Customer Reviews for

Flowers for Algernon

Average Rating 4.5
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

What a journey!

Such an amazing book that truly made me feel for the main character. I would highly reccommend this book to anyone and it will definitely be one that I re-read!

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

decent book

This book is a great look into how we treat others less fortunate. It has its ups and downs and gets sad at the end for numerous reasons. I would recommend this book for its values and look into what the handicapped experience but it isnt a quick read (even as short as ...
This book is a great look into how we treat others less fortunate. It has its ups and downs and gets sad at the end for numerous reasons. I would recommend this book for its values and look into what the handicapped experience but it isnt a quick read (even as short as it is) that you just cant put down. I read a lot but this seemed to take me a while.

posted by lakraft on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    decent book

    This book is a great look into how we treat others less fortunate. It has its ups and downs and gets sad at the end for numerous reasons. I would recommend this book for its values and look into what the handicapped experience but it isnt a quick read (even as short as it is) that you just cant put down. I read a lot but this seemed to take me a while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    It wasvpretty good

    This book was pretty good with a pretty heartrenching ending if you like diaries or real scientific discovery stories id recommend it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Book Review This book is about a 3 out of five. Throughout the

    Book Review

    This book is about a 3 out of five. Throughout the story, he has a surgery for his brain and he eventually becomes smarter than Algernon. Everyone should read it, it is very inspiring. The moral of the story shows that you shouldn't pick on people for their I.Q

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    A book that is worth a read once there's nothing left to read. I

    A book that is worth a read once there's nothing left to read.
    It starts out fine, character development and plot points handled carefully, and it all works out for a while. Towards the middle, it even gets close to 4-star status. However, once it passes the half mark, the story begins to lose the little momentum it had, leaving us with an overlong, dragged out story. Even at only about 320 pages, it seems to stretch out forever. The ending is quite surprising, and everything wraps up nicely, but that's not enough to make up for the prolonged mid-to-end section. Still, if you're interested in psychological or medical drama, this might just be for you. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Worthwhile read

    Interesting story and examination into the impacts of labratory testing of animals and humans, as well humanity's treatment of mentally challenged people. I rooted for Charlie and teared at the end but it did have a very slow start which is intentional. Cleaverly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    I have not read this book yet, but i did read a section of it in my language arts class. Even though it is really sad it does show that people need to be kind to others. I mean not just people with disabilities, I mean everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    So far

    So far its a good book a little hard to understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Thx

    Thx for the book eve

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2004

    I Expected More

    My family, and my teacher had recommended that I read this book. However, I was slightly dissapointed. The book took a long time to get into, the middle was very good, while the end was dissapointing. I did think that this book was sad, but I never really got into it and found it boring. I think that you should read this book, but do not get your hopes up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    quite simple

    it was simple with a strong meaning which is always a plus, it has a strong base that is for sure, but still doestnt make it on my top 10, good but not as good as the old man in the sea , an eye opener, not great for children though they cant handle so much emotion, they can understand his pain, but not the bigger picture the in justice in our material world,,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    Very Cool !!!!!!

    I thought that this book was sad, happy, suspenful and much more. I recommend this book to all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    It was good but...

    I thought the book was ok, and I also thought it was amazing how the author could write like Charley, but it wasn't that believable. It does give you something to think about though. I also think the title is stupid because is does nothing for the book itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2