Customer Reviews for

Flirt (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(251)

2 Star

(116)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

super fantasy thriller

Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the i...
Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the individual who crossed over will not be the same person who returns. He begs her, but though sympathizing with him and wanting to say yes, she knows the consequences as the love of Tony's life will not come back the way he thinks. She continues to say no.

A few days later, Anita is at a restaurant when were-lions Nicky and Jacob join her. They are hired thugs who are to kidnap Anita in order to force her to bring back Mr. Bennington's wife. They explain why she should cooperate as her shapeshifting boyfriends are hostages. Anita gives them her weapons as she accompanies them to their lair. Although telepathically asking for help and being blocked by a witch from communicating, she now knows she will work this one alone as her loved ones are at stake.

Although a short novel, Flirt is Laurell K. Hamilton at her very best as it packs quite an emotional wallop from the moment a grieving Bennington begs her for help and that keeps the angst level high. Also keeping the tension level high is the heroine's love for her mates as she fights with all her strength and powers to end this High Moon confrontation. Throughout this tale the passions run stratospheric yet the plot is loaded with action as Anita must contend with powerful hooligan shapeshifters and their boss if she is to keep her boyfriends safe and not cause collateral damage; all she needs is a plan to deploy as she is buying time, but nothing else.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

And then there were Four

I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in ...
I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in the Anita-verse. I am including Anita in the four - with Jason, Nathaniel and Micah - because she's lost herself in the last several novels. The majority of the story is Anita defending her sexual conquests with people outside of her circle, having her entourage tell her how beautiful and powerful she is and finally (10 pages maybe) "action" and "adventure" in the story. Where are Jean-Claude and Richard? Where is Asher? Where is the debate between characters (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the drama (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the passion (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the adventure (having nothing to do with sex)? I think the most unfortunate crutch that Ms. Hamilton imposed in her writing of Anita was the Arduer. If she wanted to allow her characters to have sex, then allow them to. Only girls need an "excuse." And as Anita is fond of pointing out, she's the most unlike girl of the girls. Pick Jeaniene Frost, or Patricia Briggs or Karen Chance if you want adventure and excitement and sex. When their characters consent, there are no excuses and they actually further the plot.

posted by megchranne on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    to short

    love this author and series but this was to short for the money, there was barely anything to the plot line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her best by a long shot!

    This book was one I couldn't wait for so I reserved it and when I picked it up I was instantly disappointed. The book was really short, with a full price though, and I found it really hard to read. The previous books had been long but I was so into them I got them read in about 2-3 days. This one took forever because I kept falling asleep it was sssoooo boring! I'll preorder Bullet and hope it's up to the standards I've come to expect from the Anita Blake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    not the best

    Hamilton blew it with this one. Not only was the book short, it was DULL. Not the usual style of writing. The suspense and fun just was not there. I think Anita Blake is getting old and stodgy. Will think twice about buying any more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    are you serious

    I have been a Anita Blake fan since the beginning and I belive if anita saw what was going to happen to her she would have killed Jean-claude asap. It is sad that such a strong positive female charcter has once again become a slut her actions and stories are not sci-fi anymore they are nothing but sex. I mean seriously another guy what is this a harem I will have to give serious thought to buying anymore of the anita series I am very sad but I dont like porno and basically anita has turned into this. hopefully Ms. Hamilton will realize this before it is to late and anita fans give up on her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read them all and this one disappointed me

    I am a fan of Anita Blake, a true fan, and I've rooted for her through all the installments of her story. The last few stories have left me wondering where she was going, and this one really left me disappointed. The writing itself was just not at the high level I expect from this author and the characters were very two-dimensional. I, like a lot of other reviewers, miss Asher and Jean-Claude. I miss the cast of investigators Anita used to work with. I read the "bonus material" included at the end of the book, and wasn't impressed with it either. Bottom line, I know this author can do better and hope to see that next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A disappointment!

    I'm a great fan of Hamilton and Anita Blake, but this story seemed rushed and far too short as though it was being produced to meet an arbitrary deadline and the book was sent out heavily padded with vast expanses of white space and cartoons at the end. Not something I hope to find repeated in Hamilton's future books. Flirt is not up to the standards set by the other Anita Blake books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Repetitive drivel.

