Customer Reviews for

Flirt (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(251)

2 Star

(116)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

super fantasy thriller

Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the i...
Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the individual who crossed over will not be the same person who returns. He begs her, but though sympathizing with him and wanting to say yes, she knows the consequences as the love of Tony's life will not come back the way he thinks. She continues to say no.

A few days later, Anita is at a restaurant when were-lions Nicky and Jacob join her. They are hired thugs who are to kidnap Anita in order to force her to bring back Mr. Bennington's wife. They explain why she should cooperate as her shapeshifting boyfriends are hostages. Anita gives them her weapons as she accompanies them to their lair. Although telepathically asking for help and being blocked by a witch from communicating, she now knows she will work this one alone as her loved ones are at stake.

Although a short novel, Flirt is Laurell K. Hamilton at her very best as it packs quite an emotional wallop from the moment a grieving Bennington begs her for help and that keeps the angst level high. Also keeping the tension level high is the heroine's love for her mates as she fights with all her strength and powers to end this High Moon confrontation. Throughout this tale the passions run stratospheric yet the plot is loaded with action as Anita must contend with powerful hooligan shapeshifters and their boss if she is to keep her boyfriends safe and not cause collateral damage; all she needs is a plan to deploy as she is buying time, but nothing else.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

And then there were Four

I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in ...
I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in the Anita-verse. I am including Anita in the four - with Jason, Nathaniel and Micah - because she's lost herself in the last several novels. The majority of the story is Anita defending her sexual conquests with people outside of her circle, having her entourage tell her how beautiful and powerful she is and finally (10 pages maybe) "action" and "adventure" in the story. Where are Jean-Claude and Richard? Where is Asher? Where is the debate between characters (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the drama (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the passion (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the adventure (having nothing to do with sex)? I think the most unfortunate crutch that Ms. Hamilton imposed in her writing of Anita was the Arduer. If she wanted to allow her characters to have sex, then allow them to. Only girls need an "excuse." And as Anita is fond of pointing out, she's the most unlike girl of the girls. Pick Jeaniene Frost, or Patricia Briggs or Karen Chance if you want adventure and excitement and sex. When their characters consent, there are no excuses and they actually further the plot.

posted by megchranne on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 59
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    And then there were Four

    I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in the Anita-verse. I am including Anita in the four - with Jason, Nathaniel and Micah - because she's lost herself in the last several novels. The majority of the story is Anita defending her sexual conquests with people outside of her circle, having her entourage tell her how beautiful and powerful she is and finally (10 pages maybe) "action" and "adventure" in the story. Where are Jean-Claude and Richard? Where is Asher? Where is the debate between characters (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the drama (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the passion (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the adventure (having nothing to do with sex)? I think the most unfortunate crutch that Ms. Hamilton imposed in her writing of Anita was the Arduer. If she wanted to allow her characters to have sex, then allow them to. Only girls need an "excuse." And as Anita is fond of pointing out, she's the most unlike girl of the girls. Pick Jeaniene Frost, or Patricia Briggs or Karen Chance if you want adventure and excitement and sex. When their characters consent, there are no excuses and they actually further the plot.

    64 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    That's It??

    First of all I'm a huge Anita fan but that's it? Way too short for the price asking for it. Flirt had a good story line but went into all the action way too soon. Some parts I think were totally irrelevent to the book. I could really care less if there were sex scences in the book or not. I also agree with alot of other readers that she needs to bring back the main characters like Jean Claude and Asher. They make the books more exciting. My overall reveiw was that it was an ok book but could have been much more longer and more in depth with the storyline.

    37 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SOOOOO DISAPPOINTED!!!!

    I own all the previous Anita Blakes and was eagerly anticipating "Flirt". I was disappointed the minute I saw how thin the book was( all the others are quite lengthy). "Flirt" read exactly as I was afraid it was going to: a short story. If you like short stories, you probably don't read Laurell K. Hamilton. I felt as if the best parts of Anita's world were completely missing from this book! No Jean Claude, no Richard, no Asher, no Circus or police department, no banter with Zerbrowski or Dolph, no relationship turns with her men, no Belle Morte, NOTHING!!!! It felt empty, like I was reading a random novel almost, but not quite like an Anita Blake novel. Almost like it was an afterthought, in between book for Hamilton. I also thought the comic in the back was cheesy and not funny, not to mention as UNLIKE an Anita Blake novel as you can get. I hope she produces the REAL Anita Blake book soon, because this is just not cutting it for me!!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't waste your money. Barely over 100 pages.

