Customer Reviews for

Flirting with Maybe: A Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Hi

    I havent read it but sounds fun & good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Short but sweet

    I loved this! It was about 68 pages on my nook. It starts with Ryan's unrequited love for Brooke. He wasn't sure that she knew he existed because he was 15 and she was 17. They started a friendship but ended up something different in the end.
    I loved that the author put an epilogue on her webpage to let us know a little more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    good book to read

    I enjoyed the book a lot. It had me second guessing a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't sure what I was going to get from this book. I didn't r

    I wasn't sure what I was going to get from this book. I didn't read any blurbs, just knew it was Wendy and have only heard good things about her writing. So I figured I would dive right in and see what it was all about. So glad I did.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    He was fifteen and she was seventeen. 
    When sophomore Ryan "The Kid" McPhearson makes the Varsity baseball team, he finds himself submersed into the life of upperclassmen, and falling in love with senior Brooke Bennet. To Ryan she's his dream girl, perfect. Maybe to the outside world a two-year age difference doesn't matter, but this is high school. Everything matters. 
    Ryan soon realizes Brooke's life is not so perfect. He becomes her closest friend, her safe place to fall when she needs to escape. Ryan seems to be benched in the friend zone with no chance to bat.
    Time is both a curse and a blessing. It ushers Brooke away to college, and Ryan into the arms of his first girlfriend. It alters Ryan from a kid to a high school graduate, ready to venture to college himself. But when Ryan sees Brooke again he realizes there are some things even time can't touch.
    Though much has changed, one question still remains. Will the things that mattered in high school always stand between them?




    So I'm not much for contemporary reading. I am usually disappointed. So a novella is right up my ally because the time invested is not as much as reading a whole book and possibly being disappointed. But I wasn't disappointed with this. I was actually very pleased. I enjoyed watching the relationship between Ryan and Brooke progress. And, even tho I was pretty sure where the story was going, I still wanted to see how the characters grew and go to that point.




    Ryan is a great character. Although, I did find him to seem older than his 15 years when the book first started. But he is endearing and so great. I love his emotions and how he was able to show us exactly how he felt. I felt them right along with him. I ached for him to be happy.
    Brooke was an interesting character as told from Ryan's perspective. I can tell she has a bit of low self esteem, not realizing that she is worthy of the love others want to give her. She's a good person who carries some baggage, but she wouldn't have been interesting if she didn't!




    Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I was also pleased with the epilogue that Wendy posted on her site. It packaged up the ending really well. And I love reading things from the male POV, since most YA/NA stories tend to come from the female perspective.




    While this story wasn't unique, I still enjoyed riding it's wave. And I really love Wendy's writing. She has a canny ability to make your heart feel for what is happening to her characters. It's a sweet and adorable story that delves a bit more deeply into issues that many teens may face: love, loss, relationships. The story is relatable and authentic and the characters are developed nicely. A great read for anyone who loves a good contemporary love story.




    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    What I liked: This is a cute, sweet and romantic story with a few heart-breaking moments as well. The characters deal with realistic issues, making them relateable. There is some language (we are talking about High School) and a few steamy moments but nothing gratuitous or raunchy.

    What left me wanting: There is an epilogue posted on the author's website (which made me cry) but it would be nice to have it included at the end of this story too.

    Final verdict: I do believe Wendy Higgins can write just about anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    So good

    The novella was so good. I also like that sweet peril preview was included. That was good to. CANTWAIT4SWEETPERIL!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1