Customer Reviews for

Flowers for Algernon

Average Rating 4
( 1026 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(547)

4 Star

(230)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Flowers For Algernon Book Review

Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story...
Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story starts with a mentally challenged man named Charlie Gordon, who is made fun of and bullied. The author does a great job creating sympathy in the reader's mind for this kind spirited man, who considers the bullies his friends. All Charlie wants is to be "normal". When Charlie is given an opportunity to become smarter, he takes it because he believes he could be happier. Soon he does become smarter, but instead of becoming happier he realizes that his friends were not laughing with him, but laughing at him. With intelligence, Charlie is able to see a cruelty in people that he was previously unaware existed. A most poignant moment in the book is when Charlie realizes the experiment may not be successful. Charlie has to grapple with the quality of his existence, and whether his temporary abilities will be worth the pain of loss if his intelligence turns out to be temporary. I would most definitely recommend this book because Daniel Keyes will create such strong feelings within you, the story will stay with you for years to come.

posted by PhronsieRose on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Didn't enjoy it. Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written boo

Didn't enjoy it.
Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who st...
Didn't enjoy it.
Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who struggles in life. Even though Charlie's IQ level did raise, he regressed. Overall, it was just hard to dedicate my full attention towards such a dull, sad book.

posted by 17932598 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 153 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    If you enjoy sitting down and reading books about men that overc

    If you enjoy sitting down and reading books about men that overcome their problems this book, Flowers for Algernon is the book for you. In the beginning a man named Charlie is selected for an operation to triple their intelligence. Since he has bad spelling and an overall IQ of 68 he made a good candidate. They put him through a serious of tests called the raw shok test. The first test was a series of ink blots on index cards. He had to make up a story of what he saw but he said that he couldn’t make up lies about people he didn’t know. The next test was a race. The mouse Algernon had a 3-d maze and Charlie had the same maze only on paper and was 2-d. They raced before the operation and Charlie lost. They performed the operation and Charlie won. He decided to do something for the field of science and found flaws in the experiment. Over the next couple days Algernon dies. Charlie new that was going to happen to him so he finished his work and gave it to the doctors that performed the operation. He started the mental deterioration. He didn’t want anybody to feel bad for him so he moved away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Flowers for Algernon is about a man named Charlie who isn¿t very

    Flowers for Algernon is about a man named Charlie who isn’t very smart, and has the chance to become smart by having surgery. The story is about how Charlie gets a surgery to make him smarter. He falls in love with his night school teacher after he got the surgery. Then he slowly loses his smartness. I think the story was ok but, I wouldn’t read it again. It was a long boring story. I think other people would like it but, others wouldn’t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Haven

    Name: Haven Skylynn-Raine Tatum
    <br>Age: 1,000 but looks 20
    <br>Gender: Female
    <br>Looks: White hair that stops at the middle of her back, one red eye one blue eye, she is a bit pale, 5"4, 120 pounds, very agile and althetic looking for her short stature.
    <br>Attire: She normally wears a red hoodie, black shorts and black shoes.
    <br>Persona: Shy, kind, caring, loyal and very slow to anger. The only thing is once Haven is angered; her personality changes completely.
    <br>Crush: None.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    PLOT SPOILER ALERT!!9-20-2013

    SEPT.20/2013-CHARLIE GORDON IS NOT VERY SMART and neither are you!!You know it just occured to me that I'm being your bully!II don't want to be responsible for you takin'an over dose or jumpin'off a bridge or something so I'll go easy on you.This book is so predictable and so many reviews that were so close to spillin'the beans because the story can actually be wrapped up in a nutshell.I really think that you didn't spoil it on purpose and you were just being a"CHARLIE"~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Granny B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Sad, but good

    Flowers for Algernon is a great book in the begining, but made me cry by the end. If you dont like sad endings do not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    A book that is worth a read once there's nothing left to read. I

    A book that is worth a read once there's nothing left to read.
    It starts out fine, character development and plot points handled carefully, and it all works out for a while. Towards the middle, it even gets close to 4-star status. However, once it passes the half mark, the story begins to lose the little momentum it had, leaving us with an overlong, dragged out story. Even at only about 320 pages, it seems to stretch out forever. The ending is quite surprising, and everything wraps up nicely, but that's not enough to make up for the prolonged mid-to-end section. Still, if you're interested in psychological or medical drama, this might just be for you. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    In the story flowers for Algernon there is a man that is not rea

