican desert was a pocket of lush green pasture, a small house, and a stream of fresh water. This virtually unknown place, after being deserted for years remained unknown to the outside world, that is until James T. Kettleman a very successful businessman from New York sought it out. You wouldn't expect a big city business man to fair too well in the rough and tough west but Kettleman's mysterious past proves him to be no stranger to guns, horses, and the rowdy lifestyle of cow hands. It just so happened that when Kettleman stumbled into New Mexico he found himself in the middle of a war over ranches and cattle.
    L'amour does a great job in this book of grabbing the attention of the reader. He does so with amazing use of imagery and vivid descriptions. Although the characters in the book are fictional the places are not, L'amour gives such great descriptions of the terrain, and towns because he has seen them with his own eyes which brings a great deal of realism and credibility into his writing. Not only does this book grab the reader's attention, but the details are so real that you feel like you are a part of the story. Also there is just the right amount of mystery to keep the reader on their toes trying to guess what will happen next. As you read this book the old west comes back to life and seems like a not so distant pastime.
    Just as is characteristic of any L'amour western "Flint" is very action packed, filled with adventure, and exciting to read. I would highly recommend reading this book to virtually anyone, it is written so well that anyone can appreciate and enjoy the experience it will give you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    A Classic, one of L'Amour's Finest Westerns.

    I've read quite a few westerns by the late, great Louis L'Amour, but had never read Flint. Was quite curious to do so, as I recently wrote a western myself and have been email corresponding with a good number of other newer writers of westerns...and one book that almost all of them admired in particular, was Flint. Having just finished reading Flint, it is easy to see why this one in particular is so highly respected by the western writers. In Flint, the main character is an educated, urbane, complex fellow, a man really with no real name. He goes off from New York after a doctor tells him he is dying, goes off to the west where he had first come from...goes there to die. Once there, he takes the name Jim Flint, after a gunfighter, also Flint, who had raised him. Flint thinks he's going to go to this hide out he knows of, kick back and die in peace, but of course he is wrong. As soon as he gets off the train trouble starts. Flint is a man who thinks he's soon to die, and as such he 'just doesn't give a damn.' This makes him one unusual character. Flint is a book with a complex plot, full of interesting twists and turns, and although I've enjoyed almost every Louis L'Amour book I've read, this one really does stand out as a classic. A book that's hard to put down, fun to read, and hard to beat, Flint is a MUST read for every fan of good westerns. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book.

    Lots of description and had great storyline. I would recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Wonderful

    This is the first book my Loui that I have read, and I don't know how any other could beat it. This was a wonderful book, great characters, story. Wonderfuly written, good ending. The first part may be a bit slow, but right afterwards you will get right into it and not want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Excellent book!

    This is an excellent book! I've read almost every one of Louis L'Amour's books, and this one is definitely one of my favorites! Great story line, great characters, and well written! I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    One of my favorite non-Sackett tales

    This story is like an onion or perhaps a geode. Each layer peeled away reveals not only another layer but a new treasure. Flint's camp in the malpais lava fields; the hunter becomes the hunted theme and the surprise when the villain misreads the hero. I noticed this time the use of the S&W #3, which despite a very long and stories history in the US and elsewhere, is seldom mentioned in Western cowboy novels.

    I've read this story before, at least twice, and if the Lord is willing, I'll probably read it a time or two more. It's still a good tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    I had this book from a long time ago because my dad was a huge f

    I had this book from a long time ago because my dad was a huge fan of Louis L'Amour. I know there are more of Louis L'Amour's books around here somewhere, at least one or two paperbacks, but I haven't been able to find them.

    As for Flint, I didn't really know what to expect. I think I was of the belief that it would be a bit boring. It's shorter than most books written nowadays, and being so old, I doubted it would keep my interest. I was pleasantly surprised by it.

    The writing is simple, the descriptions are as well. But somehow that lends an easily lost in style. I enjoyed this book. If you don't like westerns and the more basic style writing, you may not like it, but for me, it was an enjoyable read. When I say basic writing, I mean, "he walked through the door." Says what it describes, with no extra words. It's like that throughout the book. I liked it. As a writer, it tells me that whether you write a lot of description or not, someone will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Kato

    Walks in glancein around

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    To kuro

    Soneones waiting for you in res.8

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    night

    night flys in and tackles thunder pinning him down with her wings ( i have been looking every were for you have you lost what little brain you had left ) she snarld in his face her eyes and morkings glowing red she looks to kuro ( i am sorry for my former pack mate has done i will take him home to stand trail ) she dips her head to the other alpha ( and you my son you have no chance of any kind of speicail because your my son ) she growls then pics him up and flys back to thier camp

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    night

    night pad s in and smaks thunder and knocks him down pinsing him down with her paw she then looks at kuro ( i am very sorry for what my son has done i promise he will punnished more than he can even begain to think and thank you i have been looking for him for a very long time i know he has killed one of your wolves and dont worry you will no longer have to worry about him ( she bows her head at the other alpha ) p.s the alpha gathering is today at 7:00 easten standerd time at alpha first result

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Growl

    Sorry i was gone so long.... vaction.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    thunder

    thunder smiles ( i did as you can see i just killed your alpha and what i was taught is that if an alpha was killed the killer would either clame becomeing alpha or the beta becomes alpha and i killed your alpha and im claiming the spot of alpha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    thunder

    thunder pads in ( i am thunder the son of night and star) he runs and jumps on fires back the bite his neck and snaps his neck then jumps down ( this is my pack now you have a problem with it you can join your alpha in the heavens if not then great dont worry i wont make very many changes) he smiles and sits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    night

    night to fire ( i am the alpha female of the pack of the rising moon and i just wanted to say if you need any thing please dont hesatate to ask me my pack is at night class first result ) she spreades her wings ( well see you at the alphas meeting ) she runs out the flys back to her own camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Goldfire

    *pads out*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    GIVE ME VICTORY OR GIVE ME DEATH

    RL Pack issues challenge. If you want a war you've got it. We are ready and will show you your mistakes. 'Rl' at result two. --Kolo of MacMoon Pack

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    RL pack allie

    ((All I know is, one of youposted a war post somewhere and were answering it.))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    A hunter

    Walks in with a gernade and a double barel shotgun and killes every one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Jay

    Prim, I'm going to join PowerPack. See you there
    - Jay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5