    This isn't even a whole book. It's a short story that they're selling for the full price of a regular hard cover. I don't know which insults me more, that there's little to recommend the book in terms of plot and character or that it's full price for just over 100 pages. There's barely any involvement of the regular characters in Anita's life. I'm assuming the point of the book is to introduce the latest guy in her bed before the next full book but to charge readers as if it were a full continuation of Anita's story is just silly. And then to add a section on where she came up with the idea and her writing technique just adds insult to injury. At this point I don't think I care how she comes up with her disappointing ideas. I just wish they'd get better!! If you're a huge fan who's come to terms with the decline in her storytelling then by all means read this book. Just get it from the library so you're not stuck paying full price for something that'll take a couple hours to read.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    First of all, no Jean-Claude. WHY????!!!! He makes the series!
    Second of all, wayy to short. Finished it in 2 hours. Waste of $20.
    Third of all, Anita gets another notch on her belt.
    I liked the old, I-dont-sleep-with-everyone-I-see, Anita better.
    I dont know why I keep buying these books. They continue to be plotless. I guess I just keep hoping LKH will get a clue and write the way she used to. But as long as we all keep buying them, what does she care?

    I prefer Jeaniene Frost anyways =)

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Disappointed in tripe

    For those of you who thought the last book might be turning a corner and returning Anita to the vampire hunter we all fell in love with, think again. Sadly this one harkens back to Micah, all fluff, and except with more of Anita's morals and inhibitions tossed into the wind. If I wanted to read soft-core porn, I'd have gravitated to LKH's fairy series. Look forward to even more erosion of ethics in this one. If you liked Guilty Pleasures thru Obsidian Butterfly, don't read this one, you'll only come away from it more outraged at what LKH has done to the character.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Don't buy this!

    It's my own fault - I bought this without reading the reviews. To say that I feel cheated is an understatement. I bought the ebook version for my nook and the only thing I can be happy about is that I only paid 9.99 and not 23.99 for the actual book. 117 epages long, of which quite a lot is devoted to LKH rambling about inspiration and some insipid cartoons at the end which do a better job with the plot than the 117 pages of "writing".
    LKH has clearly been running out of steam for the last few books in both series, but this effort is just insulting to her fans. Guess she's made some bad investments or something and needs the money - well, she won't get any more of mine after this.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Ugh...

    After that long wait and $10 for a 119 page ebook. What a waste. This book seemed hurried. I feel like Laurell K Hamilton just threw together this book out of obligation- lacked the favorites of Anita. Not even one scene with Jean Claude!!!
    I wish I could get my wasted money back.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    super fantasy thriller

    Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the individual who crossed over will not be the same person who returns. He begs her, but though sympathizing with him and wanting to say yes, she knows the consequences as the love of Tony's life will not come back the way he thinks. She continues to say no.

    A few days later, Anita is at a restaurant when were-lions Nicky and Jacob join her. They are hired thugs who are to kidnap Anita in order to force her to bring back Mr. Bennington's wife. They explain why she should cooperate as her shapeshifting boyfriends are hostages. Anita gives them her weapons as she accompanies them to their lair. Although telepathically asking for help and being blocked by a witch from communicating, she now knows she will work this one alone as her loved ones are at stake.

    Although a short novel, Flirt is Laurell K. Hamilton at her very best as it packs quite an emotional wallop from the moment a grieving Bennington begs her for help and that keeps the angst level high. Also keeping the tension level high is the heroine's love for her mates as she fights with all her strength and powers to end this High Moon confrontation. Throughout this tale the passions run stratospheric yet the plot is loaded with action as Anita must contend with powerful hooligan shapeshifters and their boss if she is to keep her boyfriends safe and not cause collateral damage; all she needs is a plan to deploy as she is buying time, but nothing else.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    A Sexual Fantasy Dream, not a story

    I like Laurel Hamilton when there is drama and substance. This is not one of those. The book is only 117 pages of which 40 were story. The cartoon at the end really? Were they to fill a requisit number of pages?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    too short and no realy story.... a total bust!

    I am a devoted fan of Laurell so even with bad reviews; I thought I'd still give it a go. Nope, I hate to say it but it was really, really bad. Not to mention the long dedications and the huge section on her and her inspirations, going so far as to put it in a comic strip?? I truly love this author but the conceit the end implied left a horrible taste in my mouth. Too many projects and fame to really write anymore what a shame, it's a great series I would truly hate to see it die like this. What can I say but that I'm truly heartbroken.....

