Customer Reviews for

Flip This Zombie (Living with the Dead Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    I am truly enjoying every word of this series! Hurry & join the fun!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Loved it!!!!!

    Funny book you won't want to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second installment of the Life and Times of Zombie f

    This is the second installment of the Life and Times of Zombie fighting Sarah and David: two people
    madly in love with each other fighting zombies while trying to find a place to just take a nice clean shower.

    They are starting to have a nack for getting into trouble, and this time I think they are way over their head.
    What's worse than a Zombie? A Mad scientist making more Zombies!!!

    Can Sarah and David fight Zombies, kids, A mad scientist AND each other??!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    :)

    Really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Excellent

    Loved book 1, love book 2 even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Slower than the first

    Another book that was good!! It started off rather slow for my taste, it seemed as if the two were getting nowhere, and then the scientist, etc completely threw me off. I'm glad I continued reading this!! Ended up being a very enjoyable book!! Now off to start Eat, Slay, Love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jesse Peterson's Zombies are a Hit

    Flip this Zombie

    By: Jesse Petersen

    Copyright January 2011

    Publisher - Orbit Fantasy

    Sarah and David's marriage had been in the toilet, and then the Zombie Apocalypse hit the country. They decided that it was their job to rid the world of zombies and formed a company for just that purpose.

    Zombiebusters Extermination, Inc.

    The Inc. was David's idea, to make them appear more professional. Sarah went from being a bit shy around weapons to becoming a virtual killing machine with any hand weapon available to her. They are spending the night at one of the safe zones and find a message left for them by a potential client. After debating the possibilities of the job they decide to take it. Little did they know that the Mad Scientist who they signed on with had a lot more than their welfare in mind.

    Thus begins book two of the Living With the Dead series. If you like comedy, zombies, lots of heavy weapons and marriage infighting this is the book for you.

    I'm looking forward to Eat Slay Love, the third book in this comedic rampage across middle America and the fight for Food, Fun, and the end to all Zombies.

    FTC Full Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library with the full intent of reviewing it.e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This series needs more attention

    I thouroughly enjoy this series thus far,funny stuff. First book was cute ,how a zombie apocalypse brings them closer together and now they are capitalizing off their survical skills killing zombies lol the humor is down to earth and its like just anorher during the zombie apocalypse. I like the authora take on the zombie genre andi enjoyed both books very much see 2 more books on their way a stand alone short and the third installment. Check em out fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie AND humour~!!

    Flip This Zombie is the second book in the Living With The Dead series. I haven't had the opportunity to peruse book one as yet, but it is not needed to sink your teeth into this book. With quips throughout the story to keep you on track in case you did not read the first one, author Jesse Petersen keeps you involved and entertained with humour, horror and humanities desire to survive, no matter what the circumstances. David and Sarah are a husband/wife team who decides to make the best out of a life-altering situation. Zombies are on the loose, the Apocalypse is upon them and their choices are limited. Combining their combat and ingenious weapons skills the two decide to create ZombieBusters, zombie mercenaries who will eradicate your infestation for a price, well, okay so they will settle for a bag of band-aids, but that besides the point. After taking on a client who wants fresh zombies for his experiments, Sarah and David learn along the way that there is a new strain of zombies, a faster, stronger and more intelligent version of what they are dealing with now. Through several twists and turns in the story we uncover the mysteries of the new strain of "super-zombies". Will David and Sarah have the moxy to destroy their new threat or will it destroy them both?? I love zombie books, they are one of my favourite genres to read. I love how Jesse brings current affair humour to the story...giggled over poor Mel Gibson being turned into a zombie on Day 4. I found Sarah unreasonably bull-headed during a time when caution should always be a factor, as well, I found her whiny, spoiled and dangerous to have around. I love David's quiet and forceful nature, a man who says what he means and means what he says and often left walking away shaking his head in consternation over the antics of his wife. I enjoyed the look into what life would be life if a zombie apocalypse did occur, the tent cities, everyone on edge, always looking over their shoulders and the suspicions that arise when everyone is in it for themselves. I cannot wait to read more...and my husband and oldest son both AGREE~!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie goodness.