    This installment was atrocious. An unnecessary rehashing of previous themes. Ms. Hamilton is in dire need of both an editor and a thesaurus. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Unimpressed and Disappointed

    I always look forward to an Anita Blake release. I got hooked many years after the series began. I read the first books about 1-9 in matter of just a few weeks. I even stayed through Hamilton's soft-core porn phase in middle books such as Micah where basically every page was filled with sex. Plot developments, and character growth still seemed to grow slightly and I remained hopeful that she would return to similar lines in the early book, and she did in my opinion for the last few books. THIS book however seemed to me to have absolutely NO substance. It almost seemed like "filler" to me. If you watch a T.V. series religiously you notice some episodes just seem to exist with no real ties to the core plot. I apply that to chapters in a book, NOT the entire book as I feel with this one. Maybe you have a grand scheme for the what seems like minor characters introduced in this book. But alas, Hamilton I love your writing and will remain a fan, but can't deny I'm feeling a little cheated on spending the money on this release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Flirt Flops

    I'm a huge fan of Laurell K. Hamilton but Flirt was not one of her better works. First, it was very short for hardcover novel -- I kept waiting for more to happen; although Micah and Nathaniel were present there was no sign of Jean Claude or any of Anita's other men. I felt that the plot was more like a short story which would be fine if I was paying for and expecting a short story and not a novel. I also didn't feel as connected to her characters in this book. This is one novel I'd borrow from the library and not waste my money on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Disappointing

    Although the Anita Blake book series was enjoyable and the writing was excellent, this book was disappointing in its lack of a plot and character development was non-existing. Also, in order to beef up the pages, which was pretty thin, the publisher and author added the foreword and afterword.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Not a book... Just a Flirt

    I like the story line and characters but this was a short story published as a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not really worth it!

    Unfortunately, the book was very disappointing. It did not serve to forward the series along. It appeared to be more of an explanation by the author of how and where she gets her ideas (which is interesting in and of itself, as long as that's all you want to get out of the book).
    At least Anita did some zombie raising in this one!
    It was a fast read... glossing over some details didn't really hurt the plot at all

    Wait for the paperback. Save some money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Anita Blake, but this was disappointing NO RICHARD :(

    OK...this book was good, but where is the rest of it? I always love a great Anita Blake novel, but this was more of a story. What is up w/ a 200 pager with a "how I wrote this book" extra. What about the boys? I am seriously disappointed that Richard never even made an appearence, and Jean Claude got a one page mention. These are the guys that made this such a great series. Furthermore, did Anita really need another tiger? There was such chemistry between her and Haven and now he is a passing fling. I certainly hope the next in this series is more of what we loved. If not, maybe Anita should just stop feeding and stop the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Feeling Ripped off

    I love the Anita series, but to call this "short story", book 18 in the series, seems very misleading. It wasn't a series book, but more like a teaser book, similar to Micah. And way over priced for such a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    GOOD STORY BUT TOO SHORT

    I have read every single Anita Blake novel and this is the first time that I have been disappointed. Half of the characters were not included and although I feel that Anita is closer to her origins than in some previous books, the plot in this book seemed less developed. Also, it was way too short.....I thought that I was only half-way through the book and then realized that it was over. No Jean Claude, no Asher, and only a little time spent on the orignial characters that make the series so great. This really felt more like a short story than a full novel, so I would say "You can definitely wait for paperback on this one!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    WHAT????????????

    I love the Anita Blake series and waited and waited for this new book to come out. I read it in 2 hours and was so disappointed. There was nothing to the book and that is very upsetting. All of Laurell Hamilton's books have been fantastic and I truly hope the next book in the series is so much better because if this is the end of the series, I will be seriously disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh... WHAT HAPPENED!!

    While it was a welcome change to take Anita back to her roots, but I want to know what happened it just ended. No Jean-Claude, No Richard, No Asher... None of the story that I feel in love with I, just like everyone else waited FOREVER for this latest book to come out and I have to say that I was VERY disappointed. I do hope that the next one, if there is a next one has the umphs that all the other books have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    Way to short and where was everyone!!

    This book was way to short and everyone that I have come to love & hate were no where in sight! Should have warned us it was a short unrelated story with none of the story line drama or regular players. Waited to long to be this disappointed... boo hiss!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6