BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flowers for Algernon

Average Rating 4
( 1024 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(546)

4 Star

(229)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Flowers For Algernon Book Review

Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story...
Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story starts with a mentally challenged man named Charlie Gordon, who is made fun of and bullied. The author does a great job creating sympathy in the reader's mind for this kind spirited man, who considers the bullies his friends. All Charlie wants is to be "normal". When Charlie is given an opportunity to become smarter, he takes it because he believes he could be happier. Soon he does become smarter, but instead of becoming happier he realizes that his friends were not laughing with him, but laughing at him. With intelligence, Charlie is able to see a cruelty in people that he was previously unaware existed. A most poignant moment in the book is when Charlie realizes the experiment may not be successful. Charlie has to grapple with the quality of his existence, and whether his temporary abilities will be worth the pain of loss if his intelligence turns out to be temporary. I would most definitely recommend this book because Daniel Keyes will create such strong feelings within you, the story will stay with you for years to come.

posted by PhronsieRose on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Didn't enjoy it. Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written boo

Didn't enjoy it.
Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who st...
Didn't enjoy it.
Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who struggles in life. Even though Charlie's IQ level did raise, he regressed. Overall, it was just hard to dedicate my full attention towards such a dull, sad book.

posted by 17932598 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Didn't enjoy it. Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written boo

    Didn't enjoy it.
    Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who struggles in life. Even though Charlie's IQ level did raise, he regressed. Overall, it was just hard to dedicate my full attention towards such a dull, sad book.

    14 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    i dont read

    i dont read

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    It was an okay story, but I honestly did not care for it that m

    It was an okay story, but I honestly did not care for it that much. I liked the setting and what all took place, but I have read better stories before. The charcters played a great role in the story and also in the movie. I enjoyed the story overall. I feel that this story is very good because it show that everyone is the same honestly and that it's not funny to pick on people for who they are because it's not their fault.
    ``````````````````

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Very dumb-it is really crazy

    Well Flower's for Algernon is a really stupid story. I don't like it because it doesn't really teach you anything. It doesn't even make sense. The man in the story doesn't even know how to read or spell and people make fun of him.
    Well the man's name is Charlie. He is really stupid and people love to make fun of him. Then he meets this mouse named Algernon and they race to see if Charlie can beat him. Algernon had surgery and he became really smart. The afterwards Charlie had surgery and he became really smart. Then later on down the road Algernon became stupid again and Charlie also became stupid again. The later on after that the mouse dies. Then Charlie always goes and puts flowers on Algernon's grave.

    3 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    it was TERRABLE. the story had nothing to teach . it sucked all

    it was TERRABLE. the story had nothing to teach . it sucked all through. i hated it

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    it was decent. we read it in class but i didn't really like it j

    it was decent. we read it in class but i didn't really like it just for the fact that everyone made fun of him for being below average

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I did not like te book there are some reasons why. The first re

    I did not like te book there are some reasons why. The first reason it is about a grown man who has brain problems. Then their is a mousethat has and operation so it will have memory to run mazes. The the man had an operation to be smater. He became a genuis. Then he stared geting dumb and eventually died.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    It's alright!

    The story Flowers for Algernon was a very long book for in out literature book. The only reason why I thought it was boring was because in was so long. It would have been better if it were shorter. One more reason why I thought it was boring is because it did not have enough detail. The story was all about a guy that was not very smart and had a low IQ. It was also about a mouse that was more intelligent than him. It was mainly about a surgery to try to make Charlie smarter but the surgery had never been tested on a human, just the mouse named Algernon. So they went ahead and tried the surgery and Charlie hated the game because Algernon always beat him at it. Then Charlie and the mouse bonded and the surgery actually worked on him. Then when Charlie moved, he realized that he was too smart to talk to anybody else and he realized that the people were not his friends before. They were just laughing at him. So he moved back then Algernon dies. Charlie's last request was to have flowers put on Algernon's grave. Then as the days passed, Charlie became dumber and dumber. Then after a long time, Charlie was back to his normal self.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    My book review Title of review- Flowers for Algernon Description

    My book review
    Title of review- Flowers for Algernon
    Description, and Summary of content. The Story about a guy that wants to be smart. The guy takes a couple tests to see if he’s smart, or dumb. The sciencetists have surgery they can do to make him smarter. He got smarter, and stupid again.
    Evalution – Yes, because he had a chance to become smarter, and he did.
    Conclusion- I think it should be like a play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I personally did not like this book. It is about a man who does

    I personally did not like this book. It is about a man who does not know much. He has brain surgery and things go odd from there. This is not a book I’m fond of. It is not the best book, yet it is not the worst. I think the basis of the story wasn’t legit. I don’t like the idea of exposing adults who didn’t get the learning privileges of us. I wouldn’t read this book. I wasted my time on something that I didn’t need to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I think this book was okay. It was not the best. I didn¿t like


    I think this book was okay. It was not the best. I didn’t like it at all, I think in the end when he becomes dumb again, he should’ve stayed smart, and that would’ve made the story better.

    This book is about a guy named Charlie. He was a slow learner, until he got an operation on his brain to make him become smart. He became smart after surgery. Then in the end his brain deteriorated and he became himself again.

    I didn’t like this book because it was boring. It was not interesting at all, or fun to read. I think it would’ve been better if he would’ve stayed smart in the end.


