Customer Reviews for

Flower Net (Liu Hulan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Wonderful escape to modern China for those who love to travel by mystery!

    It is no surprise that Flower Net was singled out as a best first mystery novel -- it is a wonderful read for any mystery lover. I enjoyed it thoroughly and look forward to the rest of the series. Lisa See has created characters we can care about, placed them in fascinating circumstances, and brought it all to a resolution that leaves one wanting to know what happens to Liu Hulan next. Brew up a pot of tea and get ready to follow the twists and turns of Beijing's hutangs and L.A.'s back alleys!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Revealing Red Princess

    This book combines, romance, history, mystery and the exotic east. Lee is a good writer who has done extensive research to give us a book full of detail and interest.
    Sometimes the information seem like a list but most often I was intrigued by the characters as the romance developed and definitely captivated by the information on Chinese culture, government and everyday life.
    The juxtaposition between American every day life and the life of city and country Chinese is startling and eye opening. I had no idea the higher government officials had deteriorated into allowing their children to be princes and princesses of extreme wealth while regulating everyday Chinese to virtual poverty. The disclosure of the factory conditions is even more substandard than I had ever thought.
    Book two is even more revealing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    good read

    great story, well written, a view into asian culture

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Josh

    This is our book. Ill c u then and have fun! Remember: always tell the truth :) good night :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Collin

    Lays on a bed, nu.de

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Maddy

    Hi Josh! R u there or r u busy? Just got home from camp:)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Lisa See

    Really enjoyed this first one. Hope the next is as good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Answer

    CCCAB what clan?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    What Clan are you in?

    You are shown five types of prey. What one will you choose. A. Fish! B. Frog! C. Mouse! D. Bird! E. Rabbit!. You see a kit. What would be happening to it. A. Drowning. B. Fox attack. C trapped in fox trap. D. Stuck up a tree. E. Being blown away. You are fighting another clan. You would. A. Pull them under the river. B. Lure them into the shadows. C. Run around them to confuse them. D. Trap them in tight spaces. E. Drop from above. You are training. What are you training in. A. Stalking. B. Fighting. C. Swiming. D. Running. E. Tree climbing. Last bur not lest. You are ale to choose a last name based in youf clan. You are[Gray is your name]. A. Grayshadow. B. Grayriver. C. Graythorn. D. Graywind. E. Graywing. Reults! AACAB=you are RiverClan. BBBBA= you are ShadowClan. CCBAC=you are ThunderClan. DDDEE=you are SkyClan. ECDDE=your WindClan!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Bok grabs you from the start

    Author draws you in, keeps you intrigued throughout thevwhole book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    TRAINING AREA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    highly recommended

    good charecters,good plot.book clubs may enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Great choice- you keep on reading it - highly recommend it

    Ending is unsuspected/ great choice / oriental setting / can't wait to get the next book on this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    different for lisa see, but well worth a read.

    a mystery, travel log, and historical fiction all wrapped into one great book. i bought the #2 in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was hoping for

    I bought this after having read "Shanghai Girls." Totally different. Also, it seemed very slow to me, and I couldn't develop any connection with the story or the characters. I struggled to read it for a couple of weeks, and finally gave it up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Great great great!

    This is a great book about loyalty, history, and courage. It's a great read, interlaced with the histories of China. It's a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Red Princess mysteries

    all 3 volumes of the series are terrific page-turners, especially if you're interested in modern China. I wish the author had continued the series, I don't care as much for her other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    A touch of everything

    I thought it was an excellent thriller. Never one dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4