Customer Reviews for

Flowers for Algernon: Student Edition

Average Rating 4
( 565 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Flowers For Algernon Book Review

Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story...
Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story starts with a mentally challenged man named Charlie Gordon, who is made fun of and bullied. The author does a great job creating sympathy in the reader's mind for this kind spirited man, who considers the bullies his friends. All Charlie wants is to be "normal". When Charlie is given an opportunity to become smarter, he takes it because he believes he could be happier. Soon he does become smarter, but instead of becoming happier he realizes that his friends were not laughing with him, but laughing at him. With intelligence, Charlie is able to see a cruelty in people that he was previously unaware existed. A most poignant moment in the book is when Charlie realizes the experiment may not be successful. Charlie has to grapple with the quality of his existence, and whether his temporary abilities will be worth the pain of loss if his intelligence turns out to be temporary. I would most definitely recommend this book because Daniel Keyes will create such strong feelings within you, the story will stay with you for years to come.

posted by PhronsieRose on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Didn't enjoy it. Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written boo

Didn't enjoy it.
Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who st...
Didn't enjoy it.
Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who struggles in life. Even though Charlie's IQ level did raise, he regressed. Overall, it was just hard to dedicate my full attention towards such a dull, sad book.

posted by 17932598 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 565 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Flowers For Algernon Book Review

    Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes is a powerful, original story and remains as relevant today as when it was written. I first read this book in the 70's and loved it, and I again "found" the book when my teen daughter read it and found it equally touching. The story starts with a mentally challenged man named Charlie Gordon, who is made fun of and bullied. The author does a great job creating sympathy in the reader's mind for this kind spirited man, who considers the bullies his friends. All Charlie wants is to be "normal". When Charlie is given an opportunity to become smarter, he takes it because he believes he could be happier. Soon he does become smarter, but instead of becoming happier he realizes that his friends were not laughing with him, but laughing at him. With intelligence, Charlie is able to see a cruelty in people that he was previously unaware existed. A most poignant moment in the book is when Charlie realizes the experiment may not be successful. Charlie has to grapple with the quality of his existence, and whether his temporary abilities will be worth the pain of loss if his intelligence turns out to be temporary. I would most definitely recommend this book because Daniel Keyes will create such strong feelings within you, the story will stay with you for years to come.

    62 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    WOW!!!!

    It is about a 37 year old man that is mentally retarded. I talks about some things he has to go through until he becomes smart like other people. I think the author's purpose is to show how important it is to just like who you are, and that it's not good, funny, or cool to pick on kids that are mentally retarded. I feel that this story is very good because it show that everyone is the same honestly and that it's not funny to pick on people for who they are because it's not their fault.
    Some of the main points I found that stood out to me was how he felt his emotions, and how they varied as the story goes on. When I paid attention to the how he felt about most things I compared to how I would feel if this was happening to me. It made me realize how important it is to appreciate your talents. A quote that I think is very important is how he took up for the dishwasher when everyone was laughing at him "Shut up! Leave him alone. It's not his fault he can't understand! He can't help what he is. But he is still a human being!"
    Personally I think the book approved all the goals and achievements, due to the fact that it shows just how difficult it really is to be in someone else's shoes when it comes to being picked on about their disabilities. It show just how hard it is to live with being mentally retarded, and having everyone picking in you and you having no idea of what is going on. It also shows the emotions that Charlie goes through.

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Didn't enjoy it. Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written boo

    Didn't enjoy it.
    Flowers for Algernon is a very well-written book with a unique story line. However, I did not like this book. Nothing about this book made me enjoy reading it. The story line was too depressing. I do not like reading about a mentally disabled boy who struggles in life. Even though Charlie's IQ level did raise, he regressed. Overall, it was just hard to dedicate my full attention towards such a dull, sad book.

