Customer Reviews for

Flowers for Algernon

Average Rating 4.5
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

What a journey!

Such an amazing book that truly made me feel for the main character. I would highly reccommend this book to anyone and it will definitely be one that I re-read!

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

decent book

This book is a great look into how we treat others less fortunate. It has its ups and downs and gets sad at the end for numerous reasons. I would recommend this book for its values and look into what the handicapped experience but it isnt a quick read (even as short as ...
This book is a great look into how we treat others less fortunate. It has its ups and downs and gets sad at the end for numerous reasons. I would recommend this book for its values and look into what the handicapped experience but it isnt a quick read (even as short as it is) that you just cant put down. I read a lot but this seemed to take me a while.

posted by lakraft on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    What a journey!

    Such an amazing book that truly made me feel for the main character. I would highly reccommend this book to anyone and it will definitely be one that I re-read!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I read this book when I was 12.

    But oh, did I love it. I re-read it over and over and finally understood most parts that I couldn't understand before. I was so young back then.

    Now I'm 23 and I still recommend this book, I love the writing style of the author and made me love Charlie as well. I cried at the end of the story when I first read it. Very touching.

    This book is worth a read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Happy and sad at the same time

    I love the journalistic writing style of Flowers For Algernon. It really helps to make you connect with the character Charlie. If you like stories that make you think you will like Flowers For Algernon.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Read The Promise by Christina Reklaitis!

    This was a great book. You should now try the Promise by Christina Reklaitis. Its another amazing read that you are sure to love :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flowers For Algernon

    I read this book 2 years ago for english and loved it! I found this book touching and emotional. I remember that it's about a man named Charlie who has a very low IQ, and has been choosen to take part in an exparimental surgery that could make him smarter...
    I loved this book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    decent book

    This book is a great look into how we treat others less fortunate. It has its ups and downs and gets sad at the end for numerous reasons. I would recommend this book for its values and look into what the handicapped experience but it isnt a quick read (even as short as it is) that you just cant put down. I read a lot but this seemed to take me a while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Loved it

    I was required to read it years ago for school. Unlike most of the other books i was required to read, i ended up loving it despite some of its sadness.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    ~

    A great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    I love this book.

    Even though its super depressing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Excellent

    This was an amazing story. I read the original at school, but I'm sure this is just as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Deeply moving

    Great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No words.

    Wow. I mean, just wow. No words can really describe this short story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Loved this book still think about it often.

    Impacted my heart greatly. Wow, totally new and fresh and different reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great Read

    So my school read this book a while ago and i absolutely loved it. It was a great raed and would recomend it for fundamental or school relate reading. Hha what other read is there?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    It wasvpretty good

    This book was pretty good with a pretty heartrenching ending if you like diaries or real scientific discovery stories id recommend it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Book Review This book is about a 3 out of five. Throughout the

    Book Review

    This book is about a 3 out of five. Throughout the story, he has a surgery for his brain and he eventually becomes smarter than Algernon. Everyone should read it, it is very inspiring. The moral of the story shows that you shouldn't pick on people for their I.Q

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Plz

    Stop giving away the story in the reviews. It ruins it for someone that hasnt read it yet. Love the book though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    My Book Review Book title and author: Flowers for Algernon By: D

    My Book Review
    Book title and author: Flowers for Algernon By: Daniel Keyes
    Title of review: My Book Review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    Charlie Gordon is a 35 year old mentally disabled adult. He believes he has friends. But they only stick around to make fun of Charlie.
    Description and summary of content
    I read Flowers for Algernon. While I was reading this book, I had many different thoughts. Charlie Gordon cleaned bathrooms; he did not have the intelligence of a normal 35 year old. With his disability, he often got his feelings hurt by people he thought were his friends. But they were really just in his life to make fun of him. Charlie didn’t get that until the end of the book.
    Evaluation
    I liked this book. It shows you not to make fun of others just because there is a difference between the two of you. It has a touching message and it encourages those who are different.
    Conclusion
    I would recommend this book to anyone. It shows you that not everyone is the same. There are different people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    I Think The Books Just Great, I Had A Big Feelings Jam Over This

    I Think The Books Just Great, I Had A Big Feelings Jam Over This. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21