BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flowers in the Attic (Dollanganger Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 717 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(541)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I never thought that I would like this book. My Mom was actually the one that told me to read it and once I started readig I couldnt stop. The things that these kids go through are so unreal. Iam so gonna read the other books from this series. I just gotta know what hap...
I never thought that I would like this book. My Mom was actually the one that told me to read it and once I started readig I couldnt stop. The things that these kids go through are so unreal. Iam so gonna read the other books from this series. I just gotta know what happens to them. This is a must read!

posted by lydia1087 on July 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Uggh ick

This book started good,then it just got wierd. A whole book about siblings falling in love is not a good story.

posted by 2626014 on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I never thought that I would like this book. My Mom was actually the one that told me to read it and once I started readig I couldnt stop. The things that these kids go through are so unreal. Iam so gonna read the other books from this series. I just gotta know what happens to them. This is a must read!

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Hideous Edge of Your Seat Read!

    This books was eerily captivating. Once you start reading, you are constantly worrying about these characters. V.C. Andrews took a risk with this book because it talks about things most people avoid. She did an excellent job! Interesting read.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Uggh ick

    This book started good,then it just got wierd. A whole book about siblings falling in love is not a good story.

    19 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    i love this book it was different but distrubing on how the brother and sister were a little to "friendly" but everyone should try this book.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The story revolves around the Dollanganger family. One evening C

    The story revolves around the Dollanganger family. One evening Christopher Dollanganger dies in a car crash and his family, consisting of his wife and four children, must go back and live with their family in Foxworth Hall. Both Christopher and his wife, Corrine, grew up in this mansion. It is because of their incestuous marriage that they were both banished from their home and their family.
    Wanting to recapture her father's adoration and love, Corrine comes home and hides her children, so that she may inherit his vast fortune. She asks her mother to watch over the children, who are confined to the North wing of the house. They are not allowed to leave this area and can only go up into the attic. Soon their mother pretty much abandons them and leaves them to rot in the attic while she lives her life without them. Their evil grandmother does everything in her power to make them feel as bad, horrible, and dirty as possible, wanting to punish them for what their parents had done nearly 20 years prior. Soon the children discover that they are slowly being poisoned and why they are trying to be killed.
    This book is an excellent tale of deceit, love, hate, pain, and triumph.  The melodramatic prose might turn some people off, but Andrews has a real skill for creating mood and an engrossing read and that is as much of a legitimate talent as the high-brow literary giants I also love. I'm 29 but I'll never remember when I first picked up this book at 12 and couldn't stop reading and felt like someone connected with all my confusion. V.C. Andrews is like Judy Blume if she was crazy, perverted, and obsessed with sexual deviancy! God I miss that woman.  Some of the details are hard for an adult reader to accept as credible, but why do you think we loved this books as teenagers? Because many teenage girls-and I stress girls, because I most of what Andrews' covers doesn't apply to boys-go through all the things Cathy goes through-testing sexual attractiveness for the first time, looking at our changing bodies in the mirror, first period, challenging parental authority,the trauma of first sexual experiences, etc. All those changes are scary and weird. Of course the added elements are demented and perverse but that just adds to the fun. Every emotion I have ever felt was presented to me at the turn of each page. While reading and feeling so disgusted and angry with the grandmother, i was beyond ANGRY with the mother. She is one of the most selfish and self-centered characters EVER....a despicable human being. I hate her with a passion. Definitely going to be reading more from this author and series!     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    What is the book about? Their father has just been killed in a

    What is the book about?

    Their father has just been killed in a fatal car accident and their mother decides to move them back to their religious fanatic grandmother who has never approved of their lifestyle their mother, Corrine has lived. Cathy, Chris, Cory and Carrie are all locked in the attic at their grandparents but they aren't sure why. Read this book to find out how the 4 siblings cope with being imprisoned in an attic.

    What did I think of the book?

    I have read this book many many times and every time I find it a little bit more disturbing than the last time I read it. The pain. The agony. The confusion. These poor kids, their just flowers in the attic.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    ThriLLinG aNd SuspenseFul

    Oh my gosh! I loved this book so much! And I cried when there was beating by that evil grandmother! And I didnt want the mother to turn mean but she did anyways. Four beautiful innocent children were locked away in an upstairs room far away from society at their grandmother's house. Having to face many challenges such as their twins misunderstandment and their evil grandmother starvation and neglection from their mother. and the older children have no one to love but eachother! Please read this novel and all the others! :o)

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK :)

    this book has really good story line, and keeps you interested :)
    V.c. andrews is amazing (all of her original work, not that new person who does it lol). Would aslso recommend "Celeste" :)

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    LOVE IT

    I love this book. It sometimes kind of gross but realllllly good. I absolutely hate the mother. I cant believe she do something like she did. I highlt recommend to anyone.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Fvvhu

    Good movie not the book

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kinda creepy...

    Incest isn't really my thing, but these books were really popular anyway. I guess it's well written and they don't go into too much detail, but just the suggestion of it is enough to creep me out! I wouldn't recommend this for younger audiences, but then again, I was in my early teens when I first read it so... I don't know. Read at your own risk I guess.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THID ID THE FIRST BOOK I RVRR REAS AT 3 YRS OLD.

