Customer Reviews for

Flipping Out (Lomax and Biggs Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flipping Out

    I am a huge fan of The Rabbit Factory and Blood Thirsty and could not wait to get my hands on Flipping Out. Sadly, for me, Flipping Out was a disappointment. A disappointment because I read it too quickly and wanted MORE! Seriously, though, while I was a little let down at the length of the book compared to Mr. Karp's fist two, the story did not let me down at all. Still the same great cast of characters, moments that had me laughing out loud, and a nicely written mystery. Now I'm disappointed again, because I have to wait until the next Lomax and Biggs book comes out! To anyone who enjoys mystery and humor and "real" characters who hasn't read these books - what the heck are you waiting for?? You will love them!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll flip over the ending of this book!

    Flipping Out by Marshall Karp

    I have to say that this book just flat out really did it for me. I have found a new obsession in Mr. Karps writing! I love mysteries, and this is a police procedural too.then to add the cherry onto the cake it is also laugh out loud funny. Mr. Karp better be sitting in front of his word processor right this minute cranking out the next book in this series that's all I have to say. I read this the third in the series first and as soon as I was done, I immediately went back and ordered the first two on this series - The Rabbit Factory and Bloodthirsty. There really is no need to read the first books in order since each can stand on it's own quite nicely, but it may help clarify some minor points and "in" jokes..

    Okay now down to the nitty gritty - this series stars two of LAPD's finest Detectives Mike Lomax, Terry Biggs (an aspiring stand up comic) and a whole slew of other equally hilarious secondary characters, including Mike's teamster father who loves to be a butinski, Mikes lady friend Diana and Terry's wife Marilyn. The first murder that happens, just happens to be another detective's wife and then there is a second murder of a cop's wife and then. well you get the idea! What do these murders have in common besides they are all cops wives? Well this group of women just all happen to belong to a club that flips houses for profit and this group includes Terry's wife Marilyn. This club is headed by famed mystery writer Nora Bannister who is writing a series of mystery books called The House to Die For Series. Each house in her series is an actual house newly renovated by the partners and as soon as the newest house in the series is ready to go on the market the wives start dying.

    If you think you will be able to figure out who-dun-it quickly and neatly you have a big surprise coming to you. I thought I had it all wrapped up neatly too, but Mr. Karp manages to throw in one heck of a curve ball at the end.
    Add to this some additional mayhem of Mike and Diana buying and renovating an older home and the humor never stops.

    PS: I just finished the The Rabbit Factory and Bloodthirsty and highly recommend them also

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    Best Kept Secret

    How is it that after three stellar books, Marshall Karp is still unknown to the mainstream public? Flipping Out is yet another thiller that is both riveting and hilarious. If you are new to the series and are looking to enjoy the summer, buy all three and read them in order. If you are hopping on a plane, grab any one you can and settle in. Heck, the airlines may no longer give you peanuts, but Karp doesn't skimp on the characters, dialogue or plot. I also recommend going to his website -- he is a wonderfully funny blogger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Awesome Lomax & Biggs Mystery!

    Flipping Out is the third book in a wonderful series by Marshall Karp featuring LAPD Homicide Detectives Mike Lomax and Terry Biggs. If you haven't read the first two yet, never fear. Karp's style of writing is such that you can jump right in and hit the ground running... then go back and order books one and two, The Rabbit Factory and Bloodthirsty. :-)

    The premise of Flipping Out revolves around a group of women who form a business to renovate and "flip" houses for profit. Lomax & Biggs become "involved" with the project when a member of the house flipping group, who was also the wife of one of their fellow detectives, is murdered at the location of the group's most recent house flipping project. Before Lomax & Biggs can figure out whether the victim was targeted because she was a police officer's wife or because she was a member of the house flipping team a second murder occurs, also of a woman who was a member of the house flipping team and a police officer's wife. Clearly, Lomax & Biggs have their hands full with a serial killer, and from there the pursuit is on in a race against the clock to catch the killer before he/she can work their way through the entire house flipping team.