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Gosh... I love LKH...But mannnnn what an overpriced waste!

    This was really not worth the money, I spent $9.99 and downloaded this on my nook and gosh... LKH could have done better. LKH has done better. I agree with most of the reviews, in that this was not her best, it was actually her worst. Yes, we did get a new character who was strong and turned into a weak lost kitten that followed her home. I guess LKH feels she is so good she can just go to a restaurant get one idea and sell it for more than its worth, just by her name....Yep, she did it :-/ and I fell right into that one..ugh... live and learn... as I think of it even Gena Showalter sells her short books for under $3.00 and they are still good. I paid because I expected better from LKH, because she was one of my favorite writers. So if you are a fan of LKH writings, then I can not tell you not to get it, her reputation in past writing hold its on...But I can say after you read it...I told you so... mannnnn what an overpriced waste.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Wait, was that all?

    Honestly, I felt like I over paid for this book. There was no actual story, it was little bit of this, and little bit of that. I understand this series has quite bit of main characters, which I don't mind if the author writes individual book for each character. The title was "Flirt", well yeah I can see where the tittle was from (How Anita established her talent of flirting over lunch break, we also learn that Anita's weakness are her lovers, and how love have change her...this is pretty much it). I do feel like this is a side story of a main story, and I really hope the main story will be coming out anytime now. Like series # 17, I am quite disappointed with how thin the book was.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    terrible not worth reading

    The plot was bad the characters were really bad. I have read all of the Anita Blake novels and they were very good, I was very disappoinated in this one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    Disappointed

    I'm an avid fan who hasn't read the book yet. I have to say at first glance, I'm really disappointed. On my nook the story starts on page 10 and ends on page 106, meaning the actual story content is 96 pages, little more than a short story. I've found her writing entertaining even through the story decline and kept buying her books, but this may be the end for me. I reserve total judgment until I've actually read it.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anita Blake for President!

    I have read all of Laurell K. Hamillton's previous 17 books in the Anita Blake series and have LOVED them all. Some of them are 200 pages and others are 750 pages. As an avid fan, I am just delighted to have any new material on Anita and gang and am very appreciative that LKH has taken the time to produce 2 Anita books this year. And to the person who said they were not going to read the series based on this short story publication, you sure are judging a book by its cover and cutting yourself short. Why dont you try reading the other 17 books before passing judgment. Every other Anita fan will agree with me, that you do not know what you are missing by not reading the series. We are lucky the series is this long considering many authors limit series lengths. I have reserved my copy and will be picking up Flirt tonight on my way home from work. I'd read any new Anita book. Again, THANK YOU LKH for giving us, even if not a 500 pg novel, more Anita. Long Live Anita Blake!!!!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    appalling rip-off

    On and on about how the author gets her ideas. Then, no book. You could stretch to call it a novelette or extended short story, but why bother. Save your money. I've read all Laurel h\Hamilton's novels. She seems to be putting less and less of her energy and talent into writing. A shame from a writer whose vampire executioner and gentry series both started out so well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Good read, but too short for the $

    I'm a fan of the Anita Blake series, but I feel that over the last few years the author has gotten away from plot and too much into the sexual escapades of her characters. The last couple of books have been much better in terms of plot, but it looks like what's happened with other authors I like (Janet Evanovich - those "in between the numbers" books, for example) is also happening with this one - publishing hardcover novellas as if they were novels and charging novel prices to the consumer. Flirt was only 158 pages long, with wide margins and pretty big type, and the suggested retail is $23.95. I wonder if it's the publisher urging the authors to do it or just the authors getting greedy. All it makes me do is wait for it to show up at the public library. That being said though, I thought that Flirt was pretty well written. The vamps are noticibly absent though, but at only 158 pages, I don't imagine she would be able to include very much at all other than the main plot line.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Hated it too!

    Apparently Ms. Hamilton has nothing new to write about so she just used some of the plot lines from previous Anita books to crank out this hunk of junk. I think that the Mary Gentry and Anita characters are merging into the same person so apparently she needs help keeping her characters new and interesting also. And where are Asher and Jean Claude? They were the best part of the series and now we're stuck with yet another new guy in Anita's life? Come on! Bring back Asher and Jean Claude. And what's with making Asher a whiner in Dance Macabre? Bullet better not suck this bad or I am done with the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    riveting!

    this is a fun read. but i really miss jean-claude.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 59