Customer Reviews for

Flowers in the Attic (Dollanganger Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 720 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(544)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I never thought that I would like this book. My Mom was actually the one that told me to read it and once I started readig I couldnt stop. The things that these kids go through are so unreal. Iam so gonna read the other books from this series. I just gotta know what hap...
I never thought that I would like this book. My Mom was actually the one that told me to read it and once I started readig I couldnt stop. The things that these kids go through are so unreal. Iam so gonna read the other books from this series. I just gotta know what happens to them. This is a must read!

posted by lydia1087 on July 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Uggh ick

This book started good,then it just got wierd. A whole book about siblings falling in love is not a good story.

posted by 2626014 on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Uggh ick

    This book started good,then it just got wierd. A whole book about siblings falling in love is not a good story.

    19 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Avoid

    Golly gosh! This book is written at a 6th grade level with adult content. What others decribed as an incestuous relationship turned out to be a rape. The victem relents out of,ahem, love and blames herself for dressing seductively after repeatedly saying that the characters were comfortable being naked around each other. Women should be outraged. The book is full of characters that are flat and stereotypical. The kids are outrageously stupid. The mother is shallow and evil, the grandmother sadistic and angry. The story is long, boring and repetitive. Two words for the author: seek therapy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2001

    depressing

    This book was majorly depressing. At the beginning it wasn't that bad, but the thought of something like that happening to innocent children is terrible. The romance between Cathy and Chris was perverted. They're brother and sister for God's sake! I found the books disturbing. Don't waste your time. The only reason i kept reading the book was because i wanted to see how it ended.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Icefire please read!

    I am locked out of main camp!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Incest. That should be enough to turn you away. If you're into t

    Incest. That should be enough to turn you away. If you're into that sort of thing, dive on in. The writing is well done, if it wasn't I probably wouldn't have been so disgusted. However, this novel left me feeling sick to my stomach, and I don't often react that way to books, especially fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Great book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    This was many years back

    Apparently a new one out ghosted?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    lol

    gemma- low life 11yr old

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Pinepaw TO ALL PEASE DONT IGNORE

    Fawnpaw has been gone for a few days! I went looking for her but shw waasnt there. (And no im not going to tell you where she is just cause i rp her). I need to find her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Boring!!!!!

    Don't understand the great reviews... hated it, coudn't finished it, even after I started skipping pages...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    horrible on all levels.

    horrible on all levels.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Why do people like this book?

    I'm trying to figure out what is so great about this book. the narrator is pre teen, but the writing is like a 40 year old woman talking. and the Rape scene between the brother and the sister was not needed. there are non-fiction stories out there that are way better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2