    14 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Review-Flowers for Algernon

    Daniel Keyes "Flowers for Algernon" is a beautiful written book. This book talks about an experimental surgery that can increase intelligence, that has been proved to make one mouse called Algernon. Into a maze-running, mouse-genius. But the surgery has never been tried on a human. Charlie Gordon, a mentally disabled adult with a very low IQ has been specially chosen for this experiment. Who tells the story from his point of view through daily progress reports. Early reports show Charlie excitement to learn and brightly display his interactions with Algernon as they form a bond for each other.
    As the treatment goes on, Charlie increases his intelligence and realizes he is attracted with Alice. They form a deep relationship with one another. While Algernon's behavior changes drastically; he forgotten a lot of things he had learned, he was solving problems in a primitive level. He reacts differently and refuses to do the experiment, so he curls up in a white puff. Unfortunately, Algernon deteriorates and dies. The same thing happens to Charlie and begins to forget almost every thing he once learned. His last request is to put flowers in Algernon's grave.
    Flowers for Algernon is no ordinary book. What I liked about this book is that it is wonderfully written and makes you think about treating people. Even if you're smart it doesn't mean you should treat people in a rude matter. Other books I would like to read from Daniel Keyes is the book called "Algernon, Charlie, and I: A Writer's Journey." I recommend this book for sci-fi readers, for ages 12 and up because there is some adult content. It is a must read!

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    My Review Flowers For Algernon was a very well-rounded book, unt

    My Review
    Flowers For Algernon was a very well-rounded book, until the ending. The ending was the only part that i did not like about it because Charlie, the main character, started regressing after all that he had been through. If the end had another alternate ending, it would deserve all 5-out-of-5 stars. Besides the ending, the whole book was very well. It had a well structure and storyline. Everybody should read this book because it teaches you that God has made you a certain way and everybody is different in their own special way.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Worth Reading Flowers for Algernon gives you different emotions

    Worth Reading
    Flowers for Algernon gives you different emotions to deal with. It is a great story about the struggles of a man with a very low I.Q. At the beginning you feel sympathy for the man, Charlie Gordan. As the story goes on you begin to feel excietment for him as his I.Q. rises. At the end you start to feel very sorry for him because of is I.Q. dropping back down. Throughout the story he is accompanied by a lab mouse named Algernon who becomes his best friend. This story is very inspirational story that can teach you many life lessons. I think this is a great book that tells a story of friendship, the importance of understanding one another, and love.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    This story was good but not my favorite. Throughout the story he

    This story was good but not my favorite. Throughout the story he was picked on and made fun of. This story did not keep my attention. The book did show that people should have been better to him because of his problems. However, I did not find reading about a mentally impared man did not find my interest.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Flowers for Algernon is about a thirty seven year old man that i

    Flowers for Algernon is about a thirty seven year old man that is mentally challenged. Flowers for Algernon explains how Charlie Gordon and a mouse Algernon contempt to create a relationship. Charlie Gordon has a theory of becoming smart like other humans. He was picked on for the task he lives for. Reading this book make others, and I feel that you can not judge people from how the act, because honestly, they can come out to be really sweet and kind. Personally, I believe also that the book approved all the goals and achievements, due to the fact it may be rather harsh for someone who gets emotionally thrown around. I will not give the common topic of the book away but, to I, I would not say I loved the book, but if you're interested for a emotional and touching book I would recommend Flowers for Algernon.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Book Review Flowers For Algernon was personally not my favorite

    Book Review
    Flowers For Algernon was personally not my favorite book. I didn't enjoy this book as much as others. The book seemed very depressing to me. The ony upside of the story is, it teaches others not to pick on people that are mentally disabled because it can really hurt them. It's sad that all people did was make fun of Charlie when he couldn't control what was wrong with him. All he wanted to be was "normal". I personally think some people should read it just to see what mentally disabled people go through. Chairlie tried so hard after the surgery to progress but once he got smart, he started to regress. The story is all together depressing and sad.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    i dont read

    i dont read

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Flowers for Algernon is about, a 37 years olds man that is menta

    Flowers for Algernon is about, a 37 years olds man that is mentally challenged. This book talks about an experimental surgery that can increase intelligence, that has been proved to make one mouse called Algernon. The experiment had never been tried on a human. Charlie gordon a mentally challenge adult had been chosen for the surgery. The way the story in first person through a daily report.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    It was an okay story, but I honestly did not care for it that m

    It was an okay story, but I honestly did not care for it that much. I liked the setting and what all took place, but I have read better stories before. The charcters played a great role in the story and also in the movie. I enjoyed the story overall. I feel that this story is very good because it show that everyone is the same honestly and that it's not funny to pick on people for who they are because it's not their fault.
    ``````````````````

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Flowers For Algernon is a wonderful book to read. I recmand this

    Flowers For Algernon is a wonderful book to read. I recmand this book for ages up to 12 and older to read. This book talks about how people have difternt IQ's. Like for Charile he has a very low IQ. Like for me I may have a high one. Charile & Algernon had make a geart pair by working together. They both work had to win during the maze. When he works at the bakerie those people make fun of him and that isn't right. Just because there is something wrong inside of his head don't mean that you can go and make fun of someone and hurt there fellings. No one really did not care what they did to poor Charile until he got smart. Then when he stared loseing his ablity to be smart, he cought on to what the doctor was saing at the persation. He got up there on stage and made that doctor look like a fool. He was tried of being lied to. I would really had been tried of b eing lied to too/.