    A nice quick read, enjoyed the first a bit more but this one was good all the same. Now I am impatiently awaiting the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Exciting follow up to Fun

    I read the first in this series, "Married with Zombies" on a whim due to the silly title. I got hook by the brash writing style, main characters, and found it had the right amount of realistic description that it engaged me. I bought this book, and the author has cranked it up a notch! All of the above still applies, but there were a couple of places where I simply could NOT put the book down!! Exciting, suspenseful, engaging! Overall, a great read - especially fun on the Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good follow up to the first one

    Like the first book, this is an easy, enjoyable read. There are some laugh out loud scenes and again, fun banter between husband and wife. Its not a literary masterpiece, but a good way to enjoy the day reading. I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I laughed. I got a little squeamish. And I think I'll be sleeping with the lights on tonight.

    After reading the first book in the series, Married with Zombies, I have been anxiously awaiting the second installment of the Living with the Dead series. I'm a big zombie fan, and I've always been a little bummed that so few people take advantage of the opportunities for humor where zombies are concerned. Possibly one of the reasons I'm so in love with these books is that they are funny, and there's all the zombie stuff of course, but they have a certain mix of dark reality, humor and real people that make these books so enjoyable.

    Flip this Zombie focuses on what David and Sarah have been doing since the world fell apart and picked itself back up and moved on a little. Considering their zombie killing tactics learned early on, they've set up shop as the go-to-guys for all your zombie killing needs! The plot of Flip this Zombie dips into the dark reality that not all people are good - and if given the opportunity they could very well do some very bad things. But you have the ZombieBusters to call on for help, laughs and a decapitated zombie. There are some seriously awesome parts that I will not spoil, I'll just tell you to get ready to reread some parts and laugh!

    I laughed. I got a little squeamish. And I think I'll be sleeping with the lights on tonight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Even better than the first!

    FLIP THIS ZOMBIE, by Jesse Petersen, is the second book in the Living With The Dead Series. In the last book, Sarah and David discovered that zombies were taking over the entire West Coast. Now they are working as freelance zombie hunters. They come across a scientist who wants to find a cure but nothing about this man is as it seems.

    My favorite zombie-hunting couple is back! This time they have taken their talents and are using them to their advantage. They set up residency in a survivor camp and by day they hunt zombies for supplies. They soon run into a scientist who wants the couple to bring back live zombies for experimentation. After accepting this offer, they run into The Kid, a smart-mouthed twelve year old, and they all work together for The Cure.

    Just when they thought their relationship issues were over, they are soon brought out again by Kevin, the scientist. David and Sarah both have differing ideas on what his motives are and soon they are at each others throats. I loved how The Kid added to the tension. He was adorable and at the same time, a major brat.

    Petersen definitely has thought long and hard about zombie hunting. Her descriptions of fighting and capturing the zombies are extremely inventive. Once again, this book proved to be another masterpiece in this series. I found myself laughing way too hard at times and also pulling for this couple to survive. I can't wait for the next book, Eat Slay Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Zombie fan or not, DO NOT miss this LIVING WITH THE DEAD Series!

    I find Jesse Petersen's series fabulous so far. Flip This Zombie continues nicely from the first book (Married With Zombies). David and Sarah are a fabulous couple and I am positive you will fall in love with them as they go through their trials and tribulations.
    Jesse's writing style is great, as are her detailed descriptions of the landscape, the couples feelings, and she has hit this one outta the park.
    I urge you to read Flip This Zombie, as well as it's predecessor, Married With Zombies. You will not regret it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Humor and gore come together in this entertaining straightforward urban fantasy

    David and Sarah believe they can make a go of their marriage and form a business after learning so much about Living with the Dead (see Married with Zombies). They figure there must be a lot of paying customers In Arizona who would hire them to exterminate zombies; ergo Zombiebusters Exterminators, Inc. is born with the vision of being the Trump or Gates of Zombie killing.

    Research scientist Dr. Kevin Barnes hires the pair to catch a live zombie specimen so he can conduct field work in his efforts to find a cure for the plague. Sarah is attracted to the handsome scientist. However, the pair realizes the zombies are changing into creatures more dangerous than those they first battered as the new generation is faster and contains cognitive thinking skills. However, they capture one with the help of eleven year old Robbie who demands a cut.

    Humor and gore come together in this entertaining straightforward urban fantasy as the couple reconciles their differences indirectly due to the fear factor of zombie marital counseling. The story line is fast-paced though quite bloody linear while Jesse Peterson offers suggestions to the successful business mogul to make a profit and staying alive. Fans who appreciate an irreverent tale will add to their contact list Zombiebusters Exterminators, Inc. as "who ya gonna call?" the duo driving the "doobious" Mystery Machine.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4