    In the story flowers for Algernon there is a man that is not really smart. The doctors had surgery on him to make him smarter. There is a mouse Algernon that had the same thing happen to him. But he found out that it does not last for a long time and at the end he became dumb. I don’t like it because I like a story that has action in it. It doesn’t have action in it. It just talks about a man and a mouse racing and they are getting smart and then they get dumb and the mouse dies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    This guy name Charley. He was no the smartest one. He went to

    This guy name Charley. He was no the smartest one. He went to take an ink test. So he went to get surgery, so he could be smart. So he got smart. So he had the surgery. Then his pet mouse effect was gone. So he did some research on this effect. Then the effect is wearing off. So now he is not smart, people felt sorry for him. So he did not want that so he moves out of New York. I love the book. He was dumb at first. Then the doctor turns him into a smart. Then I stared to hate the book at the end a little bit. Because he is starting to turn dumb back again. So he had to move because people felt sorry for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flower for Algernon was a decent story. It was about a handy ca

    Flower for Algernon was a decent story. It was about a handy caped man that just wanted to learn. Doctors had an experimental operation to increase intelligence three times. They choose Charlie for the experiment and it worked. Sadly, his intelligence faded and he slowly became not as smart. The book was just ok for me. I wasn’t a fan of the ending. It was fairly sad at the begging and at the end when they stood up for him changed my mind. All and all I thought it was a well thought and original book. I think I’d read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flowers for Algernon was a good story. It was sad because Charli

    Flowers for Algernon was a good story. It was sad because Charlie got bullied, and he didn’t know any better so he laughed with them. The end was sad because Charlie lost all of his intelligence, when he was once smarter than the doctors that made him smart. He came a long way, then lost it all. This was an ok book. It was ok book, because it was sad then happy, then sad again. It was sad at first because he wasn’t smart and he was being made fun of horribly. Then it was happy, because he became really smart and he knew about pretty much everything. After that the experiment had started to wear off Algernon, so he figured out that he was soon going to lose his intelligence. Then he figured out that he was losing his intelligence, so then he just got depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flowers For Algernon is a good story to read. It taught you th

    Flowers For Algernon is a good story to read. It taught you that not everybody is perfect. When Charlie took the test he didn’t know what to do. He just needed to take some time to think a little bit. So he went in and got surgery to make him smart. The second time he took the test he got a version of what he could kind of see. So that is my summary about Flowers For Algernon. I think that this is a good book to read. It is showing you that not everybody is perfect. I think that it is good because, its based on a true story. The author also expresses things to show you how it was going to be. So I thought that it was good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Charlie is a guy that is a little slow and gets made fun of at h

    Charlie is a guy that is a little slow and gets made fun of at his work. Charlie wants to be smart. He has to take this test to see if he can see a picture in the inkblots, but he can’t. Then he gets an experiment done on him and he becomes smart. But it eventually wares off. The book was really boring. It wasn’t an interesting topic. The book wasn’t fun to read. It had no exciting parts in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    ¿The Flowers For Algernon¿ Charlie was an adult that wanted to s

    “The Flowers For Algernon”
    Charlie was an adult that wanted to smart, but when he became smart he faded after a while. His friend was a mouse and his name was Algernon. Charlie wanted to move because after he thought he was still in Mrs. Kinnian class. At the end Charlie’s friend Algernon passed away. What I thought about the story? I thought that it was a good book. The reason that I thought that it was just ok was because it was not a humor story. It wasn’t that funny and I just didn’t like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    At the beginning of the story Charlie was dumb and he didn¿t kno

    At the beginning of the story Charlie was dumb and he didn’t know how to read or write. Before he took the test he couldn’t beat the mouse in the maze race. After he took the test he was able to beat the mouse in the maze race. At the end of the story he was dumb and he wasn’t able to read or write and he couldn’t remember the long words that he was able to spell the words like he could when he was smart. I did like the story. I thought that it was a good lesson story. To not ever change anything about yourself or you wouldn’t ever be the same ever again. It’s just best to be the person that you really are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flowers for Algernon was about a guy that wasn¿t very smart. His