    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Very dumb-it is really crazy

    Well Flower's for Algernon is a really stupid story. I don't like it because it doesn't really teach you anything. It doesn't even make sense. The man in the story doesn't even know how to read or spell and people make fun of him.
    Well the man's name is Charlie. He is really stupid and people love to make fun of him. Then he meets this mouse named Algernon and they race to see if Charlie can beat him. Algernon had surgery and he became really smart. The afterwards Charlie had surgery and he became really smart. Then later on down the road Algernon became stupid again and Charlie also became stupid again. The later on after that the mouse dies. Then Charlie always goes and puts flowers on Algernon's grave.

    3 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    This story is about a man with mental problems, but in reality h

    This story is about a man with mental problems, but in reality he is just like everyone else. He just wants to be smart. He goes to a center where he gets taught by a teacher, he eventually falls in love with. This man goes through a procedure, that gives him super intelligence. That's when he falls in love with his teacher. Back when he was mentally retarded, he acted like a child. So he didn't really know what love was. By him getting this surgery it made him a completly different person. In the end however he ended up going back to being mentally retarded. His intelligence slowly faided. It hurt his teacher very badly because she wa sin love with him too. She had to get over it though. Algernon however was a mouse that the doctor did the same precedure on. Algernon ended up dying in the book. The main character thought thats what was going to happen to him. This is why I read this book because in this book you have to learn to except people for who they are and not judge them.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Flowers For Algernon

    A book that makes you think about the way we treat people and how deeply it affects them. To be born less than perfect doesnt mean less valuable. We need to treat every one with respect and kindness knowing we all matter. We all learn from each other no matter who we are. I was left gratefull that I take the time to try and let people know that they matter. We are all the same...... human. I also think to loose what we have be it mental or physical from age or disease or for any reason is very hard. People need to have compassion. How would we feel if someone we loved was the one who was less than so callled perfect?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    inspirational, captivating, pivotal. This book has it all.

    Some people think the way God made us was how we were supposed to be. We were made to be who we were and there was nothing to change that, but according to two scientists in search of wealth and praise, Strauss and Nemur make an attempt at transforming the human mind into an infinite abyss of knowledge capable of no learning boundaries. Hastily developed, their brain operation could do things to the human mind that many people never thought possible, even if for only a short while.<BR/><BR/>The operation had proved to make one special mouse, Algernon, into a maze-running, mouse-genius, but had never been tried on a human. Here enters Charlie Gordon, a mentally handicapped adult who tells the story from his perspective through daily ¿progris riports,¿ as he so titles them. Early reports show Charlie¿s eagerness to learn and vividly display his interactions with Algernon as they form a bond for each other. <BR/><BR/>Eventually, Charlie¿s expanding knowledge surpasses his ability to cope with the emotional side of himself. He doesn¿t understand why the college students he argues with for hours and Miss Kinnian, his teacher and first love, soon turn away from him. Charlie is faced with the harsh realization that even though he desired to be smart, maybe it wasn¿t how he was made to be. <BR/><BR/>Soon Algernon begins to regress into his original mental state. Would Charlie¿s path follow that of Algernon or would the operation prove to be a final solution to the ¿problem¿ Strauss and Nemur attempt to ¿fix.¿ If he does end up regressing to his previous being will everything return to normal? Is it possible that after the operation he is left even more handicapped? The ending will surprise you and depending on your ability to keep it together, may leave you in tears, or at least with watery eyes.<BR/> <BR/> Despite the ending, I was impressed with the style Keyes uses to portray Charlie¿s progress. Throughout Flowers for Algernon, the great improvement in grammar, punctuation, and sentence structure show just how quickly Charlie progresses. In the brief four-month period of intellectual growth, Charlie learns concepts that take normal humans all of twelve years of schooling to master and Keyes¿ daily progress reports clearly show this improvement even from one day to the next. After the operation, Charlie often has flash backs to his childhood where he finally understands the events that have happened to them and has his eyes opened to the mistreatment he received. Before he thought his coworkers from the bakery were friends and paid him attention because they liked him and thought he was funny but after the flashbacks, he realizes that they weren¿t laughing with him, yet laughing at his incompetence to do any normal task. My eyes were opened to some of this mistreatment displayed towards the mentally handicapped through Flowers for Algernon and if you are up for a thrilling page-turner that will open your eyes, broaden your horizons, and make you realize things you never knew as you accompany Charlie on his intellectual journey, then I strongly recommend Keyes¿ novel.<BR/>READ MORE REVIEWS LIKE THIS AT www.notrequiredreading.com!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    IF you had the opportunity to change something that will change

