BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flirt (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(251)

2 Star

(116)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

super fantasy thriller

Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the i...
Wealthy business man Mr. Tony Bennington enters the office of Anita Blake, vampire executioner and zombie reanimator. Grieving for the loss of his beloved wife, he asks her to reanimate her so they can be together again. She explains to her potential client that the individual who crossed over will not be the same person who returns. He begs her, but though sympathizing with him and wanting to say yes, she knows the consequences as the love of Tony's life will not come back the way he thinks. She continues to say no.

A few days later, Anita is at a restaurant when were-lions Nicky and Jacob join her. They are hired thugs who are to kidnap Anita in order to force her to bring back Mr. Bennington's wife. They explain why she should cooperate as her shapeshifting boyfriends are hostages. Anita gives them her weapons as she accompanies them to their lair. Although telepathically asking for help and being blocked by a witch from communicating, she now knows she will work this one alone as her loved ones are at stake.

Although a short novel, Flirt is Laurell K. Hamilton at her very best as it packs quite an emotional wallop from the moment a grieving Bennington begs her for help and that keeps the angst level high. Also keeping the tension level high is the heroine's love for her mates as she fights with all her strength and powers to end this High Moon confrontation. Throughout this tale the passions run stratospheric yet the plot is loaded with action as Anita must contend with powerful hooligan shapeshifters and their boss if she is to keep her boyfriends safe and not cause collateral damage; all she needs is a plan to deploy as she is buying time, but nothing else.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

And then there were Four

I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in ...
I remember this series when Anita was trying to discover her powers. Now it seems she's only interested in discovering her prowess. Not to mention the fact that her entourage has reduced in size from several interesting characters to the four most vapid characters in the Anita-verse. I am including Anita in the four - with Jason, Nathaniel and Micah - because she's lost herself in the last several novels. The majority of the story is Anita defending her sexual conquests with people outside of her circle, having her entourage tell her how beautiful and powerful she is and finally (10 pages maybe) "action" and "adventure" in the story. Where are Jean-Claude and Richard? Where is Asher? Where is the debate between characters (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the drama (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the passion (having nothing to do with sex)? Where is the adventure (having nothing to do with sex)? I think the most unfortunate crutch that Ms. Hamilton imposed in her writing of Anita was the Arduer. If she wanted to allow her characters to have sex, then allow them to. Only girls need an "excuse." And as Anita is fond of pointing out, she's the most unlike girl of the girls. Pick Jeaniene Frost, or Patricia Briggs or Karen Chance if you want adventure and excitement and sex. When their characters consent, there are no excuses and they actually further the plot.

posted by megchranne on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 414 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dont hate

    ok i know it was short but hey it still was an awesome story... I love anita cant wait for bullet to come out this summer. we all wish it was longer but it still had a good SHORT plot...... i just wish there were more sex scenes!!!! i love those

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Quick read

    I breezed thru it in about 2 hours. It's a good read, and worth it, but more like a short story, although the post-script on the story itself was interesting unto itself. It's the only Anita Blake story to date without Jean-Claude involved at all in the story, but it doesn't detract from her ongoing crazed lifestyle, and job.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    Another great Blake book

    This book isn't as long as most of the other Blake books, I wanted more story, but is just as well-written. The storyline is similar to other Blake books with romance, sex, bad guys going down, and good guys prevailing, but has its own unique moments. What makes this book worth paying $24 for a hardcover (even though its only 158 pages), is the stuff at the back. She (Hamilton) explains her process of writing a (specifically, this) book, starting at the beginning of how does she know which ideas have enough meat to create an entire book from. For me, this is what makes it special enough -good enough- to pay that much. This is one of those books that I will never trade to a used bookstore. I will read it again and again, just like all her previous Blake books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flirt can be deadly

    This is an excellent Anita Blake book my ONLY complaint is how short it was. This was an extra Anita book and I am glad for everyone one. I read it in about 3 hours. I am a fast reader, but one of her books usually takes me a day to read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Laurell Hamilton at her best.

    It was a really good, but short read. Considering it's a surprise novel to the series, it was a good addition. And the added features were a fun interesting look into the authors view.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Well worth every penny

    As usual Laurell K. Hamilton has given us yet another book to wet our appetites and leave us wanting more. A great read I look forward to whats next!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    High Octane Read

    Laurell K. Hamilton has done it again. Even this far into the series she still has the ability to grab me immediately and suck me into her world. I read this book in less than a day. I could not put it down. And now I am sad that I have to wait until June 2010 for the next one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Most Recent of the Anita Blake Series-#18

    Flirt is great in that it returns to the fact that Anita is an animator and raises the dead for a living. She was working as a US Marshall in Hamilton's previous book, Skin Trade. There is more interaction between her men at home as well, but not as much of Jean Claude. It seems to me that she gains more men in every book. Though it is interesting that she is meeting the needs of her inner-animals, she can't stop obtaining new men, and she spends less time with her old men in each book. It's a good book but I wish that there were more interaction with the original men.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I just LOVE Anita Blake!

    **reading the other reviews here I have to say - THIS IS A NOVELLA, NOT A FULL SIZE BOOK! - If anyone was a TRUE fan they would know that and not be complaining that it was too short, blah blah. This book is similar to "Micah" in that it is a short story that just came to LKH as she was working on a different book. From what In understand a full length Anita Blake Novel is due out later this year.**


    I have read alllll of the books in the series multiple times, and have them on audio on my ipod for when i'm on the go. I can't get enough.
    Flirt was good, gets anita back to raising the dead and away from the sex, which has been a bit too much in the past several books. Some books seems like the girl never gets OUT of bed! One minor sex scene in Flirt. Great addition. Fun quick read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Vampires

    Excellent series, my personal favorite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Flirt

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I'm glad to see that LKH got back to what Anita Blake does best. It is a great story. I read the book within 24 hrs. I look forward to the next.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Love ANITA!! MISSED JEAN CLAUDE!!

    I love the anita books all of them. I had a few disappointments one their was no Jean Claude two it was too short. I know Laurell wrote this during her last meredith book, and it was an extra but i still wanted more. It was a great story with a new man. Plus we get to see Anita at her best kicking some hard core Butt!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    i paid only 12.99 and it was good!! :D

    for all of you that are complaining about over paying for a short book.. get a membership card w/ B&N and pay only 12.99 for your anita blake book.. well i also ordered online, so maybe that makes a differences.. anyway, this novel was short, but i think it was good.. i can't wait to get my hands on her next book coming out in June..

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent short story

    I enjoyed the quick pace. Anita's acceptance of her powers. Showed true progress in her story. If you like Anita you should like this book. Although I am addicted to Anita Blake stories. Laurell K. Hamilton was mild in this book. That in no way took away from her story. I thought it brought a little more excitement to it instead.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 414 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21