    I recommend you not to read this book. It’s very boring, and I found it uninteresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Charlie has surgery, will he live or die? There¿s this guy nam

    Charlie has surgery, will he live or die? There’s this guy named Charlie. He isn’t all there and he’s kind of slow. He has surgery that they did on this mouse. The mouse is named Algernon. Charlie gets smart but then later on goes back to being not so smart, and slow. I personally thought this book was stupid. Why? Because Charlie gets picked at, and he doesn’t realize it. He thinks people are his friends, but really their picking at him. I also personally think that people shouldn’t read this book, because in my opinion I didn’t like it. But if you wanted to read it anyone could really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Khazor

    Name: Khazor Zyndre <br>Age: 2,300, looks about 23. <br>Gender: Male <br>Appearance: Black short cropped hair, little spiky, will sometimes hide his eyes, has the whole goate/moustache/sideburns deal. His eyes are a blood red with a thin ring of blue around the pupils. When angry or upset, the red will glow dimly, and very rarely the blue will glow... no one's see that. <br>skin is pale, but its a bit darker than the average vampire. Wears simple clothes, including; long gray overcoat with a high collar, black knee high boots, dark blue tee-shirt, dusty blue jeans, and also has a gold pendant necklace with a light blue sideways cresent in the center. <br>Personality: very withdrawn, short-tempered (will bite if provoked, even one already a vampire), and rarely accepts friendship... he has to warm up to you. If he does warm up and accept you, he may act differently, a little more open, etc. May have panic attacks... rarely though. <br>Other: wont talk about his past, MIGHT to a friend but there's no garrentee. Has no known family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Harkon and Emilia's Bios.

    Name - Harkon.
    <br>
    Age - Gonna be honest here, 1,093, but looks to be 17.
    <br>
    Gender - You could take a guess.
    <br>
    Physical Description -
    <br>
    Harkon is neither skinny nor large. He is medium in body size, but leans more towards skinny-medium than large-medium. He is 6'1" exactly. His hair black and sidesweeps over his eyes, making seeing his eyes difficult. His eyes, if anyone were to ever see them, are a burnt orange color. He is pale and usually wears black clothing.
    <br>
    Personality - He is very closed off and doesn't talk to people very often.
    <br>
    History - Let's just say he's a 'War Veteran'. He often has flashbacks from wars causing him to, most likely, have panic attacks.
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    Name ~ Emilia
    <br>
    Age ~ Never ask a woman her age.
    <br>
    Gender ~ /)_-
    <br>
    Physical Description ~
    <br>
    Emilia has shoulder length red-brown hair. Her hair is extremely straight. Her eyes are a vibrant purple-red. She has full red lips and elegant cheekbones. She is 5'6" and slightly paler than Harkon. She usually wears very classy outfits and every so often a dress.
    <br>
    Personality ~ She used to be very open with people, but her time with Harkon has closed her off. She will talk to someone if they talk to her.
    <br>
    History ~ She once was an actress, thus her looks, one night she went out to a party. Her friends got too drunk to drive home so she walked. She had never been around this part of town and took a wrong turn into an alleyway. You can imagine what happened next, she was attacked and bitten. Her attacker believed her to be dead or dying so they fled. Emilia passed out and awoke to a room she wasn't familiar with. She was laying on a bed, much like a medical bed. She looked around and noticed Harkon standing by the door. All he said was, "Good. You're awake." Before gesturing her to follow him and walking out. She followed and so began an awkward friendship which eventually led to them coming here.
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    That's all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Important plz answer

    Is this book inappropriate at all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    They want to do an experiment to see if they can make people thr

    They want to do an experiment to see if they can make people three times smarter than they are. They use a man named Charlie. He becomes so smart they have to bring him down to earth. So he loses his smartness and becomes what he was before the experiment. It was horrible they picked on Charlie because he was not very smart. They thought that they could put him down for being not as smart as them. Then when Algernon dies Charlie gets mad. He gets mad at the scientist that made them that way. So he wishes he would have stayed the way he was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flowers for Algernon is about a man named Charlie Gordon. He is

    Flowers for Algernon is about a man named Charlie Gordon. He is a very stupid man. Then he has an operation that slowly makes him smart. Then after time he slowly became stupid again. Once he is stupid again he starts life over again so people don’t know him as the man that had an operation to be smart and then became dumb again. I thought flowers for Algernon was absolutely terrible. It made no sense the idiot couldn’t spell and he talked like an idiot. It was extremely unrealistic. And he raced a mouse, how stupid is that? Anyone in their right mind could beat a stinking mouse .Also the book was even more unrealistic considering it was wrote in the 1950’s!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flowers For Algernon is about a 37 year old man named Charlie Go

    Flowers For Algernon is about a 37 year old man named Charlie Gordon. He does test but can’t pass them. Then he gets an operation that makes him a lot smarter. After a couple weeks he loses all his intelligence. Everyone feels sorry for him so he moves from town. I thought the story was bad. It really didn’t make sense. There was nothing funny in it either. It was kind of sad and boring story. It was sad because his best friend was a mouse.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Winnie to kev

    R u legit leaving?!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Just couldn't get into it

    I started the book and got about 25 pages into it. It is written from first person who spells as it sounds and not as it is. I just couldn't grasp the story line of the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3