Customer Reviews for

Flirting with Pete

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I loved this book, I have several books on my Nook by Barbara De

    I loved this book, I have several books on my Nook by Barbara Delinsky, What I enjoy about her books most is she writes women who are not in their twenties. But women I can assoiate with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Great book!

    Have read many of Barbara Delinsky's books and loved them all. This was so well written and a real page-turner. Definitely gets 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    what a story, love it

    what a story, love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    This was the first Barbara Delinsky book I read and I was expecting something like Danielle Steel or Maeve Binchy, but they could never caught me surprise. I remember gasping when the story was revealed.

    You should also read Sundowners by Lesley Lokko.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    A story of Love and Tragedy

    What do you get when you have a psychologist, a deputy, a gardener, a maid, a sexually and emotionally abused girl a mother in a comatose state, a father you never knew that just died, a townhouse given to you by this father and a manuscript that you believe to be true? You get a wonderful and intriguing story that is hard to stop listening to. Casey Ellis is the psychologist and she has inherited her father¿s townhouse worth $3 million. With her mother in a coma from a tragic accident, Casey tries to come to terms with her life. Finding a manuscript among her father¿s papers, Casey believes the story to be true and begins a search to discover if she is right. The townhouse comes with a gardener, Jordan, and a maid, Meg, both of which her father¿s will asks her to keep on. Jordan keeps the garden alive with blooms and also triggers a bloom in Casey¿s heart. Meg is a wonderful cook and fills Casey¿s body with good food. Between them, they ground Casey and help her settle in the townhouse. Ms Delinsky writes with twists and turns that keep you wanting to listen to more. Just when you think you have things figured out, Barbara throws another idea in. This keeps your interest high and the story alive. The tragedies she writes of are all too true in today¿s society which makes them all the more real and alive. The reader, Linda Emond, is easy to listen to. She doesn¿t use a really deep voice to represent the men in the story, yet you know who is talking. The female voices are easier to tell who is talking as she gives them more distinctive inflections which would be easier as she is female herself. I highly recommend picking up a copy of FLIRTING WITH PETE and settle in for a good evening of listening enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    What a great read!

    A wonderful gripping story. Couldn't put it down. Jenny shows great courage under strife and yet we see her shadows and pain. Casey is a wonderful character as well and shows strength in her own pursuit to face the hard truths of growing up, uncovering those things that are just below the surface in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    A Great Introduction To Barbara Delinsky

    This was my first book by Barbara Delinsky and I fell in love with the writing style. I quickly got hooked to the characters and the plot that I couldn't put the book down for days. Definately a great beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Another must read

    What a nice twist.. a great change of pace for Barbara Delinsky's amazing talent. The story within a story that allows us to care deeply for two troubled, yet strong women. Fans of Barbara Delinsky will fall deeper in love with her abilities and her strong female characters... while new readers will discover what it is that the rest of us enjoy so well. The ending is a little quick, but it wraps up the book quite nicely, I believe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Loved it

    Very unique story! I loved it - well written and oh so interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    AN ASSURED READING

    Popular voice artist Linda Emond gives an assured reading of Barbara Delinsky's latest heart-tugging tale in which the lives of two women seeking answers are interwoven. Casey Ellis is a successful young professional woman who has always sought to know her father, famous psychologist Cornelius Unger. Her birth was the result of an almost passing relationship between her mother and the father she has never known. Now, her mother lies comatose, the result of an accident, and her father has died. Surprisingly, he generously remembers Casey in his will, leaving her an elegant townhouse on exclusive Beacon Hill. Not only is the townhouse luxurious, it also comes with a full staff. Shortly after taking possession of her new home Casey comes across a puzzling journal among her father's papers. It was written by a young woman, Jenny Clyde, who detested her father, a man in prison for killing Jenny's mother. He will soon be released and Jenny fears further abuse from him. The journal and the story it tells baffle Casey. Is it a true account or fiction? And, very importantly, what does it tell her about the father she would like to know? Of course, there's romance mixed with the mystery, which is always an irresistible combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A 6. Brilliant storytelling and characterizations as usual

    Therapist Casey Ellis is attending the funeral of renowned psychologist Cornelius Unger, a respected person in his field. Casey feels melancholy because Cornelius is the father who never acknowledged her and never made any effort to talk to her even when she enrolled in one of his classes. At the end of the funeral, his lawyer tells Casey that her father left her his Beacon Hill townhouse with the request that she keep on the maid and the gardener.<P> At first Casey doesn¿t want anything to do with the home out of loyalty to her mother who has been in a coma for the last three years and is not expected to wake up. When one of her partners in her group practice absconds with the rent money, Casey decides to open a solo practice at her father¿s townhouse. There she meets the handsome gardener Jordan; they start a relationship. She also becomes involved with a manuscript her father left for her about a woman who he treated as an outcast by the town she lives in and is afraid of the father who is coming home from prison after six years for killing her mother.<P> Barbara Delinsky has written a moving tale of two women having to cope with severe traumas, one fighting her demons alone and the therapist having a support system that carries her through each crisis. One of this author¿s greatest talents is to write about people who immediately establish rapport with the audience so that readers care what happens to them. FLIRTING WITH PETE is a memorable work of women¿s fiction.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1