BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flirtin' with the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins's Crank and Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Angie Fisher for TeensReadToo.com

Knowledge is power, and although Ellen Hopkins no doubt would have preferred to not have lived the nightmare of her daughter's dance with Meth and other drugs, she has chosen to share her experiences with others. We should be grateful she has.

FLIRTIN' WITH THE MONST...
Knowledge is power, and although Ellen Hopkins no doubt would have preferred to not have lived the nightmare of her daughter's dance with Meth and other drugs, she has chosen to share her experiences with others. We should be grateful she has.

FLIRTIN' WITH THE MONSTER is Ellen's non-fiction, no-nonsense account of why she chose to tell her story to the world, her choice of the fiction genre verses memoir, and her solid belief that teenagers deserve to read about real issues that affect their very real lives. We can't protect our teenagers forever, and if one adolescent can read about someone else's mistakes, and be frightened into not ever making the choices Ellen's daughter made, then she will have paved her way to heaven.

In this title, Ellen has joined forces with numerous people, and included letters written by her own family, "Kristina" included, to discuss the Monster, her writing, and the impact her two best-selling novels have had on their own and others lives. The book is testimony to the influence that a story such as this can have on a person, young or old, when the choice to try a drug that first time presents itself. And it will present itself.

As Niki Burnham so eloquently puts it in the opening chapter on role models our kids are reading about, or not allowed to read about, "...those caring parents do their teen a greater service by allowing them to read whatever they want and making it clear they're willing to discuss it with them afterward: Protecting them by preparing them."

The world is full of imperfect people with imperfect lives. Why should the books we open to our teenagers be any different?

posted by TeensReadToo on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Click for rest of commentary

I absolutley STRONGLY DISLIKE this ellen hopkins lady because this is all she talks about. Hard times in life abuse

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Angie Fisher for TeensReadToo.com

    Knowledge is power, and although Ellen Hopkins no doubt would have preferred to not have lived the nightmare of her daughter's dance with Meth and other drugs, she has chosen to share her experiences with others. We should be grateful she has.

    FLIRTIN' WITH THE MONSTER is Ellen's non-fiction, no-nonsense account of why she chose to tell her story to the world, her choice of the fiction genre verses memoir, and her solid belief that teenagers deserve to read about real issues that affect their very real lives. We can't protect our teenagers forever, and if one adolescent can read about someone else's mistakes, and be frightened into not ever making the choices Ellen's daughter made, then she will have paved her way to heaven.

    In this title, Ellen has joined forces with numerous people, and included letters written by her own family, "Kristina" included, to discuss the Monster, her writing, and the impact her two best-selling novels have had on their own and others lives. The book is testimony to the influence that a story such as this can have on a person, young or old, when the choice to try a drug that first time presents itself. And it will present itself.

    As Niki Burnham so eloquently puts it in the opening chapter on role models our kids are reading about, or not allowed to read about, "...those caring parents do their teen a greater service by allowing them to read whatever they want and making it clear they're willing to discuss it with them afterward: Protecting them by preparing them."

    The world is full of imperfect people with imperfect lives. Why should the books we open to our teenagers be any different?

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Lovely collection, inaccurate title on this website though.

    This isn't written by other authors... This is a collection of essays written by Ellen's family talking about their experience with the real life "Kristina/Bree".
    Wonderful read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Amazinglly awesome

    She is the best author to ever hit the YA book scene. She has helped me so much through everything Ive been through. From the first time you pick up an Ellen Hopkins book you will want to read more of her work. I ABOSLUTELY LOVE HER BOOKS. Ive recomended them to my friends.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book was Great!

    i loved it , it was kind of boring in the beginning but it caught up REALLY fast i recommend this book to anyone and i want more of ellen hopkins now i want to read all of her books cause i bet there as great as these ones. and and when ur beginning glass (the second part of this book) u just cant wait to see what happens! this is a great book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing

    All of her books are amazing they have helped me trough hard times and i always go to these books if i need help

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    LOVE THEM ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have read all of her books and loved every single one of them l. Can't wait to read this one and hopefully she writes more. I recomend this to older readers although, it is not something for young readers.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Go Hunter!!

    I am so glad we got to here from Hunter!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Click for rest of commentary

    I absolutley STRONGLY DISLIKE this ellen hopkins lady because this is all she talks about. Hard times in life abuse

    2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    this book is terrible

    dont waste your time on this book

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    High Recommended!

    If you have read Crank, Glass, & Fallout, Flirtin' with the Monster is a must to read. I recommend this series to anyone looking for a new read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    No one has a perfect life and monsters come in all shapes and si

    No one has a perfect life and monsters come in all shapes and sizes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Help to that person

    How just go talk to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    This Book ...

    Genious cX

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Amen to janurary 1st

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3