Customer Reviews for

Flirting with Pete

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I loved this book, I have several books on my Nook by Barbara De

    I loved this book, I have several books on my Nook by Barbara Delinsky, What I enjoy about her books most is she writes women who are not in their twenties. But women I can assoiate with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Great book!

    Have read many of Barbara Delinsky's books and loved them all. This was so well written and a real page-turner. Definitely gets 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    what a story, love it

    what a story, love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    This was the first Barbara Delinsky book I read and I was expecting something like Danielle Steel or Maeve Binchy, but they could never caught me surprise. I remember gasping when the story was revealed.

    You should also read Sundowners by Lesley Lokko.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Excellent Writing!

    I really enjoyed this book. Some parts moved a little slowly - but I was so curious to get more info on the mysterious manuscript, who it was written for, and if the people were real or fictious that I kept reading and reading. I was totally captured by Pete's charm and Jenny's determination to find happiness. The way BD tied everything together in the end was brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Must-read

    Flirting with Pete has everything I love in a book. Mystery, Romance and sex. Loved it!!! I'll probably read it again someday...definietly check this out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    A story of Love and Tragedy

    What do you get when you have a psychologist, a deputy, a gardener, a maid, a sexually and emotionally abused girl a mother in a comatose state, a father you never knew that just died, a townhouse given to you by this father and a manuscript that you believe to be true? You get a wonderful and intriguing story that is hard to stop listening to. Casey Ellis is the psychologist and she has inherited her father¿s townhouse worth $3 million. With her mother in a coma from a tragic accident, Casey tries to come to terms with her life. Finding a manuscript among her father¿s papers, Casey believes the story to be true and begins a search to discover if she is right. The townhouse comes with a gardener, Jordan, and a maid, Meg, both of which her father¿s will asks her to keep on. Jordan keeps the garden alive with blooms and also triggers a bloom in Casey¿s heart. Meg is a wonderful cook and fills Casey¿s body with good food. Between them, they ground Casey and help her settle in the townhouse. Ms Delinsky writes with twists and turns that keep you wanting to listen to more. Just when you think you have things figured out, Barbara throws another idea in. This keeps your interest high and the story alive. The tragedies she writes of are all too true in today¿s society which makes them all the more real and alive. The reader, Linda Emond, is easy to listen to. She doesn¿t use a really deep voice to represent the men in the story, yet you know who is talking. The female voices are easier to tell who is talking as she gives them more distinctive inflections which would be easier as she is female herself. I highly recommend picking up a copy of FLIRTING WITH PETE and settle in for a good evening of listening enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Excellent story - Great read!!

    I didn't find it that predictable, it was a good mystery. Exciting and interesting as I pieced the clues together. I found the mystery exciting and unique. I couldn't put this book down! Barbara Delinsky did an excellent job weaving the tales of these 2 wonderful characters together. I was enthralled and quite pleased. I truly enjoyed the storyline and the characters, and I absolutley LOVED the ending. GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Couldn't Put It Down

    My mom actually checked this book out, but in a moment of desperation, I picked it up. As soon as I did, I couldn't put it down. While the mystery was pretty easy to figure out, the twists and turns this book doles out will keep you guessing up until the last page. The ending's a charm, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    A Definite Page-Turner

    I would probbaly give this book 4.5 stars if I could. This is my second Delinsky book and I was far more impressed with this one. It was such a complex story with so many elements to it. I liked how it was two stories in one: Casey's and Jenny's. Delinsky keeps the reader hooked wondering how everything will fit together. The ending is very satisfying. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    VERY slow starting

    This book looked very interesting to me, but fell slightly short. I liked the ending, but some of the book could have been left out as it tends to repeat itself, ie too much garden, nothing happened much in the garden. One good thing that the book was not written in the first person. If you are sleepy, don't try to read this book, it jumps around alot and is hard to follow if you are tired. Like I said, the author pulled it together at the ending but it was a long time coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Slow begininng but well worth it

    Very slow start but gets good. Can be annoying when switching back and forth between Jenny and Casey. I wish she focused more on Casey and Jordan and less time with the diary. I felt that once the book was really good it ended. However it was a good read and I felt satisfied when I finished it. I even cried a little in the end!! I plan to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    What a great read!

    A wonderful gripping story. Couldn't put it down. Jenny shows great courage under strife and yet we see her shadows and pain. Casey is a wonderful character as well and shows strength in her own pursuit to face the hard truths of growing up, uncovering those things that are just below the surface in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Slow until page 450

    THIS BOOK SPENT TOO MUCH TIME DESCRIBING THE GARDEN AND THE FLOWERS AND TOO MUCH TIME DEVELOPING THE MAIN CHARACTER IT DIDNT FOCUS ON THE SUPPORTING ROLES. IT WAS BORING UNTIL PAGE 450. THE CHARACTER JENNY CLYDE WAS KIND OF ANNOYING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    A Great Introduction To Barbara Delinsky

    This was my first book by Barbara Delinsky and I fell in love with the writing style. I quickly got hooked to the characters and the plot that I couldn't put the book down for days. Definately a great beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Great Summer Book

    I needed a book that was easy to get through, held my interest, and wasn't like every paperback I've read. This was perfect. I loved the weaving of this tale.Would recommend this to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Another must read

    What a nice twist.. a great change of pace for Barbara Delinsky's amazing talent. The story within a story that allows us to care deeply for two troubled, yet strong women. Fans of Barbara Delinsky will fall deeper in love with her abilities and her strong female characters... while new readers will discover what it is that the rest of us enjoy so well. The ending is a little quick, but it wraps up the book quite nicely, I believe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Another Hit

    Good captivating book. I was a little disapointed in the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    Predictable

    I was given this book as a gift and at first the subject seemed rather intriguing given that I am in a similar situation, but I didn't find the mystery all that mysterious as I figured out everything within the first few chapters. It was also annoying that the characters kept slipping and slidding through doors and into chairs (why not just enter a room or sit in a chair?). As a passionate romance, the story isn't bad and some of the scenes with Jordan I couldn't help but read a few times. Otherwise I didn't find the characters very realistic or compelling, and the ending was just a bit to long and tedious for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Loved it

    Very unique story! I loved it - well written and oh so interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2