    I READ THIS BOOK AT 3, I READ THE NEWSPAPER AT THREE AND MY AUNTS BIOHLOGY BOOK, SO WHY NOT THIS. I READ ABOUY CATHY, CHRIS, CORY, AND CALLIE AND I WAS TRANSFORMED. THEY HAD TO GET OUT OF THAT ATTIC. I KNEW ALL ALONG THAT CORINNE THEIR MOYHER WAS POISINING THEM,AFTER ALL, WHO BROUGHT THEM TO THE HOUSE TO BE HIDDEN IN THE FIRST PLACE. IF I DIDN'T TELL YOU MY IQ AT 3 AND NOW IS 193.I WAS SAD WHEN CORY, NUT DIDNY CRY LIKE YOU WOULD EXPECT A 3 YR OLD TO, BECAUSE IN MY MIND IT WAS ONLY A STORY!!!!!

    4 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Start of an Enthralling Gothic Series

    Flowers in the Attic was the first adult fiction series book that I remember reading. It was on the bestseller shelf of every bookstore and most girls in my high school were reading it, so I decided to give it a try. I was hooked from the first page.


    Flowers is the story of Cathy, Chris, Cory and Carrie - - four children living the "perfect" life with their golden parents, until their father is killed in a car accident and, penniless, their mother is forced to return home to the parents that disowned her years ago for marrying the children's father. The twist? The parents, particularly the Grandmother, are bitter, zealously religious and glad that their daughter's husband is dead. While the Grandmother knows about the children, the grandfather apparently does not, and in order for their mother to inherit her family's estate (the monstruous Foxworth Hall) and riches, she must pretend that she is childless. Hence, the plan - - the children will stay in the attic of one wing of the massive Foxworth Hall, in hiding, waiting for the ill grandfather to die and leave their mother everything.

    As with most well-intentioned plans, everything goes awry. What was originally going to be just for a few days, a few weeks or a few months turns into three years. The mother changes before her children's eyes - - becoming materialistic, selfish and gradually distancing herself from them. The Grandmother despises them and employs harsh corporal punishment on them simply for existing, and reminds them daily that they were brought about by sin, according to the Bible, and are evil.

    Most importantly, Chris and Cathy are allowed to grow up together, with only each other, in a single room. Not surprisingly, they fall in love with each other.

    How long will they have to wait for the grandfather to die before they are freed? Will the Grandmother ever love them? Accept them? Why won't their mother just leave, with them? Do they have to inherit the money? What is going to happen to them, if Chris is in love with Cathy?

    Flowers is not a masterpiece of literature - - far from it - - nor is it a trashy dime-store novel. The story is engrossing, the main characters endearing. The pain and suffering of the children, particularly Chris and Cathy, and their longings jump off every page. The horror of what greed and materialism can do is shocking.

    Where Flowers is the weakest is in the writing. Its not completely shabby but don't open the first page expecting to find Dickens. What you will find is a compelling story, the late 70s/early 80s equivalent of Twilight.

    Flowers is a great beach or vacation read. Be warned - - once drawn in, you will be investing in the other books in the series (four not including Flowers).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    More drama than a spanish soap!

    This book has so much drama and is so good you'll be finished before it keeps you up at night. The second book to this series, Petals in the Wind, is my favorite book of all time and its so good you'll be obsessed with V.C. Andrews. Her books keep you crying, laughing, and wondering what-if....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    This is what started it all!!!!!

    I read this book when I was a sophmore in high school almost 20 years ago. It was recommended by my friend who said "you have to read this book". From what I remember it was about 4 children who are secretly locked away in an estate attic thanks to a selfish mother and twisted grandmother. After I read this book. I had to read the whole series afterwards. From what I remembered it was about this couple who had four kids (chris, cathy, carrie and last one I dont remember his name). Its the happy life until the father dies in a car accident, leaving the mother without any means of support. Turns out the mom came from a wealthy family(that the kids knew nothing about) and off to the estate to live happily.......so they think. No sooner did they get there, the kids are locked away in the attic where no one knows they exist. Days turns into months and then years. For Cathy, hatred turns into revenge. You have to read it to find out what happens. But I will tell you this much, their mother is a b@#ch and I am being "kind" because when she does to her own children is despicable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Top-notch storytelling

    This wasn't the first VCA book I ever read, but it is definitely one of the best. There are shocking twists in here, but the storytelling is compelling about four kids locked in an attic due to their mother's greed and grandfather's hate. The rest of the series explains more, but you just can't go wrong with this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible

    The entire book revolves around the morality and overly excessive abuse of not only children, but adults as well. The mother of the four children is whipped in order to be accepted back into her father's home, but in warned that children born from her marriage was unacceptable. The major dilemma is incest, and it is so captivating, you will be on the edge of your seat until the end because you keep wanting to know what will happen next. Definitely recommended.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Best book ive EVER read

    This book is the best one ive read. I didnt think id like it ,like the other person my mother told me to read it and i could not put it down ( until my battery died)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Avoid

    Golly gosh! This book is written at a 6th grade level with adult content. What others decribed as an incestuous relationship turned out to be a rape. The victem relents out of,ahem, love and blames herself for dressing seductively after repeatedly saying that the characters were comfortable being naked around each other. Women should be outraged. The book is full of characters that are flat and stereotypical. The kids are outrageously stupid. The mother is shallow and evil, the grandmother sadistic and angry. The story is long, boring and repetitive. Two words for the author: seek therapy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The movie took my breath away it was soo well put together hopefully the next two books in the series are as well!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36