    IF you had the opportunity to change something that will change your life not knowing whether the results would be successful or not, would you still take advantage of that opportunity? In “Flowers for Algernon” by Daniel Keyes the author introduces this science fiction book with a strong human story about science and relationships. The main character, Charlie is a 32- year old with an IQ of 68 who works at a bakery . The book is written as a series of journal entries in which Charlie writes them. Words are misspelled, ideas are vague, and relationships are simple. Charlie Gordon’s life is about to change. He was born with as unusually low IQ and  is going to take part of an experiment that will change his life.Charlie gets permission from his family in order for him to get the experimental operation. This operation becomes a research for a university in which Dr. Staggers takes in charge of. This operation initiates with a white mouse named Algernon. Charlie starts racing Algernon with a maze of his own. At the beginning of the book Algernon always beats Charlie in which makes Charlie think more about how he wants to be like everyone else and become smart. He brings his hopes up with this operation. When he finally gets the operation many things happen but Algernon gets the same type of operation first in order for doctors to see if the operation will be successful or not.Charlie has to write progress reports so the doctors can keep track of what is going on in his head. Finally little by little Charlie starts to become smarter and he reaches an IQ of 185 in matter of weeks. Now Charlie soars Algernon and wins all the time when him and Algernon race in the maze. When Charlie becomes more intelligent he realizes many things that hurt him emotionally. Like that fact that he realized that the people he called friends laughed at him because of his disability. During that period of time he also starts to realize and have flashbacks about his childhood. That makes him remember how his mother was ashamed of him and how he was treated by her. But now that he has had this operation he is able to look back at their situations and realize what was going on. The smarter he becomes the more he starts to realize things that affect him emotionally. Charlie learns what true love is when he starts to fall in love with his teacher Alice. He also learns what physical love is as he comes in contact with his artistic neighbor, Fay. Charlie also learns the pain relational love with friends and family when they back away from him.This book starts with a slow plot that becomes dull because it then becomes predictable with what the main character is going to say. This changes when the plot picks up after the operation happens and becomes more riveting. That is when most of the interesting parts of the book are and many things happen to Charlie. This book has a very unique because of the way this story is written that makes it effective. This book is written exactly as Charlie thinks and talks. At times this book is a bit slow, because his transformation takes time but overall it is a great story with a great purpose that the author brings up since it can be about to many things. Figurative language in this book is great to the point of imagining every detail. It becomes very clever. The characters are all interesting they mostly all play an interesting role in the book and they all have something to do with Charlie. Some more significant than others. Most of the characters are complex and credible specially the main character. That is because if his whole transformation. The purpose of this book is that science doesn't always solve everything because its not always going to be effective. It's also to value navy things in life. This book has many life lessons in which we can all learn from. It's a great book and a classic. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Flowers for Algernon will spur your emotions, this book is movin

    Flowers for Algernon will spur your emotions, this book is moving from beginning to end. A man fights to learn, despite his “special” condition, so that he may be accepted and loved by his “friends” and others. His tenacity to learn leads him to be part of a surgery not knowing the danger he would put himself though. He soon starts to develop not only the ability to remember, but starts to think of himself as an individual, like a child does. It’s beautiful to see this transformation in him. This book is a must read for anyone who feels discouraged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    this story was the best story that i've ever read before about t

    this story was the best story that i've ever read before about the two mouses and how the white mouse ended up dieing that my me cry and get pist me off.so what did you think about this story?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 565 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29