Customer Reviews for

Floating Staircase

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Lets you feel, smell, and taste the mental agonies our protagonist.

This is one of those rare books of which it can truly be said "I hated to put it down." As you start to read it, you are immediately taken by the author's opening up to you in his personal aside to the reader, by the baring of his soul and his innermost torments, and th...
This is one of those rare books of which it can truly be said "I hated to put it down." As you start to read it, you are immediately taken by the author's opening up to you in his personal aside to the reader, by the baring of his soul and his innermost torments, and then you realize . . . wait a minute, this is the novel!
While the jacket describes this book as a horror novel, it's not quite horror, yet it's more than that. A man who is living with guilt about having been the cause of his younger brother's death by drowning, moves into a house where another little boy used to live . . . a little boy who died by drowning. Does the second boy's ghost haunt the house and the lake where he died, or does our protagonist's brother's spirit still stick around? Or is our guy experiencing "Turn of the Screw" like madness brought on by guilt and obsession? The novel becomes a very realistic mystery story as our protagonist, seeking answers, tries to solve the mystery of the little boy's death and gets himself abused in the process. So what we have is a ghost story and a mystery, but mostly, a trip through a psyche racked with guilt and seeking redemption.
The superior writing of his book lets you feel, smell, and taste the mental agonies our protagonist is putting himself through: is the house he and his wife moved into, the house where the little boy and his strange family lived, indeed haunted? Or is he being haunted by his own conscience? You'll have to think for a while after you put this book down, and we can guarantee you'll want to think about it. Sometimes stories like this are open-ended and unsatisfying, and one ends up almost resenting the author for not knowing what he or she wanted to do. No dissatisfaction with this book-an excellent read, especially when you're alone in the house on a winter's night and some of the creaks and crackling of the house sound awfully unfamiliar.
Reviewed by Elliott Capon, author of "Prince of Horror" published by Suspense Publishing an imprint of Suspense Magazine

posted by Suspensemag on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ummm?

Well this started off as a good ghist story turned into a murder mystery and from there....I got lost.

posted by 7921246 on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Lets you feel, smell, and taste the mental agonies our protagonist.

    This is one of those rare books of which it can truly be said "I hated to put it down." As you start to read it, you are immediately taken by the author's opening up to you in his personal aside to the reader, by the baring of his soul and his innermost torments, and then you realize . . . wait a minute, this is the novel!
    While the jacket describes this book as a horror novel, it's not quite horror, yet it's more than that. A man who is living with guilt about having been the cause of his younger brother's death by drowning, moves into a house where another little boy used to live . . . a little boy who died by drowning. Does the second boy's ghost haunt the house and the lake where he died, or does our protagonist's brother's spirit still stick around? Or is our guy experiencing "Turn of the Screw" like madness brought on by guilt and obsession? The novel becomes a very realistic mystery story as our protagonist, seeking answers, tries to solve the mystery of the little boy's death and gets himself abused in the process. So what we have is a ghost story and a mystery, but mostly, a trip through a psyche racked with guilt and seeking redemption.
    The superior writing of his book lets you feel, smell, and taste the mental agonies our protagonist is putting himself through: is the house he and his wife moved into, the house where the little boy and his strange family lived, indeed haunted? Or is he being haunted by his own conscience? You'll have to think for a while after you put this book down, and we can guarantee you'll want to think about it. Sometimes stories like this are open-ended and unsatisfying, and one ends up almost resenting the author for not knowing what he or she wanted to do. No dissatisfaction with this book-an excellent read, especially when you're alone in the house on a winter's night and some of the creaks and crackling of the house sound awfully unfamiliar.
    Reviewed by Elliott Capon, author of "Prince of Horror" published by Suspense Publishing an imprint of Suspense Magazine

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Awesome Book!! Couldn't put it down!

    This book was wonderful! It was full of suspense from beginning to end and kept you guessing as to what would happen next. Really good twist at the end, too! A must read!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Ummm?

    Well this started off as a good ghist story turned into a murder mystery and from there....I got lost.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Good thriller

    Nothing over the top scary. Just a good read. I think the way the ending comes together is the best part. Unexpected and sweet all at the same time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book should not be called a horror book. The author spent way too much time on the personal lives of the characters and not time on the writing of which makes this a great scarry book. Every time I read the f word I wish the nook could blacken it out for me. It just was not necessary and the book was only 286 pages.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Fantastic Supernatural Mystery

    Floating Staircase is a rarity; a supernatural mystery crafted wonderfully with perfect prose and pacing. Following writer Travis Glasgow and his wife, Jodie, as they move into their first house, we discover that they are very far from alone in their new home. Something is reaching out to them, terrifying Travis (a man burdened by guilt from a childhood accident where he lost his younger brother to a terrible accident). Terror turns to obsession as he discovers the case of a missing boy that recently occurred in his house. The ghosts of the house and his own mind compel him to search for the truth, even if it means the end of his marriage and maybe, himself. Floating Staircase is fubulously creepy. Ronald Malfi could very well be the successor to the Peter Straub throne.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super haunted house ghost story

    With the success of The Ocean Serene, bestselling horror writer Travis Glasgow and his wife Jodie buy a house in rustic Westlake, Maryland near where his brother Adam resides. Travis feels good to reconnect with his sibling and believes he will finally move past the guilt he has felt since he was thirteen and his other brother Kyle, the actual star of his novel, drowned.

    Travis learns that a previous resident's son Elijah Dentman drowned in the nearby lake. The tragedy reminds him of what happened to Kyle; that and other clues lead the author to conclude the death is being covered up. Feeling an obsessive need to learn the truth and a sense of something, perhaps the essence that wakes him with bumps in the night, is prodding his out of control need. Thus, Travis investigates what happened to Elijah believing the truth will set him free of his compulsion.

    This is a super haunted house ghost story starring an interesting protagonist and a great final turn of the screw twist. The story line is fast-paced as tension mounts while Travis begins to learn much more than he expected. This is a must read for horror fans.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Ok

    This book to me quite a while to finish. It was very slow moving for me. I continued reading because though it moved slowly, my curiosity was piqued. I thought too much time was spent in reverie about his brother. I feel some of the storyline was just to add length, not really necessary. The ending was ok, not a disappointment, but not great either. It was a little all over the place, but it did tie up all the loose ends which I can appreciate. I say if you're looking for a super scary horror etory, this is not it. If you're looking for a mystery I say give it a go, you might like it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Skip this one.

    Well written but the ending makes the whole book seem like a waste of time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Gripping, creepy, moving. You'll like this suspenseful horror s

    Gripping, creepy, moving. You'll like this suspenseful horror story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderfully frightening story of obsession filled with ghostly

    A wonderfully frightening story of obsession filled with ghostly terror.
    Proof that ghosts stories are still good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Keeps you in suspense!!!! Great read!!

    Hard to put down...very good suspense

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Great book.

    Loved this book. Was creepy but in a good way. I did get a little confused near the end but it could just be me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Good book

    I was impressed with this book since ive never heard of this author. It was a good book and suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Awesome book

    Great book I could not put it down..please write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    A really excellent, well-written suspense story.  Glad I found t

    A really excellent, well-written suspense story.  Glad I found this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Phenominal

    Great book. There are two endings. If you're into books that make you think, buy this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Amazing :3

    I like it alot theres so much suspense overall its a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Couldn't finish reading

    Couldn't finish reading! Thought this would be a good spooky story to curl up to read but...the start of the story didn't "grab" me and the language was offensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Very good

    Very good book, but some younger kids might not understand some of the words.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3