Customer Reviews for

Flirting with Disaster (Charleston Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

strong character driven contemporary romance

Two weeks before their marriage, dependable Dr. Warren Blake dumps Maggie Forsythe. The Charleston iron magnolia flees her home, leaving her art and antiques gallery Images to be run by her employees, and hides on Sullivan Island. Her best friends Dinah and Cordell Be...
Two weeks before their marriage, dependable Dr. Warren Blake dumps Maggie Forsythe. The Charleston iron magnolia flees her home, leaving her art and antiques gallery Images to be run by her employees, and hides on Sullivan Island. Her best friends Dinah and Cordell Beaufort and Warren arrive to bring her home. She hides from them the real reason she retreated that has nothing to do with humiliation but feeling that for whatever reason she is unlovable. Still they persuade her to help build a house for a widow with three kids. --- Heading the construction project is a reluctant Josh Parker who assumes that Maggie is cotton candy only to be surprised she is good with tools having renovated Images by herself. They are attracted to one another, but neither wants to ignite the spark as she fears rejection and he presupposes that a working stiff with a matriarchal hang-up is way beneath her level. When his mom comes out of nowhere and teams up with Dinah as matchmakers, neither one of the hesitant duet stand a chance unless they run away from love. --- FLIRTING WITH DISASTER is a strong character driven contemporary romance starring two wonderful protagonists and a powerful support cast with many facing complex problems. The return of the stars from the BACKUP PLAN augments the fine story line in which he and she both agree on two things: they want one another and they do not belong together. The social issues are deftly handled due to the powerful characterizations. Fans will appreciate this fine look at modern society in which it takes a community coming together to help parents raise children. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not new

I bought this book in June 2011 with a different picture. My nook did not tell me I had already purchased it. I assume nook did not recognize it due to different publishing dates or some other change by publishers that caused nook to not recognize it.
The cover on the ...
I bought this book in June 2011 with a different picture. My nook did not tell me I had already purchased it. I assume nook did not recognize it due to different publishing dates or some other change by publishers that caused nook to not recognize it.
The cover on the June book was a picture of a ladder. Mira published both. I really feel cheated. So beware.

posted by hummingbirdJD on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong character driven contemporary romance

    Two weeks before their marriage, dependable Dr. Warren Blake dumps Maggie Forsythe. The Charleston iron magnolia flees her home, leaving her art and antiques gallery Images to be run by her employees, and hides on Sullivan Island. Her best friends Dinah and Cordell Beaufort and Warren arrive to bring her home. She hides from them the real reason she retreated that has nothing to do with humiliation but feeling that for whatever reason she is unlovable. Still they persuade her to help build a house for a widow with three kids. --- Heading the construction project is a reluctant Josh Parker who assumes that Maggie is cotton candy only to be surprised she is good with tools having renovated Images by herself. They are attracted to one another, but neither wants to ignite the spark as she fears rejection and he presupposes that a working stiff with a matriarchal hang-up is way beneath her level. When his mom comes out of nowhere and teams up with Dinah as matchmakers, neither one of the hesitant duet stand a chance unless they run away from love. --- FLIRTING WITH DISASTER is a strong character driven contemporary romance starring two wonderful protagonists and a powerful support cast with many facing complex problems. The return of the stars from the BACKUP PLAN augments the fine story line in which he and she both agree on two things: they want one another and they do not belong together. The social issues are deftly handled due to the powerful characterizations. Fans will appreciate this fine look at modern society in which it takes a community coming together to help parents raise children. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    not new

    I bought this book in June 2011 with a different picture. My nook did not tell me I had already purchased it. I assume nook did not recognize it due to different publishing dates or some other change by publishers that caused nook to not recognize it.
    The cover on the June book was a picture of a ladder. Mira published both. I really feel cheated. So beware.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. The story line was great and the characters w

    I loved this book. The story line was great and the characters were wonderful. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Bree

    Oh, wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Lev

    Kels: Yep. <br>Bree: Tell me about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    time table snaffus again

    Who proof reads these?
    Here is an ex. Juliette invites maggie for lunch on a sunday while her dad goes to play golf. Juliette inquires about the relationship of maggie and josh. After that maggie walks back to her gallery and sits down for a couple of hours to do paperwork on a saturday afternoon. There was not a weeks lapse in the storyline. This time lapse also happened in the first book of this series. In my opinion, this is just another reason this book/nook is too expensive. Great characters and stories and interaction but not $6.00 worth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    The overview for this book does not match what the author, Sherr

    The overview for this book does not match what the author, Sherryl Woods, has on her website. The characters in Flirting With Disaster are Maggie Forsyth and Josh Parker; not LIbby Carlyle and Davies.<br />
    <br />
    I have yet to figure out how Barnes and Nobles has the incorrect overview for books, but any other site I check has the correct information.<br />
    The one star rating is because of the incorrect overview only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Nursery Tradegyclan

    Darkstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Not bad

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    She does it again!

    Sherryl woods brings it together once again, making you laugh, cry and cling to the edge of your book (nook) with your finger nails. Mixing just a taste of mystery, along with Romance, life and learning to trust in god again. She takes you from living in past to the future, from sorrow to happiness, from anger and hate to love and hope. Sherryl's writing makes you believe you are there with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining story

    This is the most interesting of the three books in the series. I like the relationship between the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Wonderful.

    I really enjoyed the laughs! Warm and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4