Customer Reviews for

Florida Roadkill (Serge Storms Series #1)

Average Rating 3
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

An accidental but hilarious find!

Having come across this book in Atlantic Books on the boardwalk in Ocean City, MD, I thought to myself, 'Why not...I'm moving there, I might as well read more on the Sunshine State.' I'm glad I bought it, I definitely can say. If you need a laugh, this book certainly pr...
Having come across this book in Atlantic Books on the boardwalk in Ocean City, MD, I thought to myself, 'Why not...I'm moving there, I might as well read more on the Sunshine State.' I'm glad I bought it, I definitely can say. If you need a laugh, this book certainly provides more than one. Right down to Mo Grenadine being hit by the Conch Train in Key West, I had tears of laughter coming out of my eyes. Tim Dorsey is right next to the 'master of the Florida seriocomic novel,' Carl Hiaasen, in my eyes. Being second to Carl Hiaasen (my favorite author)...that's a great honor!

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Worst Book I have ever Read

I read average of 3 books a month and this book was absolutely GROSS.
It went from one over the top, disgustingly cruel scene to next. I would liken it like a severed head rolling down the road. I will never read another of this author's works...I bought 2 on B & N s...
I read average of 3 books a month and this book was absolutely GROSS.
It went from one over the top, disgustingly cruel scene to next. I would liken it like a severed head rolling down the road. I will never read another of this author's works...I bought 2 on B & N sale and will not start the 2nd....Big waste of read time, money, and paper on which it was printed...a BIG YUCK. Would have given less than one star if was available....

posted by clawman on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    HILARIOUS!

    This is one of the funniest, no wait, THEE funniest book I've read in years...and possibly my life. Way to go Dorsey

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    An accidental but hilarious find!

    Having come across this book in Atlantic Books on the boardwalk in Ocean City, MD, I thought to myself, 'Why not...I'm moving there, I might as well read more on the Sunshine State.' I'm glad I bought it, I definitely can say. If you need a laugh, this book certainly provides more than one. Right down to Mo Grenadine being hit by the Conch Train in Key West, I had tears of laughter coming out of my eyes. Tim Dorsey is right next to the 'master of the Florida seriocomic novel,' Carl Hiaasen, in my eyes. Being second to Carl Hiaasen (my favorite author)...that's a great honor!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    What was this guy smokin?

    Oh man, this book is nuts!! Dorsey is a lunatic plain and simple!! I thought Carl Hiaasen was insane, but this guy is beyond crazy!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    Outrageously Funny!!

    This is the second book by Tim Dorsey that I have had the extreme pleasure to read and I pray for more!! I was turned on to Mr. Dorsey by the NY Times Book Review Crime Page and being a part time Florida resident/transient I couldn't resist a look. Mr Dorsey develops outrageous characters and tells a story surrounding the much more outrageout activities of these characters. I found myself breaking out into loud laughter in an otherwise quiet restaurant, more than once. It is my ever humble opinion that Author Tim Dorsey is either insane or a genius. I think the latter with maybe just a touch of madness. Writing that can well be appreciated in the law enforcement world. For some unknown reason I keep thinking of the novel 'Catch Twenty-Two' as I read Dorsey's work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    One hell of a good book... a TRUE south FLORIDA tale!!!

    Tim Dorsey has added a new twist to the growing popularity of the southern Florida mystery writers such as James Hall, Carl Hiaasan, and my person favorite - Randy White. This story has got it all. From the drugged-out psychotic threesome, to the rejected drug cartel, all the way to the lawyer with morals. I found myself continuously laughing out loud and not wanting to put the book down. But like one of the previous reviewers, I was a bit curious about the abrupt ending... Until I read a local article in the newspaper that Mr. Dorsey claims to be doing a sequel that will pick up where 'FL Roadkill' left off. I can't wait!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Florida Roadkill, and the many successors, certainly do not have

    Florida Roadkill, and the many successors, certainly do not have a general appeal. The people who have given this a one likely did not read the inside of the cover, or the first chapter which is available in part on this page, before purchasing it. The problems they have with the book are displayed prominently in these places. In some publications of the book, a large heroin needle is prominent on the cover art, to tell you that heroin will appear in the book. If you don't like serial killers, drugs, hookers, and rants about Florida history, you're not gonna like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    I read a lot (all genres), as probably do you or you wouldn't be

    I read a lot (all genres), as probably do you or you wouldn't be reading this.
    I live in Florida.
    Like most, I am a transplant, but I love my adopted home of almost 20 years, especially its rich history.
    Mr. Dorsey's humorous account of serial killer with a heart Serge Storms' adventures are some of the most imaginative stories I have ever read. I understand the reviews that can't stomach this series, it ain't for everyone, but neither is apple pie. I love the way Dorsey often ties obscure Florida history into the tales, and the unique cast of characters that drop out and reappear in their own time seemingly by their own volition. I have caught myself researching the events the stories are based around and discussing my new found knowledge with family and friends.
    The best description I can come up with is to throw Dave Barry and Elmore Leonard and Kurt Vonnegut in a car, roll it end over end while on fire, let it get put out in the Everglades murky waters, and out will crawl Mr. Dorsey's Serge Storms.
    I've read every book in the series, and find myself unable to put them down once I start. I can't get enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    M110spl

    Outstanding!! A bit hard to grasp at first just where the author is going with this but having spent alot of time in Flalaland, it suddenly occurred to me, I know all these people! I've read the whole series, it just keeps on getting better. Incredibly funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Funny, violent, different!

    I liked it a lot. It was fast paced and funny, and different from anything I have read before. Read the first few pages and you will want to continue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly recommended I didn't want to put it down.

    I lived in Florida all my life, so was curious as to the content of this book. A variety of short stories connected by geography and persons living in Florida. The constant interchanging from one scene to another and interlocking characters kept me spellbound and curious as to "Where the heck is this book taking me next?" An emotionally spell binding roller coaster, awesome. I quickly looked for the next series of book to read. Definite thumbs up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Kitschy thriller

    Dorsey uses imaginative and original methods of murder and twists the lines of several people's lives into one another. I couldn't wait to always read the next chapter, and I can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Easy reading

    I enjoyed the book and found it to be an easy read. I also enjoed the fact that a lot of the places in the bok I have been to... really allows you to visualize ttje settings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Mad funny

    Icouldnt put this book down! Lol definitley a thrilling ride

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I've read Too damn funny

    I've read this story in paperback and I laughed my butt off. Sure it can get a little raunchy and raw but it was a fun read. It also looked at Florida without the Micky Mouse ears. If you want to read something that is from left field pick up any of Tim Dorsey's Serge Storms books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Really great book!! Hilarious!!

    Best series I've read in a long time!! Hilarious! Would recommend to anyone with a great sense of humor and an open mind! The storyline seems a little random at first, but it all makes sense if you stick with it! It is definitely worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    The awsomest book ever

    All I had to do was read the first chapter and my eyes were glued onto my nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Roadkill

    About to read it.
    Wounder if it is a great book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Hilarious, and imaginative!

    I accidentally found Tim Dorsey's books seven years ago. Totally love Serge and his street justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Serge and Coleman episode 1

    Dorsey began his Serge stories here and the fun hasnt stopped yet. Its always a riot of hijinks when Serge and Coleman are on the scene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Hilarious

    Great read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4