Customer Reviews for

Flirt (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(251)

2 Star

(116)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

super fantasy thriller

Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the i...
Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the individual who crossed over will not be the same person who returns. He begs her, but though sympathizing with him and wanting to say yes, she knows the consequences as the love of Tony's life will not come back the way he thinks. She continues to say no.

A few days later, Anita is at a restaurant when were-lions Nicky and Jacob join her. They are hired thugs who are to kidnap Anita in order to force her to bring back Mr. Bennington's wife. They explain why she should cooperate as her shapeshifting boyfriends are hostages. Anita gives them her weapons as she accompanies them to their lair. Although telepathically asking for help and being blocked by a witch from communicating, she now knows she will work this one alone as her loved ones are at stake.

Although a short novel, Flirt is Laurell K. Hamilton at her very best as it packs quite an emotional wallop from the moment a grieving Bennington begs her for help and that keeps the angst level high. Also keeping the tension level high is the heroine's love for her mates as she fights with all her strength and powers to end this High Moon confrontation. Throughout this tale the passions run stratospheric yet the plot is loaded with action as Anita must contend with powerful hooligan shapeshifters and their boss if she is to keep her boyfriends safe and not cause collateral damage; all she needs is a plan to deploy as she is buying time, but nothing else.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

And then there were Four

I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in ...
I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in the Anita-verse. I am including Anita in the four - with Jason, Nathaniel and Micah - because she's lost herself in the last several novels. The majority of the story is Anita defending her sexual conquests with people outside of her circle, having her entourage tell her how beautiful and powerful she is and finally (10 pages maybe) "action" and "adventure" in the story. Where are Jean-Claude and Richard? Where is Asher? Where is the debate between characters (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the drama (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the passion (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the adventure (having nothing to do with sex)? I think the most unfortunate crutch that Ms. Hamilton imposed in her writing of Anita was the Arduer. If she wanted to allow her characters to have sex, then allow them to. Only girls need an "excuse." And as Anita is fond of pointing out, she's the most unlike girl of the girls. Pick Jeaniene Frost, or Patricia Briggs or Karen Chance if you want adventure and excitement and sex. When their characters consent, there are no excuses and they actually further the plot.

posted by megchranne on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    super fantasy thriller

    Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the individual who crossed over will not be the same person who returns. He begs her, but though sympathizing with him and wanting to say yes, she knows the consequences as the love of Tony's life will not come back the way he thinks. She continues to say no.

    A few days later, Anita is at a restaurant when were-lions Nicky and Jacob join her. They are hired thugs who are to kidnap Anita in order to force her to bring back Mr. Bennington's wife. They explain why she should cooperate as her shapeshifting boyfriends are hostages. Anita gives them her weapons as she accompanies them to their lair. Although telepathically asking for help and being blocked by a witch from communicating, she now knows she will work this one alone as her loved ones are at stake.

    Although a short novel, Flirt is Laurell K. Hamilton at her very best as it packs quite an emotional wallop from the moment a grieving Bennington begs her for help and that keeps the angst level high. Also keeping the tension level high is the heroine's love for her mates as she fights with all her strength and powers to end this High Moon confrontation. Throughout this tale the passions run stratospheric yet the plot is loaded with action as Anita must contend with powerful hooligan shapeshifters and their boss if she is to keep her boyfriends safe and not cause collateral damage; all she needs is a plan to deploy as she is buying time, but nothing else.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anita Blake for President!

