Customer Reviews for

Florida Roadkill (Serge Storms Series #1)

Average Rating 3
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

HILARIOUS!

This is one of the funniest, no wait, THEE funniest book I've read in years...and possibly my life. Way to go Dorsey

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Worst Book I have ever Read

I read average of 3 books a month and this book was absolutely GROSS.
It went from one over the top, disgustingly cruel scene to next. I would liken it like a severed head rolling down the road. I will never read another of this author's works...I bought 2 on B & N s...
I read average of 3 books a month and this book was absolutely GROSS.
It went from one over the top, disgustingly cruel scene to next. I would liken it like a severed head rolling down the road. I will never read another of this author's works...I bought 2 on B & N sale and will not start the 2nd....Big waste of read time, money, and paper on which it was printed...a BIG YUCK. Would have given less than one star if was available....

posted by clawman on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Worst Book I have ever Read

    I read average of 3 books a month and this book was absolutely GROSS.
    It went from one over the top, disgustingly cruel scene to next. I would liken it like a severed head rolling down the road. I will never read another of this author's works...I bought 2 on B & N sale and will not start the 2nd....Big waste of read time, money, and paper on which it was printed...a BIG YUCK. Would have given less than one star if was available....

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    Not as clever as he thinks he is

    Mr. Dorsey has crafted a book filled with stereotypic scumbags doing depraved things that I suppose are meant to be humorous. The occasional well-turned phrase is inadequate compensation for the general absence of plot development and the pervading sense of being slimed this book left me with. Skip it.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    HILARIOUS!

    This is one of the funniest, no wait, THEE funniest book I've read in years...and possibly my life. Way to go Dorsey

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    An accidental but hilarious find!

    Having come across this book in Atlantic Books on the boardwalk in Ocean City, MD, I thought to myself, 'Why not...I'm moving there, I might as well read more on the Sunshine State.' I'm glad I bought it, I definitely can say. If you need a laugh, this book certainly provides more than one. Right down to Mo Grenadine being hit by the Conch Train in Key West, I had tears of laughter coming out of my eyes. Tim Dorsey is right next to the 'master of the Florida seriocomic novel,' Carl Hiaasen, in my eyes. Being second to Carl Hiaasen (my favorite author)...that's a great honor!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    Not Funny like the review lead me to believe

    Disturbing. The creative killing, the unstable characters, the sadness of the whole book did not make for a good read. MADE myself finish it. Did not pass it on like I usually do with books. Actually tossed it in the garbage. Glad I only paid the bargain price for it.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Written by an illiterate

    I find it hard to believe that the average rating for this book is so high. There is no plot just a bunch of hideous situations and scenarios populated by uninteresting characters. Lots of people are killed or maimed in just the first eight chapters; I gave up at that point. The majority of the writing is disjointed clauses with a few complete sentences tossed in. I can't understand how this became a series of stories if this is an example of Dorsey's writing.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No wonder it is only 99¿

    Pathetic story hated it.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Total Disappointment

    This has to be one of the worst books I have ever read. Makes no sense and if it is susposed to be funny then I really missed the punchline. Ok to read if you have nothing better to do.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    What was this guy smokin?

    Oh man, this book is nuts!! Dorsey is a lunatic plain and simple!! I thought Carl Hiaasen was insane, but this guy is beyond crazy!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely a good read

    Started very slow and it was tough to follow. But kept going and ended up really enjoying it. Funny read and worth the effort. Will start the next book in the series shortly.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Awful

    Can't say anything else.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    wish i'd read the review before I bought

    this is one of the worst books i've ever picked up to read. just gratuitous sex, drugs, and violence without any plot or character development.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Don't bother

    Any humor in this is hard to find and I enjoy dark comedies. None of the chararcters are worth reading about and there is virtually no plot - just rambling situations spliced together.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    Outrageously Funny!!

    This is the second book by Tim Dorsey that I have had the extreme pleasure to read and I pray for more!! I was turned on to Mr. Dorsey by the NY Times Book Review Crime Page and being a part time Florida resident/transient I couldn't resist a look. Mr Dorsey develops outrageous characters and tells a story surrounding the much more outrageout activities of these characters. I found myself breaking out into loud laughter in an otherwise quiet restaurant, more than once. It is my ever humble opinion that Author Tim Dorsey is either insane or a genius. I think the latter with maybe just a touch of madness. Writing that can well be appreciated in the law enforcement world. For some unknown reason I keep thinking of the novel 'Catch Twenty-Two' as I read Dorsey's work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    One hell of a good book... a TRUE south FLORIDA tale!!!

    Tim Dorsey has added a new twist to the growing popularity of the southern Florida mystery writers such as James Hall, Carl Hiaasan, and my person favorite - Randy White. This story has got it all. From the drugged-out psychotic threesome, to the rejected drug cartel, all the way to the lawyer with morals. I found myself continuously laughing out loud and not wanting to put the book down. But like one of the previous reviewers, I was a bit curious about the abrupt ending... Until I read a local article in the newspaper that Mr. Dorsey claims to be doing a sequel that will pick up where 'FL Roadkill' left off. I can't wait!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Worst book in 50 years of reading

    I had such high hopes for this book as it was compared to Hiaasen's work. Despite the fact that it had minimal continuity, zero plot development. Unknowable characters randomly blasting in and out of the picture, I actually finished it. Now if only i could figure out what it was about. That'll teach me not to ignore the Readers ratings. What a catastrophy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Dumbest book EVER

    Not only can this author not spin a story, what he does spin sounds like he has watched one too many Ace Ventura movies, and lacks the basic skills to copy the decent parts. The descriptions of the characters can only be from the mind of a syphillitic monkey, or that of a teenager who watches too many bad hollywood crime depictions and has read one too many fantasies from a porn mag. What a piece of garbage. Not worth reading. If you get this as a gift its because that person hates you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Bad news!

    Not worth the 99¿ l paid for it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awful!

    Thought it would be a bit like a christopher moore book. Not at all! It just is not a good book. I finished it thinking it would get better but it doesnt. Really not worth the dollar i spent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Didn't enjoy this book at all

    This book was just all over the place, confusing and at times frustrating...so bad I couldn't even finish it. Sorry Mr. Dorsey...but this is my humble opinion...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17