    It's not easy to write a book that is both edge of your seat mystery as well as laugh-out-loud funny, but Karp pulls it off effortlessly. The black humor banter between Lomax & Biggs is razor sharp, and the one-liners fly fast and furious. But beneath the surface jocularity there is real depth to the characters in Karp's novels. Even the most bit player comes across as three-dimensional, and Lomax & Biggs are fully realized characters, wonderfully painted in a million shades of grey... there is nothing "stock" about these Hollywood Detectives.

    Far from putting it into cruise control for his third book, Karp just keeps getting better. This is easily the most complex mystery of his three offerings to date. The "who" of the "who dunnit?" is never obvious, and even when you think you've got it figured out Karp manages to serve up a wicked curveball of an ending. If you like mysteries, police procedurals, characters with depth, and laugh-out-loud writing then look no further... Flipping Out has it all, and then some!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    Killer Karp

    If you liked his previous books, you will flip out over this one. It has all the humor and heart of Rabbit Factory and Blood Thirsty, but it has a killer plot that zips along so seamlessly that you'll discover it's 2AM and you can't stop reading. I loved this book. More, please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    Awesome

    Some suthours write a good first novel and then slack off-not Karp, he delivers. His characters (Lomax & Biggs) are so real you can reach out and touch them. The Rabbit Factory, Blood Thirsty, and Flipping Out are "must reads". If you like Demille's style you'll love Marshall Karp. Murder, mystery, mayhem, and monkeyshines between the covers of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    Flipping Out is a homerun

    Marshall Karp's latest, the third in the series, has his dynamic
    detective team, Lomax and Biggs, up to their eyeballs in a clever and
    surprisingly apt murder mystery. A bunch of women partner up with a famous lady mystery writer whose hook is to write about houses where murders are committed and then rehab and sell the houses. "Houses to Die For," she calls it. Brilliant, I calls it, and timely.
    Everything is going well and then the partners start getting killed.
    For Lomax and Biggs the stakes get significantly higher, the women are all cops' wives, and Biggs's wife is one of the partners.
    This is a smart, funny procedural, with plenty of twists and surprises and smooth dialogue to keep you interested and turning the pages.
    It's also a great way to escape the current mess for a while.
    Sometimes you just have to stop and smell the victims.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific Read

    Flipping Out is a fast paced murder mystery. The cops are well-written, likeable characters who are quicker with their wits than with their guns. The plot twists and turns, leading in several unpredictable directions, finally culminating in a terrific surprising conclusion. I highly recommend this book to any mystery or humor fans. Very funny and thrilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans who enjoy a facetious funny yet suspenseful investigative thriller will want to read flippant FLIPPING OUT.

    Southern California residents are stunned and frightened when several spouses of cops are murdered by a serial killer with an apparent grudge. LAPD assigns homicide detectives Michael Lomax and Terry Biggs to lead the investigation. The common threat besides the jobs of their husbands is all the victims belong to the LA Flippers; a group making money even with the housing bubble bursting by flipping out houses for sale.<BR/><BR/>Lomax and Biggs interview the surviving members including the only no cop wife popular mystery writer Nora Bannister, but nothing makes sense as all the ladies do together is flip houses. More murders follow as several suspects surface. However, Terry is especially concerned as his wife is one of the surviving flippers.<BR/><BR/>In their latest Southern California police procedural (see THE RABBIT FACTORY and BLOODTHIRSTY), LAPD Detectives Mike Lomax and Terry Biggs feel incredible pressure beyond the usual brass, media and political harangue as this case is personal. It is so much so it even intrudes on their poker game. Although the plot is thin, fans who enjoy a facetious funny yet suspenseful investigative thriller will want to read flippant FLIPPING OUT.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Great Book

    This is a great book. I read it in 2 days. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So glad Lomax & Biggs are back!!!

    This third installment in the Lomax & Biggs series does not disappoint. The wonderfully written characters are so quirky and flawed they'll feel like members of your own family. The plot twists will keep you guessing until the end, but not without a lot of laughs along the way. Not only a definite read for fans of the detective duo, but a must for anyone looking for a quick, witty read topped with an air of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2