    I have read all of Laurell K. Hamillton's previous 17 books in the Anita Blake series and have LOVED them all. Some of them are 200 pages and others are 750 pages. As an avid fan, I am just delighted to have any new material on Anita and gang and am very appreciative that LKH has taken the time to produce 2 Anita books this year. And to the person who said they were not going to read the series based on this short story publication, you sure are judging a book by its cover and cutting yourself short. Why dont you try reading the other 17 books before passing judgment. Every other Anita fan will agree with me, that you do not know what you are missing by not reading the series. We are lucky the series is this long considering many authors limit series lengths. I have reserved my copy and will be picking up Flirt tonight on my way home from work. I'd read any new Anita book. Again, THANK YOU LKH for giving us, even if not a 500 pg novel, more Anita. Long Live Anita Blake!!!!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    GOOD

    I am a little dissapointed in the length of the book and the ending. I really hope Anita fixes Nicky. It's just not right.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Flirts with your expectations

    Flirt is fast-paced and doesn't give anything away. It's fun to see Anita Blake in her own necromantic powers again! This book takes the long-time reader back to a feel for the earliest books where it was mostly about Anita and not so focused on the supernatural men in her life. This time Anita isn't reacting to threats to the vampire or werewolf powerbase or danger from someone looking to harm her to get to her lovers; she's in this solely on her own merits. This 'villian' scores so low on her danger radar that she underestimates the situation from the start. Definitely a great read for series fans.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You "True Fans" are so fickle!

    If you went to Laurell K. Hamilton's website as true fans do, you would know that the next book in the Anita Blake Series was really supposed to be "Bullet". "Flirt" was a last minute idea. "Bullet" comes out in June 2010. So after reading so many whiney reviews I went to her page and she explains all about the unplanned side-step. So I decided I would wait and read "Flirt" and "Bullet" consecutively. cut her some slack she gave you 16+ great books.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Katness

    HELLLO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Silvershade

    She pads in and waits for Swiftfeather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Addicting!

    I find the whole series amazing and addicting! I appreciate a short novel slipped in every once in a while. Dont know what i will do when the series ends! Belive it or not Anita inspires me n i can relate very much to certain tgings about her. I think i will n Anita for halloween!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love Anita!

    Can't wait till the next one comes out, write faster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I think her books are soooo awesome!!!!!!

    Keep them coming, can't wait for the next one!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Hmmm

    I don't know how many of you actually read this book but i thought it was as GREAT as all the other Anita Blake books i have read!! Great job Lauren, keep them coming!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Addictive Series!!!

    Love this book. I don't know why but it seemed different from the others so far...in a good way though. :) Laurell's books are always changing and evolving and that's what keeps me hooked. I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    A short but great story

    I liked this one a lot. It was lower on sex and higher on the adventure. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i can not get enough!

    I love characters, style and so on!!! read in less than 24 hours. Wish i could slow down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    great story cost too much for 112 pages

    I am a BIG LKH fan but I think 10.99 was to much for 112 page book. I think someone should have told us it cost that much for a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hamilton hits the nail on the coffin yet again!

    Never one to disappoint, Flirt lives up to Hamilton's style and character portrayal I have come to expect and love. Anita Blake's character never fails to intrigue and perplex the reader and this book does just that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    AMAZING.

    I love Laurell's writing style, while Flirt was short it was intense and a real page turner. Laurell Hamilton has a way of drawing you into the very lives of her characters a way of making you feel the joys and sorrows with them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    i thought

    Don't get me wrong i am a total fan of anita blake, but flirt was to short a book. i like long books with adventure and heat. i personally am like in admiration of anita but she is loosing her self i like the tough anita who used to not cry or break down. but in other information i am waiting for like edward (ted) to like get married or something or just a kick a** book with edward, otto and last but not least Bernardo. Like in don't really care about the sex scene, i am waiting for her to like get cot some were with Bernardo or otto to have to satisfy her needs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    did not expect that ending

    I knew Anita needed a tiger but was not expecting her to pick that one.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice Surprise

    i am a huge fan of the anita blake series and this book is no exception. being that it was just a novelette it wasnt as long as i would like, but a full novel is releasing just next month so i have a problem with that. i think this was a nice side story for the anita blake world. we got to see some of how anita has progressed with the love/sex portion of her life. this book was also a good way to get some insight into the authors writing process. the breakdown in the back that tells how the situation behind the idea for the book with some nice illustrations are a great look into the writers mind.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21