    Flowers for Algernon was about a guy that wasn’t very smart. His name was Charlie. He got surgery and it made him smarter. Then the effects wore off. Then he ran away. The book was okay. It made me bored after a while I think the best part was at the end. I didn’t really like the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Flowers for Algernon is about this man named Charlie. He isn¿t v

    Flowers for Algernon is about this man named Charlie. He isn’t very smart, but he wants to be more than anything. For Charlie to become smart he has an operation to become smart. He became very smart very fast only over a few weeks. Then he started to lose his smarts. I think the book was pretty good. It told how Charlie wanted to be like everybody else, and how bad he wanted it. He had an operation that he didn’t even know for sure that would last forever. He had a lot of motivation to become smart. That’s why I like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    ¿Flowers for Algernon¿ is about a mouse and a man, who become sm

    ’Flowers for Algernon’ is about a mouse and a man, who become smart. In the beginning of the story the man can’t spell or write well. Then he gets an operation to make him smart. Then as the story goes on the mouse slowly becomes dumb and so doesn’t the man. The mouse dies and everyone feels sorry for the man because he was once smart. The man moves away for a fresh start. The book is okay, but I’ve read better. The book isn’t good because the story isn’t really realistic. There are many stories like this, but it has people and doctors. Most unrealistic stories have a monster or are like a fairytale. Then it has a surgery that you can become smart. I don’t believe that would work in real life. That’s why I don’t really like this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    There is a man named Charlie Gordon. This man is mental challeng

    There is a man named Charlie Gordon. This man is mental challenged he try to be smart. He then get an opportunity to have an operation to get smarter. He then begins his long quest to get smart. He has to take many tests to see the progress to get smarter. He then loses it all in the end to find everything he did was for nothing or so he thinks. He moves because he doesn’t want anyone to feel sorry for him. I think that this story made u feel bad for him. You can relate to him because most everyone has saw some like that. I also think it is sad because he was picked on for so long without even realizing it. Theory is no different from any one else they are still people. Just don’t worry about it.There is a man named Charlie Gordon. This man is mental challenged he try to be smart. He then get an opportunity to have an operation to get smarter. He then begins his long quest to get smart. He has to take many tests to see the progress to get smarter. He then loses it all in the end to find everything he did was for nothing or so he thinks. He moves because he doesn’t want anyone to feel sorry for him. I think that this story made u feel bad for him. You can relate to him because most everyone has saw some like that. I also think it is sad because he was picked on for so lonThere is a man named Charlie Gordon. This man is mental challenged he try to be smart. He then get an opportunity to have an operation to get smarter. He then begins his long quest to get smart. He has to take many tests to see the progress to get smarter. He then loses it all in the end to find everything he did was for nothing or so he thinks. He moves because he doesn’t want anyone to feel sorry for him. I think that this story made u feel bad for him. You can relate to him because most everyone has saw some like that. I also think it is sad because he was picked on for so long without even realizing it. Theory is no different from any one else they are still people. Just don’t worry about it.g without even realizing it. Theory is no different from any one else they are still people. Just don’t worry about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Charlie was dumb, and he wanted to be smart. So he had surgery

    Charlie was dumb, and he wanted to be smart. So he had surgery that was suppose to make him smart. He was smart an people at his work was making fun of him when he was dumb, and when he had his surgery they still made fun of him, and he new it to. Then after so long after Charlie surgery Charlie started to go dumb again. The story was ok I liked but it wasn’t the best. It was sad that people mad fun of him but he didn’t know that they was till after his surgery. Charlie was happy before he had his surgery because he thought that his coworkers was his friends. When he had his surgery and went back to work he realized they was making fun of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    The Story ¿Flowers for Algernon is about a boy named Charlie. He

    The Story “Flowers for Algernon is about a boy named Charlie. He is a person who isn’t smart and wants to become smart. These doctors do an operation on him to make him smarter. They make him write in journal so they can see his improvements. The intelligence only last for so long and then he goes back to like he was before the operation. I think the book was okay. It was kind of sad because the guy got made fun of and laughed at because he wasn’t smart. The bad thing about the book was when they made fun of him and when he lost his intelligence. The good thing was when he became smarter than everyone and was able to do everything everyone else could do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 153 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8